We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather spend more money and stay across the street.”
Review of Grand Nile Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Nile Tower
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The Grand Hyatt Cairo is the perfect example of an old hotel that probably used to be very nice and chique, but is past its prime. Nothing bad can be said of its location and views. This is evident by the fact that it is a very popular location for weddings & banquets. I’ve never been to an Egyptian wedding before, but during my short stay there I saw at least five. I’m all for festiveness, but the drums are really loud. The rooms are a bit dated and the overall cleanliness of the floors and bathrooms leaves much to be desired. Don't waste time visiting the mall next door because there is nothing there. The management for the most part was not very helpful or friendly. Next time I think I'd rather pay the extra money to stay across the street at the Four Seasons.

Dr. Endos Dos:

1. Visit the spa daily. The gym & spa areas are surprisingly very nice and open from 5am to midnight so make sure to make good use of those facilities. Nothing is better after a long day of sightseeing than relaxing in a jacuzzi followed by some steam & dry sauna action.

2. Dine at the restaurants downstairs. If your stay includes dinner at the buffet see if you can get credit to eat at the restaurants on the first floor. The views are nicer from the terrace, the food is better, and depending what you order the meal may be completely covered by the credit.

3. Do not pay extra for the executive floors.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smooth_Obturator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and then went down to Hyatt Sharm so readers can see reviews of both properties if they wish.

This five star hotel has outstanding veiws of the Nile River, lovely amenities including an outdoor pool and is very well located. The front desk staff, concierge and hotel staff are welcoming, generous with information and helpful when selecting restaurants. Mineral water is replenished daily in your room and the breakfast selection was above average even for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast room overlooks the Nile which is spectacular. The lobby is top class and the hotel is attached to small shopping arcade which is useful.

Small issues that need resolving: (i) rooms are a bit tired and we would have expected much nicer accommodations for the price and ranking of the hotel. Beds were only average and bathroom/showers were old. (ii) we are a family of five and the wait staff looked incredulously at me when I asked for a table for five. When I suggested that they seat us at two tables, one for two and another for three, it was like a lightbulb went off and we were happily seated, albeit separately. My eldest child remarked that the hotel seemed to cater more efficiently to business guests; this is not a criticism but an observation for folks travelling with families.

Overall a good experience and to add a bit of comic relief, getting in to this hotel is likely equivalent to getting access to the Royal Mint or Fort Knox; security is...pretty tight...with a bunch of burly security guys ensuring that guests are well protected. Good to have and certainly not a joke, but when you go through the three gates the metal detector and the wall of security guards pacing around the entrance, you have to smile just a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

i have been in the hotel from 5-7 dec.09 room 1936 for medical conference ,,,,,was attracted to the beautiful location ,but choocked from the low quality services and unwelcoming staff ,,,rare to c smil in their face either overwork or unsatisfied ,,,,,,food in the restorant are good but not attractive +bad staff
health club was good but need more sevices and smilly staff

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank afouly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Grand Hyatt is certainly a very imposing hotel, occupying a prestigious piece of the island on which it stands. We stayed in nearby Four Seasons but liked to come to the roof-top bar for the views.

Indeed that bar is the most amazing feature of the hotel; one can see Pyramids of Giza from there, as my attached picture shows, and pictures posted by other travelers as well. I also enjoyed the relative privacy and tranquility of the garden surrounding the hotel - something that its more luxurious neighbor Four Season doesn't have.

The hotel lobby and restaurants impress with Las Vegas style grandeur; but the service is a notch below than at Four Season - the waiters are simply not as attentive and friendly, and alcohol drinks can be had ONLY at the roof-top bar, but not at the ground floor.

Also, seeing pictures of the room here, I can certainly conclude that in Four Seasons rooms are more luxuriously appointed, bigger and posh; bathrooms are especially amazing at Four Seasons, where every room has a separate shower and a tub is a jacuzzi.

However, the views from Grand Hyatt roof-top bar are absolutely incomparable, unforgettable and therefore a visit there is a must. Its garden is also marvelous; one can relax amidst green and contemplate Nile in some quietude.

Memorable...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The hotel is large and you get a good impression straight from entering the lobby. Staff is friendly and caring, always asking you if you're happy with their service. The room was nice, though I could see it had its age, especially in the bathroom, though overall I had nothing that would make me feel bad.

The food was amazingly delicious!

Be sure to eat in the revolving restaurant on the top floor. Moves about 1cm per second, so by the time you're done with your food you should see Cairo from all sides. During the day I even saw the Giza pyramids from the restaurant, but I guess you must be lucky not to catch a smog fog.

The only negative thing I have to point out, is the charged high speed internet. Back few years ago, even my dial-up was faster. I simply can't believe the internet was so slow, certainly don't purchase it!

Overall, this is a Grand hotel, just as the name suggests.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobulko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

My husband and I had an enjoyable stay @ the Grand Hyatt. We had wanted to stay @ the Four Seasons across the street and didn't get a booking there. It was a blessing in disguise. We found the lobby of that hotel a bit stuffy and formal for our adventurous holiday in Egypt. The Grand Hyatt is very big but the service was still very individualized. The included breakfast was delicious and the variety of local and continental options was astounding. A great place to take kids or to go with a group of friends...or just with a spouse. The hotel restaurant Nubian Restaurant has fantastic food.

Stayed: April 2009
Thank flymarcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

The Hyatt Cairo is a luxury oasis in a very dirty city. From our balcony overlooking the Nile, it was almost easy to forget the piles of trash dumped daily in the river's tributaries. The hotel provides large, spotlessly clean and well appointed rooms, an amazing buffet breakfast and a gorgous lobby/bar area featuring a pianist at a lucite baby grand piano playing each evening. We were on an overnight tour from a cruise ship, so I do not know what the rates might have been, but I can tell you it would have been worth any expense to get away from the mean streets of Cairo and relax in the Hyatt's total luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandma069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.1 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 138 in Cairo
2,555 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#8 of 138 in Cairo
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Nile Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nile Tower

Address: Corniche El Nile | Garden City, Roda Island, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £86 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Nile Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 715
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Nile Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Nile Tower Hotel Cairo
Cairo Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Cairo
Grand Hyatt Cairo
Cairo Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing