We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good budget hotel with rooftop bar”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
springfield
Level Contributor
353 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“a good budget hotel with rooftop bar”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed here twice in December and January for a total of six nights. Everyone electing to stay at this hotel, should be aware that it is a budget hotel. That said, it has many advantages for a budget hotel in Cairo, and we enjoyed our stay. We would return.

Not all rooms are the same. We stayed on the 7th floor, which had linoleum wood floors, rather than carpeting, which we preferred. Our room was always clean, and being on the 7th floor was surprisingly quiet (a few barking dogs trumps Cairo traffic).

We found the staff helpful. The hotel is used by a lot of tour groups, so there are always people in the lobby. There is also an area to get drinks and check email (free) so there are usually a lot of people in the lobby. It added to a festive vibe.

We really liked the area. It was a two block walk from a major intersection, Sharia Tahir. Those two blocks were trafficked by a few cars, and even a donkey cart. The Syrian embassy is across the street so there are always police patrol nearby. There is a grocery store and pharmacy two blocks a way, and a market street with fruit and good eye-watching of local culture. In short, it is quiet (for Cairo, and for a budget hotel) and I prefer that it is in a residential neighborhood with real people.

The rooftop bar is a major highlight, and added to the trip. We frequently ate dinner or drank a beer overlooking all of Cairo. We had children, and it was friendly. Some smoked the hookah. There was loud music playing, which some might find annoying, but since it was usually pretty hip music, it added to the cool ambience.

Breakfast was in a lovely room with lots of windows. Eggs were cooked daily for those wanting omelettes. There were a wide variety of items, but they didn't change daily, and it did become a bit tiresome. I craved fruit in the morning, and wished for bananas or oranges. The pastries also could have been better. But then again, it was probably just fine for the price of the hotel!

With a budget hotel comes quirks: when the tub drained it sometimes overflowed in the bathroom. The comforter and linens were not new (but they were clean). We had a king bed made with twin sheets horizontally. It really wasn't a problem, but I wanted to be sure to state that this was a budget hotel! Dinners were mixed; some nights were OK, some nights were pretty bad. A lot of rice, and usually only fruit for dinner (grab it at night for breakfast)! But it was not as bad as at other hotels we stayed at, and no one in our large group got sick, as they did at other places.

There was a refrigerator in the room and a huge closet, which was an added bonus. We also had air conditioning and two balconies!

Overall, our experience was very good. We were aware we were on a small budget. Since the hotel was clean with good service in a special neighborhood and had a rooftop eating area for dinner and drinks--we thought that went beyond what we anticipated in Cairo for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aventine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    61
    18
    17
See reviews for
8
52
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CAPE TOWN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We found the staff to be very helpfull and friendly. The manager organised 3 days of private sight seeing in and around Cairo for us at the drop of a hat.

Management allowed us to check in early and to only check out after 18h00 to fit in with our flights.

Transport to and from the airport was available and on time.

The buffet breakfast was of excellent quality. We recommend the roof top restaurant for good quality meals at a fair price.

The hotel is somewhat run down and in need of renovation. However, it is clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are fairly large.

Great view from the rooftop restaurant and our room (7th floor).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PROVENTUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Like most Egyptian hotels, you get what you pay for. If you are looking for a cheap hotel that is well located you could do worse than King Hotel. I stayed as part of a longer tour and found the room tidy and the hotel staff very helpful, they even stored excess baggage whilst we were on the road for a week with no extra charge, very unusual for Cairo.
If you are looking for all the creature comforts King Hotel is not for you, if however, you are looking for a budget room in Cairo/Giza that will provide a bed for the night this is okay.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AUSSIETRAVELLER23_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I booked into King hotel as a 1 day stopover. King hotel smells awful and is dirty but the main problem was that people leave their finished meal trays outside the room on the ground, and no one cared to remove it. Consequently there were cockroaches everywhere in the corridor. In the morning we were fortunate enough to spot a cockroach in the food as we entered for breakfast, really disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank superfred007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Exter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I was totally disappointed after I arrived to king hotel. At first the reception said that we had no reservation, but after an hour of keeping us waiting we were finally given our room.
The Room was small, and not clean we felt as if it was not clean from months ago, the bathroom was just disgusting, we asked them to change the room, so after a long discussion in a very rude way they gave us another room, it was little better but we were shocked to find the bed sheets had Stains and hair, it was clear that it was not changed from the last time the room was occupied. We were very tired so we just put the towels on the bed and slept on it. Our Reservation was for one night so the best thing we did was checking out. I really do not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Exter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GREECE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The room was not that clean, but the service was great and the staff very helpful.
A nice and safe area, close to the city centre. If it was for a couple of nights stay, i'd choose it again. Try to ask for a room not close to the elevator side! (noisy!)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VasiaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The location of the Hotel is excellent and very safe. This is not expensive Hotel, but it is very clean, may there is nothing fancy, but the service from everyone is perfect! They have a very good continental breakfast every morning, very good. We wanted to have sightseeing and they organized it for us quickly, professional and not expensive. If you want to keep within a budget, I highly recommend King Hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#74 of 137 in Cairo
72 reviews
5.1 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#56 of 137 in Cairo
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#95 of 137 in Cairo
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing