We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another Filthy Hotel”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Exter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just another Filthy Hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I was totally disappointed after I arrived to king hotel. At first the reception said that we had no reservation, but after an hour of keeping us waiting we were finally given our room.
The Room was small, and not clean we felt as if it was not clean from months ago, the bathroom was just disgusting, we asked them to change the room, so after a long discussion in a very rude way they gave us another room, it was little better but we were shocked to find the bed sheets had Stains and hair, it was clear that it was not changed from the last time the room was occupied. We were very tired so we just put the towels on the bed and slept on it. Our Reservation was for one night so the best thing we did was checking out. I really do not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Exter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    61
    18
    17
See reviews for
8
52
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GREECE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The room was not that clean, but the service was great and the staff very helpful.
A nice and safe area, close to the city centre. If it was for a couple of nights stay, i'd choose it again. Try to ask for a room not close to the elevator side! (noisy!)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VasiaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The location of the Hotel is excellent and very safe. This is not expensive Hotel, but it is very clean, may there is nothing fancy, but the service from everyone is perfect! They have a very good continental breakfast every morning, very good. We wanted to have sightseeing and they organized it for us quickly, professional and not expensive. If you want to keep within a budget, I highly recommend King Hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This was an inexpensive hotel, but was very clean, nothing fancy, but the service from everyone was top of the world. I told them I wanted to see Cairo and do a Nile River cruise, they set everything up including transfers from the hotel to airport, train station, and even train tickets. We had a personal guide everywhere we went and was fantastic. They had a continental breakfast every morning, that was good. If you aren't looking for fancy and want to keep within a budget, I highly recommend King Hotel. Thanks Osama.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

arrived late yesterday to this hotel at 11 in the evening after having booked a room a week prior.. upon arrival i var offered a welcome drink but later i found out it was not because it was the custom but so they could have time to prepare the room for me!!!! after waiting 20 min i was led to room 701 which was dirty the aircon sounded like a train and water was dripping i the bathroom ... i complained and was offered another room... room 304, after checking the beds i found nasty stains on the sheets so i once again complained... the guy at the reception offered to fix the aircon and the water dripping in the first room if i waited half an hour... because the time at this point was 1 a clock in the morning i agreed and after half hour he said it was ok so i went upstairs but it wasn't not the aircon anyway... when i said i was leaving he then said they had cleaned room nr two the 304 so i went upstairs AGAIN to check it and was it cleaned?? surprise surprise NO!!!!! (i even pointed out the (nasty) stains to the guy who followed me up stairs and had him confirm them to the guy in reception because he did not believe me) at this point i was so tired and pissed off that i asked them to arrange a taxi 4 me so i could find another hotel at 2 in the morning!!!! and what happened?? the taxi showed up but it was a friend of the piccolo who demanded 25 pounds to take me to downtown and the hotel is in dokki!!!!... naturally i declined and walked off on my own found a taxi and payed 7 EP... they were trying 2 rip me off again... if this hotel is 3 star at Egyptian standards then Egypt surely doesn't have any standards at all... to people considering this hotel i would say don't book anything if you think i am joking show up and see the rooms 4 ur self also ask 4 rooms in lower floor so u don't end up listening 2 the noise coming from the roof top terrace... i see some people have given the hotel good reviews and surly the hotel had plenty of customers when i was there and there was a lot of noise up on the roof terrace indicating that some people liked it... this can mean that i just was really unlucky but the fact remains that they tried to rip me off with the taxi fare at the end so be careful when dealing with this hotel.... if there is some doubt yet i really really would not recommend this hotel to anybody...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
17 Thank eko064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I had the most incredible 4 days in Cairo ever and it was all due to the wonderful people at the King Hotel. From the moment I walked into the lobby (they had a car waiting for me at the airport) I knew I had made the right choice. My room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The staff were all polite, friendly, and made me feel like I was family. I was never without a Mint Tea, (best in the world) and I spent hours talking with everyone down in the lobby. The people who work at the King are the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. I am honoured to now call them my friends. Osama, you can be very proud of your staff and your hotel, and I thank you from my heart for everything you did for me to make my stay in Cairo the most amazing 4 days of my life. Thank you Sam for your company; Hassan for my beautiful perfume; the entire staff for their warmth and hospitality; and Adel because you are so very special. The finest 5 star hotels in the world can't offer what the King Hotel gave me...... new friendships and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri-lynn_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minas Gerais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2009

When I am in trips of businesses in Cairo, I always stay at the King hotel that offers me
good services, excellent location, restaurant service and coffee, rooms with conditioned air, tv and telephone, employees that speak the English language, internet 24 hours and with special price and still it works in the covering a wonderful restaurant, with a characteristic decoration, music and good attendance. It is worthwhile to check!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank reginaegito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.2 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#94 of 137 in Cairo
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#76 of 137 in Cairo
72 reviews
5.1 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#57 of 137 in Cairo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing