We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is worth it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #46 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location is worth it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Staying in Zamalek is 100% worth it and Mayfair is one of few affordable hotels there. The staff are sweet and helpful though take care to know who actually 'works' there and who is a 'guide.' The hotel itself is an old mansion (I think) and like most buildings in Cairo, could use a facelift. BUT, as I said before, the location is unbeatable. Zamalek hosts the BEST restaurants and Mayfair is close to two of our favorites- Cairo Kitchen and Zooba. Both have fresh, affordable food are really close to Mayfair.

The rooms at Mayfair are nothing to write home about except for that they are big! We had a big, double room that opened out to a terrace which was nice. There was a big armoire, small fridge and a table with two chairs. However, the room was dingy and mosquitoes bothered us the first few nights. Though the rooms are cleaned every day (and cleaned well!), it's easy for the room to get messy/dirty bc of Cairo dust/grit and the flimsy curtain in the shower makes for easy leaks. Also, our shower was particularly cramped since the curtain takes up a bunch of the space.

Breakfast (again) was nothing to write home about but sufficient. Hard-boiled eggs, bread, cheese wedge, packaged jam and butter, coffee or tea.

Room Tip: During these times of few tourists, you should bargain for the price of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
20
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel because it is easier to stay in Zamalek these days given the volatile situation downtown. Unfortunately for 45$ a single room, it is over priced for the crammed space and there were so many mosquitos it was hard to sleep.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

California City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have been to the Mayfair hotel a couple of times and i have to say that i love it there. It is so quite and comfortable which is nice to have after spending a the entire day under the hot sun. They offer a free Wi-Fi service ( it's fast too) in rooms or on the terrace. I loved sitting on the terrace @ night, the weather in that area is very good unlike other spots in Cairo, i guess it's because that area is on an island in the river. Staff were very friendly, they actually told me about the island thing. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, air conditioned. It just felt safe there. I can not stress enough how quite and relaxing it was. And all this for a good value. I'd recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

MayFair is my favorite Hotel in Cairo since my first stay there few years ago. Location is great because it's in a very safe area (Zamalek), which is the modern high class area of Cairo, from the Hotel you can walk to the best restaurants and Cafes in Cairo, most foreign embassies and international organizations are just few minutes from the Hotel. I stay there when ever I am in Cairo because I do care to have a clean place to sleep in and they do care about that very much, rooms are clean, bathrooms are super clean. They serve a nice breakfast in the lovely sunny balcony. I do recommend this hotel to all travelers because it's a very good value for money weather you are staying for a couple of days or a long stay. Hi Speed Free Wi-Fi inside the rooms and in all areas, it's enjoyable to work on the computer on their balcony, Air Condisioned rooms, Very friendly staff, they make you feels at home

Room Tip: All rooms in all sides are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tareq L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I was in Egypt last month with my friend and we enjoyed my stay at the Mayfair. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Rooms were comfortable and very clean as they were cleaned on a daily basis. The bathrooms were good and the shower was hot.
The Location of the hotel is just perfect, it is in a quite area yet next to all sorts of shops and restaurants. Everything we needed was about 5 mins away.
Overall it was very convenient and not at all overpriced (in my opinion).
I will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

You can't expect too much of a bare-bones place in this price bracket, but hot water should definitely be part of the deal. Not so at the Mayfair.

We had cold water in the bathroom throughout our three-night stay. When we complained, a desk clerk named Ahmed promised in writing that we would have hot water in the morning or the hotel would refund that night's payment (which the hotel required in advance).

Come morning, the water was still cold. But another clerk named Mohammed refused to honor Ahmed's promised refund and implied we were lying. A call to Ahmed brought more suggestions of lying, more refusals to honor the deal and enough circular logic to make Kafka snort.

The hotel's manager (who we were told stays in Canada all but four months of the year) should not tolerate such unreliable and unprofessional staff. Until the Mayfair manages to grasp the concept of customer service, this hotel doesn't deserve your business. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nevertoomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The May Fair is a nice, clean, bright and airy place in Zamalek, one of the nicer bits of Cairo. It's a regular hangout for international archaeologists en route from and to projects in the Delta and beyond. They make excellent guides if you chat them up and buy them drinks (as an archaeologist myself I speak from experience...!). The rooms are fairly well priced (320 LE for a double occupancy room; March 2013) although considerably more than - say - the Lotus. There is apparently leeway for negotiating lower rates for longer term stays, but as I only stayed briefly you would have to contact them yourself and find out. The rooms are en suite and pretty spacious. The corridors etc are perhaps a little clinical but you can see at once how much attention they spend cleaning the place, which is appreciated. Security is good. Reception staff are English-speaking and friendly. Service for drinks and so forth (no alcohol, of course, although there is a Drinkies at the end of the road) is friendly and a little disorganised; you are likely to have to remind the waiter to bring you your lemon juice (recommended) a few times. The best feature of the place is perhaps the long terrace that stretches the length of the building and is a great place to sit and chat. The breakfasts are fine...well...as long as you are in Egyptian mode. The area is quiet and rather attractive, with big houses and leafy gardens. A pleasant place to spend a weekend break or as a pied a terre for jumping off to other areas of Egypt. There are a few touts who approach you with constant offers of trips to pyramids and the like but they seem polite enough when refused. A couple of cabbies also hang about outside for the same reason, although they are a little more pushy. Don't take them as they are much more expensive than taxis from the main road just 100m away. I might also recommend you pop over to the Marriott Hotel for a drink at the bar so you can see the SPECTACULARLY bad taste of King Farouk, whose hunting lodge the building once was. Think in terms of Louis XIV and brace yourself. Also brace yourself for the price of drinks (about 75 LE for a cocktail).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#28 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#40 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairo World Trade Center Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#86 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 9 Al Aziz Osman | Zamelek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayfair Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing