We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all rooms are filthy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Not all rooms are filthy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at the King hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of an Egypt tour. My room was a mess. Dirty carpet, broken TV, toilet that didn't flush, no hot water, wheezing a/c, and not what I expected. I made several calls to reception--the guy at the desk was fabulous, send workers up and fixed the things that were fixable, but the carpet remained a problem. I finally gave up trying to change rooms, assuming all would be about the same. When the rest of the tour group arrived and I visited their rooms, I was shocked--rooms with no carpet, good a/c, light and airy feel. If you find yourself at the King in a grubby room, insist that they move you. There are better rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2020trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    59
    18
    17
See reviews for
8
52
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

we stayed here for 6 nights our room was clean, the staff were friendly good service, i would highly reccomend the rooftop bar, we ate there a few nights staff friendly food was good, breakfast ok not much choice, the area is good within walking distance of the museum, supermarket just 5 mins down the road opposite hsbc bank good place to stock up, a few places to eat around there kfc as well, we enjoyed our stay in cairo, and we would use the king king hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toon5les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Situated rather comfortably, walking into town is easy (and quit a romantic stroll) if you prefer it to taxi or metro. A few little shops nearby, an old fashioned telephone boot and a great take-away around the corner. For the souverir hunters: a souvenir shop recently opened its doors just across the street.

Hotel itself is a bit grubby, allthough the beds were clean. There was a shower, but it needed mending. The fridge was warm. We couldn't use the airco as one of the beds was places exactly in front of it. The latter was not a problem though. Best bit: don't forget to check out the roof garden. Very nice place to sit on a warm evening!
Breakfast buffet was really fine.

For the more sensitive visitor: the hotel is next to the Syrian Ambassy. This means that there are at least two armed personell in front of it day and night. Our kids thought it was rather scary (allthough the men in question were actually rather friendly).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sterres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed here to start off our Egypt journey with a Geckos tour. The hotel definately is for low budget travelling. The beds are small and are uncomfortable foam pads. It's slightly dirty but cleaner then I had expected. The rooftop restaurant offers a decent view (if you can see past the plastic covering most of the view) It's a good place to have a beer at the end of a day. However their menus were so old and disgusting, I didn't want to touch them. If you booked a tour and this is the place you are staying, it's decent enough. But just remember you only have to stay here for a couple nights. ( I wouldn't recommened an extended stay here)

If you are looking for a good, quick place to eat I would recommened heading to the main street and going to Taza and picking up some amazing shwarmas.
Directions: from hotel, walk straight up to the main street, then turn left. Just keep walking a little ways until you see the little yellow restaurant (Taza) everytime I went there it was super busy. Don't miss out on this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianDeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Our first time in Cairo and we were some what nervous, the driver was waiting for us like they said they would! Rooms are by no means modern but our room was spotless with clean sheets. The bathroom like all things in Egypt is dated but clean. Water is hot, the rooms where quiet enough, at least no noise from the inside, we were on the 6th floor (quiet is not something that comes readily anywhere in Cairo!!) Breakfast was pretty good and did the job well enough. Food could be ordered either in the lobby or on the roof top terrace, I think 2 different restaurants? anyway we enjoyed the hotel as well as the staff, good value for your money

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0rbis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

we arrive in the night and find thay are waiting for us in the airport. And when we come to the hotel its nice meating the staff so nice and helpful really thay make us fell home . All waht we can say that its one of the best hotel we have stay in egypt

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel but not all rooms are equal. My husband and I were lucky to score a double room which was a lot bigger than some of the other double rooms. But judging from the look of the other rooms we visited, they were all clean and airy. Breakfast was the biggest surprise. It was a feast. Felt well taken care of.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank WillungaWirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.3 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#93 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#53 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#106 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing