We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #98 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed as part of an Intrepid trip. The hotel is nice enough and the staff were friendly. You might have to change rooms a couple of times if the air con goes on the blink, but that's to be expected.

There's nothing wrong with it and the food was quite nice. Breakfast I thought was excellent and plentiful.

For the price, location and service, it is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
8
53
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

King Hotel is far away from the city and all the hustle bustle of Cairo but in the suburbs. However, for the price paid, its decent. But do not expect any luxury or even a mini bar. Not recommended if you are travelling alone. Okay for group of friends who only want to crash at night.

The breakfast is just about okay, nothing great. But there is a great perfume shop at the ground floor, which is good and reasonable.

The staff is co-operative and friendly and overall decent stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesunalsorises2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed there for 3 days: Clean & tidy rooms, great location and good staff. Perfect for a stop over & close to Dokki metro station. Breakfast was ok (not that great).
There is Wifi at the lobby but not at the rooms

Stayed January 2014, travelled alone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lunnoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynella, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our tour group. Clean & tidy rooms, great location, friendly staff. Perfect for a stop over & close to train station to get around. Breakfast was nice. Friends had an issue with the plumbing, but it was fixed straight away.
Remember it's Cairo. If your expecting nice tidy tree lined streets with no noise or pollution forget it.
Having said that we had a fantastic time in Cairo.
What a great experience.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Kochi_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My tour (HolaEgypt) booked this hotel for me. The hotel is very nice for 3 stars in Egypt. The room was clean and comfortable with the predictably weird and slightly inconvenient bathroom (but any Egyptian hotel will have a weird bathroom). The air conditioning worked and so did the elevator. They do not provide shampoo/conditioner or soap, but that also seems to be common practice for hotels in this price range.

There is an awesome rooftop bar overlooking the city where you can go get a drink or fresh-squeezed juice and read about what you'll be seeing the next day. The also have a delicious and plentiful included breakfast. They will even make you a to go box if you request it the day before for an early start.

The TV worked but was small and old...but who cares.

The location is great with a short walk to the main street.

I left my papyrus with them to pick back up at the end of my stay. Everything changed because of the protests and I ended up staying somewhere else at the end. My tour sent someone to pick it up and he came back with someone else's saying, "I got her a bigger one." So, the next day on the way to the airport I had to swing back by King and return whoever's papyrus and get my own. Maybe be cautious of leaving things in their storage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank khismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights and I was very happy with the experience. The rooms were simple and clean, looked like reasonably new paint, clean curtains, clean bed-linen, a simple air conditioning unit and a single window with enough day-light. The bathroom was a bit retro (bright green bathtub!) but clean and in good repair.

The bar at the top was the highlight! Good price, GREAT atmosphere. We chilled here in the afternoon, and returned after a night of sight seeing to soak in the Cairo cityscape. With low lamp-lighting and dark furniture, this place had a really chilled out nice vibe.

The breakfast was excellent!! Great choice of western style food (omelette, pancakes, bread and jam) as well as falafel, olives, cucumber and tomatoes, fresh humus etc. Delicious!

The staff were kind and attentive, but also did not hassle us.

Its off on a side-street from the main road. My taxi driver from the airport hadn't heard of it but found it quite easily. Within walking distance to a main street with many shops, plenty of restaurants nearby, and also supermarkets, atms, etc. It is also within walking distance of Tahrir Square. You need to take a taxi/transportation out to the Egyptian Museum and of course out to the Pyramids.

Overall, I was very happy with my stay here. No frills, but good and a good price.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, see if you can swap. Some seem to be a bit newer than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lex_Rosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at King Hotel as part of a tour group. This hotel does get a lot of traffic from tour groups however contrary to what you might think, it's very quiet. The hotel seems to be progressively renovating rooms, as we stayed in this hotel on 3 separate occasions we found some rooms finished and some not. Generally though, the quality of the rooms is quite good. The beds are comfortable enough and the linens and towels always clean. The un-renovated bathrooms are basic but we did have a soap dispenser and the water was always reliably hot.

Staff were particularly helpful given our entire group returned to the hotel unexpectedly when our train to Aswan was cancelled. Food is quite food and very reasonably priced and there is a great rooftop bar with nice views over the city and out to the pyramids on a clear day. The neighborhood is quiet making sleep easy and there's a supermarket around the corner.

Very happy with our stay at King Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.3 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#97 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#91 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#51 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing