We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Excellent service, beautiful guest rooms and common areas, great pool, food was excellent. Exactly what you'd expect from a Four Seasons. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srosenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    150
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
177
240
78
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Excellent business hotel in Cairo and ok for leisure. Perfect service, however the rooms needs to taken care of and upgraded to a more modern touch. Upgraded to mini suite upon arrival which was very nice with excellent views of tne Nile. Good food, however extremely expnsive wines and liquor. Cairo is Cairo. Extremely busy, a bit dirty and a "been there, done that" experience overall. It really doesn´t matter that much, but being charged for using the internet when you pay more than USD 500 pr night is not what I would have expected. Small thing, but disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PederOsloNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This is without doubt a fantastic hotel. …everything including the rooms, food, service and facilities is first class.
We stayed here for two nights during a whistle-stop tour of Egypt and couldn’t have been more pleased. Admittedly, we paid extra for a Nile view room but I’m sure that all of the rooms are equally well appointed. Unusually for us, we ate in the hotel, and although it’s not cheap, the quality of the food and service was way beyond our expectations.
Our room had a bedroom, sitting area, two TV’s, sofa, desk and chairs, really big bath / shower room and loads of cupboard space. A view over the Nile topped it off nicely.
Although we had a fantastic stay and did the usual tourist sightseeing (highly recommend the pyramids, obviously), we found Cairo a little daunting. This is the only place in the world that we’ve been to that we didn’t feel comfortable walking out and doing our own thing – not that it feels unsafe, it’s just so vague. Maps are wrong or non-existent, there doesn’t appear to be a city centre, and everything is just so congested, hot and frantic that we ended up hiring a guide and a car (very cheap – probably the best way to get around). We were told that Cairo has 27 million people (excluding the unregistered): I can’t verify this but it’s an enormously populated city crammed into a reasonably small space.
One thing that got me about Egypt in general is that unless there’s money involved, nobody wants to know. This is probably a bit contentious but from what I could see of all the historical sites in Cairo and Luxor, they’re only maintained because they generate cash. Everyone holds out their hands for tips – even in places where a service charge is included. People demand money for using the toilet (just don’t pay unless it’s an official pay on entry facility), and they’re mostly just scammers watching for tourists….just say no. I was even asked for money by one of the tourist police at the pyramids for taking a picture – so just imagine how much help they’d be if you found yourself at odds with a trader! Noting is priced and having to negotiate every single thing gets a bit tiring as you know you’ve probably been done over….
Don’t let it put you off though – it’s a great place to visit, just be aware that you will get hassled and be prepared to ignore it. Funny thing is, if they didn't hassle people so much they'd probably sell more but I guess they don't understand other Country's culture too well. The other thing is the so called “Egyptian time”….complete rubbish. It’s not a quaint cultural thing at all, it’s just bad service. This hotel can deliver good service, so I don’t see why other places can’t as well. Do what you’d do anywhere else and walk – the service soon gets better.
As others have said, alcohol in the hotel is expensive, but it is everywhere. I don’t think the ratio between the hotel and the shops is that far away from that in the UK, but wine seems to be a novelty here. It's worth noting that none of the staff in the hotel asked for tips, or even hung around expectantly. In my book, these are the people that you DO tip!
We’d definitely go back to this hotel again if we were in Egypt.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

I went there four time so far and every time i fel in love with it again and again
I always chose the nile view room and once they up greaded me to the priemer nile room
the nile view room is large beautiful room .The priemer a bit bigger but without terass
I spend a great time once in junemonce in Desember ,and twice in march and all was great.
I lke the feeling weaking up in the morning having cofee in the loby listening to shahenda the Egyptan girl playing her lovely musice in the piano.
I really love it and can`t wait to go the fifth time.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmnaKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

The reviews are right. The Four Seasons Nile Plaza is a superb property in an otherwise frenetic city. Rooms are excellent and impeccably serviced. We had a spacious Premier Nile room with a view over the river. The staff throughout this place are absolutely superb, from the poolside waiters to the bar staff and front desk personnel. Concierges could be little better, but that's only a small point. Both of the restaurants we tried (Steaks & Bella) were of the highest quality. But one tip. If you fancy an evening dinner cruise on the Nile, as we did, be very careful. Our trip resulted in a severe bout of food poisoning for both my wife and I.....an unpleasant gift to return home from Egypt with. Get out and explore, the people are great, but stay in the Four Seasons to eat and drink!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

I staid there for 2 nights end of April and enjoyed it even more than the first time. Therefore this is going to be a short review. Of course, great food, very nice spacious rooms and good location, but the greatest asset is the staff which actually would deserve 6 stars. I wen the first night to the lobby bar and the waiter recognized me again after 4 months and remembered my last order.

GREAT !

PS: But they should not charge for the WLAN......

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

What is there to say about The Four Seasons chain of hotels that has not already been said?

This is one of the great hotels and in my opinion the best in Cairo by some way.

To find fault would be churlish because everything, during my 2 day stay, was perfect and couldn't have been better, except for them losing, for a while, my laundry ! It turned up in the end though.

Staff service is not high on the list of priorities in Egyptian Hotels but this hotel is the exception - serice is up to Far Eastern standards (the best standards in the world).

Its expensive, yes, but this sort of quality doesn't come cheap - what I don't know is why every hotel chain doesn't take a look at Four Seasons to find out how hotels should be run.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.1 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
6.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Address: 1089 Corniche El Nil | Maglis El Shaab, Garden City, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#1 Family Hotel in Cairo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#3 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and ambiance, situated near the Nile; set among the Belle Epoque and Art Deco facades of Garden City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Cairo At Nile Plaza
Four Seasons Cairo
Cairo Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing