We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Nearby Hotels
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Osiris Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$15
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Royal(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$30
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,855)
Filter reviews
1,855 results
Traveller rating
1,227
415
120
40
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,227
415
120
40
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan restaurantle deckinfinity poolsouthern tipnile riverluxury roomthe club loungeamazing locationhigh floorbreakfast buffetspecial thanksegyptian museuman oasisnile view roomtahrir squarekebabgyspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,266 - 1,271 of 1,855 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2010

This was the nicest place we stayed in during our 12 days in the Middle East. As others have said, you feel like you're on a quiet island amid the craziness of Cairo. Nice breezes in the morning during breakfast. The buffet breakfast has many options. The pain au chocolat is delicious!
We were lucky to be upgraded to a Royal Suite on the 23rd floor. Honestly the place was bigger than most people's apartments! Too bad we didn't spend much time in the hotel.
The desk staff and Bell Captain were very nice. We went to Luxor for 1 overnight and they had no problem holding our suitcases until we returned.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit; our team is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The Sofitel El Gezirah is no doubt a great hotel. Brilliant view from the pool and the rooms. It is in a great location and has great ambience and atmosphere.

But I couldn't help but think the restaurants let the place down. The breakfast was alright, but we thought it was on the expensive side and didn't offer enough variety compared to other hotels in Egypt we stayed in.

We ate at the Kebabgy one night and were highly disappointed with the service and the food. The service was terrible for a 5 star restaurant. The waiters appeared to operate like headless chickens, and the lady who was in charge ignored us and other tables on numerous occasions. The beef shish kebab tasted terrible (the meat tasted slightly off) and we didnt eat it all. My wife felt quite sick afterwards.

BUT, I am only offering that information for the benefit of the hotel. Do not let that put you off staying at this very polished hotel. You will not go wrong booking here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Sir / Madam

Allow me to seize the opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Your comments are valuable for us; it will allow us to enhance our service quality. Please accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience, we promise we will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We would like to welcome you again to our hotel to witness the increase of service quality.

Should you have any questions or concerns; please do not hesitate to contact us.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

If you have a look of a panoramic view of Cairo’s Nile area,
It is not difficult to understand that the Sofitel El Gezirah is situated
at the most beautiful quarter of the city. At the edge of a small island into the Nile,
every walk to the hotel’s outside area & every look around was a romantic script.
Entering to the Hotel’s lobby there is a Sensitive atmosphere
where an impressive chandelier, a classical piano and a wide view to the Nile
are lovely complicated.
The room we stayed at the 18th floor (Deluxe Club Sofitel) was Cosy, comfortable & clean & had a perfect view! The nice bathroom provided “HERMES” shampoo & etc. That’s cool!
It also was a plus that they offered us cool juice at the reception desk for the check in,
& there was complimentary mineral water at the room. Staff was polite & everything was kindly serviced! We also liked the Breakfast & every meal we had to the “Le Deck”, “Buddha Bar”, “Vendome” & “Sud restaurant” was delicious!
It maybe costs double to have dinner in the hotel however it is safer than a dinner
to a Cairo’s restaurant that you have not recommended.
Hotel, also organizes excursions to the sights of Cairo. We booked one to the Pyramides,Sahara & Egyptian Museum, at the price of 110$ / person, Included a private driver & your own guide! It is the safest way to get around the Cairo as there are annoying people.(I mean local men that close tourists asking for money).
Finally for those they like “Lucky Plays” there is a French small casino (free entrance &
drinks) where we spent free time playing Roulette (bet from 1$ !).
We loved this truly 5star Hotel & we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit, our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Nice view and perfect staff. Hotel is placed in island of the Nil and from 26. floor you can see huge part of city (if it is not poluted air...).

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank tompec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit, our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I had a hard time believing the photos one traveler posted of the moldy shower. It didn't even look like the showers at the Sofitel, since they were integrated into the bathtub. The hotel has just been completely renovated, as I understand it. Perhaps the other traveler got an unrenovated room? Still... I thought this hotel was finer than any other I've stayed at in Cairo, including the Semiramis, Marriott, and Hilton (now closed). The service was great -- our floor captain kept good watch on everything, and was quick to resolve the smallest problem. Every day he brought a couple of bottles of complimentary mineral water to the room, and provided fresh fruit if you requested it. Although many hotels advertise free internet service, this one actually provided it in the room if you had your own laptop. The Marriott's "free internet" only means that if you pay the large daily sum to have it, you can also connect "free" while in the lobby area. They were also one of the few hotels I know of to have working carafes to boil water in the room so you can make morning coffee or tea (look in the minibar area for this.) (The pot in my room at the Marriott did not work!) The swimming pool was an "infinity pool", and lovely. Public spaces were nice. Location on Zamalek very nice. The food was good in the buffet restaurant, but it is true that it can be difficult to get a small meal at odd times. One of the only possibilities is pizza, which turned out to be thin crust and very good. The breakfast buffet was great, and they make a lovely omelet on request. All in all, the best experience I've had in this city.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff.
Your complimenting phrases are beyond expressions, we hope that our service gave you pleasure as your words did to us. We are looking forward to your next visit, and our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have and inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact me. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews