We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much pressure”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Khan Al-Khalili

Khan Al-Khalili
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
Private Walking Tour to Khan el-Khalili and Madrassa of Sultan Hassan
Ranked #19 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Islamic Cairo, this busy and colorful open-air bazaar is filled with unique and exotic items from spices and perfumes to jewelry and souvenirs.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
169 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Too much pressure”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Be sure that you are mentally and physically strong when you decide to go to the Khan Al Khalil. Otherwise don’t. Because the salesmen put enormous pressure on you. Therefore you have to be strong to cope with this pressure. In fact if you ask me, I would suggest buying your souvenirs at the hotel or the airport. Those two places are the only places that you can be sure of the price and the quality. Yet, if you want to buy from market places, you have to accept the fact that you will be cheated anyway no matter you do. It does not matter how conscious of the situation you are. They are always better than you. Always. They are very poor people and they need your money desperately to survive. Imagine their motivation! You have to be Egyptian from birth to be able to beat them. Otherwise you have no chance. Never trust the middle men between you and the salesmen. They do this for commission and the things you buy cost you double. You dont have this at the hotels and the airport. So enjoy the atmosphere at the markets but dont buy anything. On the other hand you will easily be caught by them even if you look at the products through the edge of your eyes. Despite everything, if you decide to buy from the market, dont use your credit card. It is not safe. They accept any kind of money but it is better to have Egyptian money with you. In that crowd and under that pressure, it is extremely difficult to calculate and exchange the money. You will definitely make a mistake. Anyway it is still fun to have such an experience. I accepted to be cheated and went there. Do I go there again? No. But I am not sorry for going there and being cheated. It was just an experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    687
    298
    76
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pick Some Bargains, Meet Some Perverts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Market is in the classic historic part of Cairo. Whilst it has nothing on the great markets of Aleppo and Damascus, there is some great stuff on sale, including Atlas Cotton Sheets who sell the real thing.
Some real filthy pigs work at this market. When we left one leather bag shop without buying something, the owner said to my wife,
"You don't want to buy something... how about something special to eat?"
Whilst gesturing not-so-subtly to meat and two veg! My temper went off (for about the 380th time that day) and the situation very quickly turned nasty.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisPartlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enter from the 'other' side of the fortress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

At one end of the market area, it is the same as any cheap and nasty 'flea market' you would find in a lot of cities - cheap and gaudy tourist-type made in China goods.
However, if you enter from the other side, there are fantastic winding streets, cobblestone roads, shops and places where real artisans make all sorts of goods - a truly fascinating experience.

Helpful?
Thank GaryandMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very fun place to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I was very skeptical about heading to the market in Cairo, in Cairo in general I was a bit nervous about safety. Our hotel (The Kempinski) reassured me that the market was safe, so we went. Our driver dropped us off & we planned where to meet him in a couple of hours. Thankfully my husband is very good with directions, as I am not. The market is HUGE and it would be very easy to get lost/disoriented. Be sure you get a map or pay attention where you are/where you are going. I felt very safe during our visit there and even was wishing we had arranged to stay longer.

Negotiate, negotiate, negotiate. Many of the stalls sell the same items as the stall next door or across the lane. If you find something you like, shop around. Be sure to drive prices down. All the stall managers we spoke/negotiated with were very friendly & seemingly enjoyed the banter. Start low. If they except a counteroffer right away, you are paying too much. Even walk away, many times they will come back to you with the price you want. If not, you can most likely find what you are looking for somewhere else.

Definitely go, even if you don’t buy anything. Great experience!! The stall managers are aggressive but not bad in comparison to markets I’ve visited in Shanghai and Beijing.

I do believe there were bathrooms there. We did not use them. There were also food stalls but we didn't buy any food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie_08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“terrific”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

best place to buy real egyptian soviners to ur family and friends. A lot of things u may see . it is about 1000 yrs ago that u see mosques and the great azhar which is the light of Islam (real islam). bargin while shopping.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sherioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khan Al-Khalili also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Khan Al-Khalili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing