We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's comfortable to live there !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Sofitel is an amazing hotel !
Special thanks for :
Jehan - reception
Ali and Samah - housekeeping
Sherief - the manager of the rooms
Jeraldin - sport center





Sport center is the most important place in any hotel, and I think on sofitel this place is very important because there are many people come especially to enjoy being in such a place.
Also, the swimming pool, I always spend most of the time of my day there. It is amazing, an the service there is beyond the word amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esmael1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
911Iman, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel and it’s Ambassadors. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location is great and the Nile view is stunning. I stayed coupld of nights at floor 18 and I got a room with club access it was a good choise. I went to Alexandria and stayed again for another night but I chose a normal room I was lucky to get upgdraded to a suite at level 25 which was awesome!

Be careful from taxi scammers. Cairo white taxis should all have meters but the ones available near the hotel don’t use them and charges more than triple the normal price.
Walk to the main road and get a taxi from the street heading to the Opera house to get a fair rate.

Kababji restaurant at the hotel is a must try.

Room Tip: I recommend staying at high levels to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
911Iman, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment. The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team, as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My job in the leisure industry takes me many places and makes me stay in luxury hotels worldwide.

I truly cannot remember being touched by the warmth & the friendliness of the staff in a hotel like this hotel. Especially the Maestro of the executive Lounge Mr Mohamad Abdel El Moneam for his outstanding skills & professionalism. As well as Gamal at the Moroccan restaurant for his kind hospitality.

I look forward to returning to this rather ‘’home’’ than a hotel by end of this year and where you can stay for days without even leaving the hotel & meeting who became our friends rather than staff.

The only change I hope to see by then is an update to the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxDaoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
911Iman, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I'm not staying in the hotel, but attended a dinner at its Egyptian restaurant, Kebabgy for the second time, this time is a set menu for Ramadan, it is quite awful, there is dead bugs floating on the orange juice and on the plates as well, the main course is the barbecue with all sorts of meat, it is good, and that's all, all side dishes are plain pre-made and some wrapped in plastics, others are in open air, the dessert is a horrendously assortment of four nameless duds. and they also charge a lot for open a bottle of wine which we bring, I feel extorted under the name of religion, not worth the money at all, especially not in Ramadan season, the only merit is the nice location it hogs, I will seriously defer my third time and dissuade my friends here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lasttimeisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for this visit, please accept my sincerest apologist.

After reading your review, we have conducted a thorough investigation of your reporting unfortunately Ramadan Iftars should be a preset menu due to the number of guests’ that dine all together at the same time, but this does not mean that the quality of food differs from the normal days as the Hotel’s Kebabgy renowned Restaurant has its own food preparation standards, this incident was a result of a misunderstanding due to cultural differences.

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, as honest opinion and constructive criticism is the only way that would enable us to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Once again my most sincere apologies.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for more than 7 days..The location of this hotel is too good. It's next to Nile river with an outstanding view.
The hotel scores more than 100 percent on
- quality of rooms and interiors
- quality of sleep
- break fast has good spread..
Naseer(person in charge ) really takes
care. of you
- helpful staff . Even management trainee staff are so well behaved.
- quality & quantity of food,
- hotel entrance lobby is grand
- lovely riverside seating arrangement.

I only had bad experience with SUD restaurant in which one person by name ( not sure Arafa Abdullah) but when I reported this to Duty manager mossod and to Mr Saad, it was taken care.

I would to make special mention of Mr Saad who ensured that my stay in hotel is very comfortable. He personally took interest to iron out minor issues and made the stay very very pleasant.

This hotel is dream... I will stay here next time

Overall experience is outstanding it.
-

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank panditrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I Enjoyed my stay in Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah for the last three months,

Spent a lovely time from the best view in Cairo city specially from 23rd floor
Also never forget the Kebabgy restaurant with the best oriental food

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mada911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment. The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team, as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

When I booked my room, I purchased an upgrade of a "full Nile view". However, when I arrived in my room, this was not the case and I had to ask to be moved. If this is an upgrade advertised and purchased, then it should be respected. The room was nice and clean and the new view was as expected.

Later that evening, my friend and I spoke to the concierge about booking a tour of the pyramids. Our biggest concern was that we understood up front what was and was NOT included in the tour we booked. Our experiences earlier that day in other places in Cairo helped us understand that it was important to know since an admission ticket doesn't necessarily cover everything. We were told the price we were paying included EVERYTHING except for lunch. We asked if that included going inside pyramids and were told yes. Based on that information, we pulled out enough money from the ATM accordingly.

The tour was lovely until we got to the large pyramids in Giza only to find out that going inside the pyramids was NOT included in our tour. We only had enough Egyptian pounds for 1 ticket, not 2. Imagine going all the way to Egypt to see the pyramids and then having a huge part of your trip ruined because of misinformation by a concierge. We were lucky that the ticket officer was willing to take US Dollars which we had with us (thank goodness), but I was furious that we asked the concierge that specific question and were given the wrong information. When we spoke to the same concierge later, he denied what he'd said the day before. There was no apology, no admittance to what had happened, nor any acknowledgement that there was a mistake and that steps would be taken so that the same thing didn't happen to others.

When you pay a high price for a luxury hotel, you want a luxury experience. The Sofitel in Cairo was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for this stay, please accept my sincerest apologist.

Referring to the Pyramids tour fees, please be informed that your goodselves were offered the half day tour that includes (Transportation, Tickets, and Guide fees), this includes only the Pyramids area entrance fees and not inside the Pyramids themselves, I am sorry that this was not made clear to your goodselves by our Concierge team member.

Nevertheless, as your comments are very valued to us, the hotel’s Director of Rooms Division is presently reassessing all training needs for his team for all what concerns your comments to enhance our guests’ experiences.

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, as honest opinion and constructive criticism is the only way that would enable us to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Sincerely Yours,


Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 138 in Cairo
2,554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#8 of 138 in Cairo
1,767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £109 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing