We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Restaurants let the place down though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Restaurants let the place down though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

The Sofitel El Gezirah is no doubt a great hotel. Brilliant view from the pool and the rooms. It is in a great location and has great ambience and atmosphere.

But I couldn't help but think the restaurants let the place down. The breakfast was alright, but we thought it was on the expensive side and didn't offer enough variety compared to other hotels in Egypt we stayed in.

We ate at the Kebabgy one night and were highly disappointed with the service and the food. The service was terrible for a 5 star restaurant. The waiters appeared to operate like headless chickens, and the lady who was in charge ignored us and other tables on numerous occasions. The beef shish kebab tasted terrible (the meat tasted slightly off) and we didnt eat it all. My wife felt quite sick afterwards.

BUT, I am only offering that information for the benefit of the hotel. Do not let that put you off staying at this very polished hotel. You will not go wrong booking here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Allow me to seize the opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Your comments are valuable for us; it will allow us to enhance our service quality. Please accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience, we promise we will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We would like to welcome you again to our hotel to witness the increase of service quality.

Should you have any questions or concerns; please do not hesitate to contact us.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    323
    92
    32
    35
See reviews for
224
392
116
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

If you have a look of a panoramic view of Cairo’s Nile area,
It is not difficult to understand that the Sofitel El Gezirah is situated
at the most beautiful quarter of the city. At the edge of a small island into the Nile,
every walk to the hotel’s outside area & every look around was a romantic script.
Entering to the Hotel’s lobby there is a Sensitive atmosphere
where an impressive chandelier, a classical piano and a wide view to the Nile
are lovely complicated.
The room we stayed at the 18th floor (Deluxe Club Sofitel) was Cosy, comfortable & clean & had a perfect view! The nice bathroom provided “HERMES” shampoo & etc. That’s cool!
It also was a plus that they offered us cool juice at the reception desk for the check in,
& there was complimentary mineral water at the room. Staff was polite & everything was kindly serviced! We also liked the Breakfast & every meal we had to the “Le Deck”, “Buddha Bar”, “Vendome” & “Sud restaurant” was delicious!
It maybe costs double to have dinner in the hotel however it is safer than a dinner
to a Cairo’s restaurant that you have not recommended.
Hotel, also organizes excursions to the sights of Cairo. We booked one to the Pyramides,Sahara & Egyptian Museum, at the price of 110$ / person, Included a private driver & your own guide! It is the safest way to get around the Cairo as there are annoying people.(I mean local men that close tourists asking for money).
Finally for those they like “Lucky Plays” there is a French small casino (free entrance &
drinks) where we spent free time playing Roulette (bet from 1$ !).
We loved this truly 5star Hotel & we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit, our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frydlant nad Ostravici, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Nice view and perfect staff. Hotel is placed in island of the Nil and from 26. floor you can see huge part of city (if it is not poluted air...).

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tompec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit, our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

I had a hard time believing the photos one traveler posted of the moldy shower. It didn't even look like the showers at the Sofitel, since they were integrated into the bathtub. The hotel has just been completely renovated, as I understand it. Perhaps the other traveler got an unrenovated room? Still... I thought this hotel was finer than any other I've stayed at in Cairo, including the Semiramis, Marriott, and Hilton (now closed). The service was great -- our floor captain kept good watch on everything, and was quick to resolve the smallest problem. Every day he brought a couple of bottles of complimentary mineral water to the room, and provided fresh fruit if you requested it. Although many hotels advertise free internet service, this one actually provided it in the room if you had your own laptop. The Marriott's "free internet" only means that if you pay the large daily sum to have it, you can also connect "free" while in the lobby area. They were also one of the few hotels I know of to have working carafes to boil water in the room so you can make morning coffee or tea (look in the minibar area for this.) (The pot in my room at the Marriott did not work!) The swimming pool was an "infinity pool", and lovely. Public spaces were nice. Location on Zamalek very nice. The food was good in the buffet restaurant, but it is true that it can be difficult to get a small meal at odd times. One of the only possibilities is pizza, which turned out to be thin crust and very good. The breakfast buffet was great, and they make a lovely omelet on request. All in all, the best experience I've had in this city.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff.
Your complimenting phrases are beyond expressions, we hope that our service gave you pleasure as your words did to us. We are looking forward to your next visit, and our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have and inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact me. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We booked this hotel with Ahmed Mostafa,marketing manager of Sofitel. From the very beginning his replies to my emails were very prompt.Although we arrived very late at night on Jan. 10,2010,we checked in fast & the room was very modern,clean & had perfect view of the Nile & the city .Bathroom was very clean .I'd say this hotel has the best buffet breakfast from all the hotels we stayed in Egypt.The variety of fruits,cereals ,Egyptian foods,
Omlette station etc . etc. was amazing.Staff was very courteous,welcomed us with open arms.Being our first visit to Egypt & our very first stay, our first impression of Egypt was truly enhanced by the staff of this truly 5 star hotel.Thank You all at Sofitel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salimhirji77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

It was my pleasure to recieve your booking request and we were delighted more to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. On your next visit try our Friday Brunch, it is full of finger licking varieties. We are looking forward to your next visit, and our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have and inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact me. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

This is a very nice facility, but it has some serious housekeeping issues. We complained to our tour director about the mold and soap scum in the marble-tiled shower after checking in, and he said it would be taken care of. It was not.

The next day we complained to the front desk directly about the problem and they said it would be resolved. It was not.

On the third day we complained again to our tour director about the shower, but on our return from a day in Alexandria we saw nothing had been done about it. We complained again to the front desk and they sent someone up right away. The man who looked at it said "it's a housekeeping problem" and he would report it.

I see now we should have demanded a different room, but we'll be leaving tomorrow anyway. The irony is that this is a Swiss hotel chain, and the Swiss are known for their cleanliness!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danville_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing and E-Commerce Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
Dear Sir,

Allow me to seize the opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Your comments are valuable for us; it will allow us to enhance our service quality. Please accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience, this room was immediatly put out of service and proper actions was taken to prevent such incident, we promise we will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We would like to welcome you again to our hotel to witness the increase of service quality.

Should you have any questions or concerns; please do not hesitate to contact me.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

It is located on the bank of river Nile in Cairo, Egypt. The distance from the airport is bit annoying but the hotel is worth the hectic drive. Rooms with nile view is big plus in this hotel.

  • Liked — View of the Nile river
  • Disliked — Distance from the airport
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajKNeeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. I read in your review a nice comment about the view from the room, it is my pleasure to assure you that all our rooms are sharing the same impeccable views of the Nile. We are looking forward to your next visit, and our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have and inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact me. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
1.9 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing