We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

Mosque of Ibn Tulun
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.50*
and up
Private Tour to Ibn Tulun Mosque, Gayer-Anderson Museum and Khan El Khalili...
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Private Tour: Islamic Cairo including Amr Ibn-AlAs-Ibn Tulun, Sultan Hassa and...
More Info
US$57.20*
and up
Private Customizable Day tour around Giza, Saqqara and Dahshur from Cairo
Ranked #25 of 320 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is considered one of Egypt's largest and oldest mosques, which was built between AD 876 and AD 879 by an Abbasid governor sent from Baghdad to rule over Egypt.
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is one of the most beautiful and unique mosques you will see. It is pictured in all books featuring unique and iconic mosques. I was practically alone when I was there, which is surprising. It should be on every travelers list who loves beautiful architecture.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    61
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Caution - Police here can be a HUGE hassle”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The police at this location have proved a nuisance whenever I have gone there with my Egyptian friends. I guess they find it impossible to believe that an expat and an Egyptian might be friends. I had a major altercation with police there and have been counseled to take photos of the policeman in question and communicate that i will file a formal complaint at the nearest police station and with my embassy. This should fix the situation.

I find this extremely sad to report because I find Ibn Tulun mosque a quiet refuge and a marvelous place to visit when paired with the Gayer Anderson museum which is adjacent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Tranquil mosque in the middle of busy Cairo”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The taxi took us through a myriad of narrow streets, full of busy pushcart vendors and donkey carts, before depositing us at the gate to the mosque. The mosque itself seems to be surrounded by an outer wall and once inside the inner wall, it was an oasis of tranquility.

Probably because it was already late in the day, there were hardly any visitors and we were able to climb the larger minaret to get a bird’s eye view of the mosque itself and the surrounding neighborhood, including the glittering dome of the Mohammed Ali mosque some distance away. The Ibn Tulan mosque is much older and less glitzy than the Mohammed Ali mosque, although the small minarets have beautiful architecture. The whole mosque is primarily desert-sand colored with a large courtyard, with a single dome structure in the middle. The archways and windows along the corridors have nice detailing but whatever colors, if ever, have been lost, lending the mosque it’s own austere appeal and sense of old age. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“the oldest masjed in cairo”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I went ti this masjed many times , its older than 1000 years and still the same throughout this years , the surrounding area is like hill , crowd and noisy but inside its a dream

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank waleed_ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolution's Font: Mosque of Ibn Tulun, Cairo, Egypt”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Await the zenith of the sun,
cross clay courtyard a beckoning
barefoot walked, heartstring undone,
Oh Lord, there’s love, no reckoning.

Soundless clarion of tears fall
toward absolution’s bright blessing,
within the domed sabil I call...
Oh Lord, there’s love, no reckoning.

The fountain's dry, but not my eyes
sounds of grace rebound, amazing,
Amazing Grace, sang such as I
Oh Lord, there’s love, no reckoning.

We are but one beneath the sun
for all our fears and wandering
all creation our companion...
Oh Lord, there’s love, no reckoning.

Let spirit rise on minaret
and phantom penitents come hieing
all is well, we are God’s get
Oh Lord, there’s love, no reckoning.



Peace is not a relationship of nations. It is a condition of mind brought about by a serenity of soul. Peace is not merely the absence of war. It is also a state of mind. Lasting peace can come only to peaceful people.
Jawaharlal Nehru (1889 - 1964)


Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieGuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosque of Ibn Tulun also viewed

 

Been to Mosque of Ibn Tulun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing