We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms,7th floor so noisy,great location”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small rooms,7th floor so noisy,great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel in great location.near to downtown and mostly to every place.
Taxi drivers know where is it. Just tell them near by the head court of ALWAFD political party.
Rooms are pretty small.view are ok .. just old buildings.clean and reasonable.
Roof bar is great.

Reasonable for what you pay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    61
    18
    17
See reviews for
8
52
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed as part of an Intrepid trip. The hotel is nice enough and the staff were friendly. You might have to change rooms a couple of times if the air con goes on the blink, but that's to be expected.

There's nothing wrong with it and the food was quite nice. Breakfast I thought was excellent and plentiful.

For the price, location and service, it is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

King Hotel is far away from the city and all the hustle bustle of Cairo but in the suburbs. However, for the price paid, its decent. But do not expect any luxury or even a mini bar. Not recommended if you are travelling alone. Okay for group of friends who only want to crash at night.

The breakfast is just about okay, nothing great. But there is a great perfume shop at the ground floor, which is good and reasonable.

The staff is co-operative and friendly and overall decent stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesunalsorises2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed there for 3 days: Clean & tidy rooms, great location and good staff. Perfect for a stop over & close to Dokki metro station. Breakfast was ok (not that great).
There is Wifi at the lobby but not at the rooms

Stayed January 2014, travelled alone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lunnoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynella, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our tour group. Clean & tidy rooms, great location, friendly staff. Perfect for a stop over & close to train station to get around. Breakfast was nice. Friends had an issue with the plumbing, but it was fixed straight away.
Remember it's Cairo. If your expecting nice tidy tree lined streets with no noise or pollution forget it.
Having said that we had a fantastic time in Cairo.
What a great experience.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Kochi_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My tour (HolaEgypt) booked this hotel for me. The hotel is very nice for 3 stars in Egypt. The room was clean and comfortable with the predictably weird and slightly inconvenient bathroom (but any Egyptian hotel will have a weird bathroom). The air conditioning worked and so did the elevator. They do not provide shampoo/conditioner or soap, but that also seems to be common practice for hotels in this price range.

There is an awesome rooftop bar overlooking the city where you can go get a drink or fresh-squeezed juice and read about what you'll be seeing the next day. The also have a delicious and plentiful included breakfast. They will even make you a to go box if you request it the day before for an early start.

The TV worked but was small and old...but who cares.

The location is great with a short walk to the main street.

I left my papyrus with them to pick back up at the end of my stay. Everything changed because of the protests and I ended up staying somewhere else at the end. My tour sent someone to pick it up and he came back with someone else's saying, "I got her a bigger one." So, the next day on the way to the airport I had to swing back by King and return whoever's papyrus and get my own. Maybe be cautious of leaving things in their storage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank khismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights and I was very happy with the experience. The rooms were simple and clean, looked like reasonably new paint, clean curtains, clean bed-linen, a simple air conditioning unit and a single window with enough day-light. The bathroom was a bit retro (bright green bathtub!) but clean and in good repair.

The bar at the top was the highlight! Good price, GREAT atmosphere. We chilled here in the afternoon, and returned after a night of sight seeing to soak in the Cairo cityscape. With low lamp-lighting and dark furniture, this place had a really chilled out nice vibe.

The breakfast was excellent!! Great choice of western style food (omelette, pancakes, bread and jam) as well as falafel, olives, cucumber and tomatoes, fresh humus etc. Delicious!

The staff were kind and attentive, but also did not hassle us.

Its off on a side-street from the main road. My taxi driver from the airport hadn't heard of it but found it quite easily. Within walking distance to a main street with many shops, plenty of restaurants nearby, and also supermarkets, atms, etc. It is also within walking distance of Tahrir Square. You need to take a taxi/transportation out to the Egyptian Museum and of course out to the Pyramids.

Overall, I was very happy with my stay here. No frills, but good and a good price.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, see if you can swap. Some seem to be a bit newer than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lex_Rosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.2 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#94 of 137 in Cairo
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#76 of 137 in Cairo
72 reviews
5.1 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#57 of 137 in Cairo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing