We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and lovely facilities - central downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and lovely facilities - central downtown”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great hotel with superb location and some of the best restaurants and bars in Cairo. Rooms are fine but it's the Nile side restaurant, the Buddha Bar and the amazing cakes from the Nile side patisserie that you will remember.
It's on Zamalek island in the middle of the Nile and all rooms have fantastic views, handy for the sights and 5 mins to the amazing Cairo Opera (come in February or March and see AIDA amazing) the park there also has art galleries and workshops - fascinating place to be.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HAR225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your detailed feedback has been very influential in the urge to improve to receive such positive comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    349
    101
    36
    37
See reviews for
257
434
125
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a great experience at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah while I was getting married there last October 2013.
First the photo shooting all around the hotel garden straight on the Nile followed by the wedding it self at the terrace of Buddah bar outlet and that complementary champagne that was received in the middle if the party.
Spend 1 night in a suite direct nile view and beat food service ever.
Really amazing hotel and team.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoustaphaHafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and that you left us with good memories.

It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future, maybe on your wedding anniversary!

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

It is one of my favorite hotels in Cairo. it used to be Sheraton 7 or 8 years ago.
The Nile River view in this hotel is beautiful as the is located in an island in the river which is called in Arabic El Gezirah. As a result, the hotel is very safe as Eyget has political unstabilty.
Food is great and I do strongly recommend the Kababjy which is a local grill restaurant. The Staff are so friendly. I strongly recommend it.
Enjoy ....

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alhodaithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Yes! This is what I'm talking about. Perfect for work or fun. Sleek design, lots of light in the rooms, which are spacious. I like my hotels straightforward. No, I don't need a strobe light in the elevator or thumping house music in the lobby. Leave me alone and give me a good wifi connection.
This is a functional, well designed hotel. I loved the cafes on the Nile and how they are level with the water and not built up. Very calming. You can work anywhere in this hotel - the lobbies, the outside lounges. Very functional.
The restaurant selection is varied and the food good and clean (if you've been to Cairo, you know clean + tasty are rare).
It may not be in the heart of Zamalek, but it's a $2 cab ride and five minutes away. So why not?
Gym was great. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abihabibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We reserved through an agency and asked for a two connected rooms as we were a group of four, when we reached the hotel they said no connected rooms available and gave us two separated rooms in the same floor but far from each other, we have tried with them to give us our request but they insisted they are fully booked and no connected rooms available.
After two hours we had no chance but to promise one in the reception that we will pay him if he could get us a connected rooms and in another two hours time he did!!!!! money and BRIBE works very well.

When we changed the rooms i forgot my charger in the previous room and called them within short time , they said it is not there ( someone stole it), after several complains the hotel offered me a new charger which i refused and at the check out time they insisted to give one different than mine and i took it only to let things go at that time.

A wine opener is a new story, each time you want to open a can or a bottle of wine you have to call the room service to send someone to open it for you ( may be to take tips), they refused to keep an opener in the room and we had to pay to one of servant 20$ to leave his opener with us (it got broken immediate hhhh) and we were back to room service.

At the check out one of the group forget his wallet in the room, we called from outside and they confirmed its with them and we found it as is with all money and cards inside.

This all about the hotel the good and bad but honestly the way things operated has nothing to do with the international name Sofitel where most of staff tips oriented, and your room door knocked 4 to 5 times by staff giving you flowers , napkins , fruit ....only to get tips, also a hotel driver shouted and drove in a bad way when we rejected to go with him.

Room Tip: For a better view of the Nile river always choose the left wing when you are out of the lefts, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmideg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor, your feedback will be influential in improving guests’ experience.

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for this stay, please accept my sincerest apologist.

After reading your review, we have conducted a thorough investigation of your reportings, which proved that these incidents was a result of a misunderstanding due to cultural differences.

It goes without saying that being in the hospitality industry, we expect and demand that our Ambassadors are at all times courteous and at no point can we condone such attitude.

Please rest assured that I will personally take care of this issue and use it as an example during counseling and training sessions.

Once again my most sincere apologies.

Sincerely Yours,


Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved the Sofitel for its service and its food. The hotel is in a great location - on an island with some great walks and restaurants, and the area around the embassies has lots of great shops and no touts! The view from every room is great as the hotel is circular and so whatever side you're on you look across the Nile. It was also a plus being just across the bridge from the Egyptian Museum - we went twice as it's a fabulous place and there's just so much to absorb. The Tutankhamen treasure definitely deserves two visits! The hotel has a grand foyer and some great restaurants, the pool is lovely and we enjoyed the enormous spa, but it's the staff in the restaurants who really lift the Sofitel El Gezirah above the usual 4-5 star hotel. Mossad and Mohammed at breakfast make you feel really special and the food - both quality and array - is excellent. The seafood buffet on Wednesday nights is the best I've ever had and that's saying something! Reasonably priced, too. The rooms are the usual pleasant, comfortable but uninspiring hotel rooms and we had nothing to complain of there. As tourists in Egypt (and now is the time to go - it's so quiet) spending our days out sightseeing, we found the Sofitel the perfect place to come back to after a day at the pyramids or the museum etc.: comfy bed, lovely pool, first-rate service and excellent food.

Room Tip: Higher up is better because of the noise of the party boats on the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights in April and overall it was a good experience. The location, views, and breakfast were awesome. Though, the staff was a little inconsistent with being helpful with the stay and planning out sight-seeing (a little persistence, patience, and small learning-curve with the culture and finding the right people was needed) and the room could have been a little more clean (carpet stains, food traces leftover from prior guest that should have been vacuumed, and some surfaces not wiped clean). Lunch and dinners were of mixed quality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank xxx896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for this stay, please accept my sincerest apologist.

It is indeed a concern that you feel the services offered was not up to the expected fine standards; we will of course take this very seriously and rectify any unusual shortfalls that may have occurred during your stay.

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, as honest opinion and constructive criticism is the only way that would enable us to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Sincerely Yours,


Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.7 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing