We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location. No surprise things. Basic !”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #75 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very good location. It's located in very quite place and 10 mins from Metro. Price is not bad, and it's clean in overall. Free wifi is available in the lobby floor. Staffs is friendly.

There is no particular things. If you want to stay with good location, not bad price, and basic quality, it could be good choice.

Don't expect for nice breakfast. ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank prorhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

At this hotel, the staff was cleaning up bottles all through the night! I am not sure if it was the bar or housekeeping but it was awful! We could not sleep The A/C did not work so we could not use the fan to block noise either. Otherwise, it was actually quite clean and the size of the room was nice plus we had a decent bathroom (though another traveler did not have hot water at first, we did). Staff are very friendly, but no sleep (which is kinda important) so really can not recommend even though price was great. I thought the breakfast was quite decent and reasonable. Buffet with a local feeling (which is what we wanted): falafel, pita bread, etc -- and a guy offering omelettes, too.

Room Tip: I think 7th (upper) floor must have been near the bar--and we heard bottles being cleaned and droppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CatherineHBoeckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed at King Hotel for the second time last January. My first stay there was in January 2011. The hotel continues to be good, the staff and service continue to be same. The best thing about this hotel is its location from which one can have anything he may need and can go anywhere. The area of the hotel is quiet and away from the riots and demonstrations in other areas of Cairo. Some pieces of the furniture needs to be changed and rennovated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The cost and location are excellent with a supermarket and ATM around the corner. Very nice Hotel category 3*. Free Wi-Fi in open areas. Down the street that faces the hotel there are eateries and other shopping if you are interested. The subway is also just within walking distance.

Our room was clean and basic.

Breakfast had good variety of food.

The terrace upstairs is magnificent. Lovely to sit up there in the evening! You can see one of the pyramids in the distance if you are fortunate and have shisha with other guests. It was really a lovely terrace and made the hotel attractive

The staff and the Egyptian people are extremely friendly and so helpful. The hotel staff was always happy to help.

We were very happy with our trip and recommend to stay at King Hotel.

Thanks to all the wonderful staff for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Angelina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed at this place as part of a tour. The size of the room was ok & we had hot water but others in my group had none & showers that didn;t work. It was winter & I was a bit cold. They were attentive when out toilet wouldn't flush & fixed it straight away. The neigbourhood is kinda fun & it's on a quiet street that was easy to walk around & get to shops. Free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast was standard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank muchachitaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, in all sorts of circumstances and I can honestly say that my stay at this hotel ranks the worst hotel experiences of my travelling life. Some staff were extremely rude while others were annoyingly sycophantic, following patrons around looking for a way to make a tip. My experience in the restaurant was particularly bad, Half the things on the menu were unavailable, the staff were extremely rude, the food came hours late and the order was wrong. Having stayed in several other places in Cairo which are not all fantastic quality, I feel that this place is by far the worst. In short the place is expensive, unpleasant and unclean. If you are travelling on an intrepid or gecko trip as several people I met here are, I suggest you contact them to complain. Once you are here it will be too late!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

A really good spot to stay in just outside the very centre of town and away from hassley touts. A short walk to a bustling market and a locals area where genuine Cairenes live.

The roof terrace is lovely and has good views. It's a great place to relax and plenty of locals come here for a cold beer or fresh juice and shisha in the evenings. It's chilly at night in the winter months though.

The staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful, easygoing and welcoming.

Buffet breakfast was a good introduction to Egyptian cuisine although there were plenty of Western options too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#72 of 138 in Cairo
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
1.2 mi away
Santana Hotel
Santana Hotel
#98 of 138 in Cairo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#99 of 138 in Cairo
67 reviews
6.0 mi away
Royal Marshal Hotel
Royal Marshal Hotel
#114 of 138 in Cairo
21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#103 of 138 in Cairo
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £34 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing