We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REASONABLE & FULL OF CHARACTER”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #86 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“REASONABLE & FULL OF CHARACTER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Arrived at about 1 in morning as our flight was delayed by 3 hours. No problems - we were taken to our (very large) twin room which was clean & quiet . Beds were very comfortable and clean and we loved the shutters. Nice TV too so we could watch the news. Bathroom could do with updating but was clean and water fine which is ll we cared about.
We had dinner in the restaurant both nights of our stay as my daughter (18) was fed up with being harassed!! All freshly cooked and no tummy problems.
Breakfast was fine too although we stuck to bread and cakes and fruit as we didn't want to risk cold meats. we were happy with what we had - set us up nicely for the day.
The hotel was in very easy reach of Ramses station and we walked back from the Cairo Tower. Also got underground to Giza (1 Egypt pound each) then the 'bus?!' (same price) to the pyramids and back - what an experience! Particularly liked the 'ladies only' carriages on tube - quick, clean and efficient for about 7p each- Why can't we have the same in England?
Also used the internet there - no problem.
All in all very pleased with the hotel and was very reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatzozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    78
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
15
60
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

I've been staying at the Victoria for the better part of a decade but I think this is my last time. The place is quiet and clean, at least by local standards. On the other hand, it is not that easy to get to, the rates keep going up, and the stff is humorless and not helpful -- most recently I was told they could not make change for me.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

upon arrival at the hotel at 2 am we were slightly put off by the two men working the reception who seemed to be preoccupied with paperwork. our room was cosy and had a tv that showed bbc news 24 and the occasional english b movie. the grout in the bathroom was discoloured, but other than that the standards of cleanliness were fair. everyday the maid came and tidied/made the bed. she was very sweet and never asked for baksheesh (though we gave her some). upon our arrival, i complained about the temperature of the water- they put it up, and although not ideal, it was adequate fr the conditions. the food was ok and affordable, the prices typical of other 3 star egyptian hotels. we particularly liked the small bar, again the barman was friendly and approachable and quickly knew our tipples. we requested a garden view room, which although it did have a garden view, was looking on to an unkempt patio. it was, however, overlooking the quieter side of the hotel. the first night we were woken by the call to prayer of the local mosque, but this would happen anywhere, as you are never far from a mosque. this is an egyptian 3 star hotel, it does not have the quality of a western 3 star, however, the beds were very comfortable, it was quiet, and inside you really felt as if you were away from the chaos of the city. if you want plushness, book a room at the nile marriot. for a budget traveller, this hotel is central and you can't beat the friendly barman/maid who made us feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Rated a 3 star and meets that standard. Phone did not work for the entire stay. Promises to fix phone not fulfilled. Bathroom shows age and had odour. No bath curtain for shower. No hot water for part of stay. Noisy if you get street facing room. Mosque next door so expect prayers calls in middle of night. No fridge. Old fashioned key locks. Asked for wake up calls but did not receive (phone not working but expected someone to come knocking). Internet and phone calls reasonably cheap. Staff semi-friendly. Refused to change large bills when they did have the change as evidenced by asking a second staff member. Had booked a double bed but were placed into a twin room with offers to change next day. No attempts by staff made to change our room next day. Reasonable breakfast but nothing fancy. No Non Smoking zones in restaurant, very annoying. Reasonable prices for pop, bottled water. Not far from ATM machines and Ramses train station (which is one reason we chose this hotel, but found that train to Aswan had to be taken from Giza station, a good 45 minutes by Taxi at rush hour so beware and leave sufficient time if you are taking the overnight sleeper train to Aswan/Luxor). Only 2-3 blocks from a busy shopping district for clothes, food, banks and fruit market. About 45 minute interesting walk to the Nile. Friendly and helpful doormen.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noisy street side rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

The Victoria is definitely a hotel with character. I loved it, but it will not suit all tastes. Built, as the name suggests, in the 19th Century, it seems to have had a mild revamp in the 1970s and not much else, though there are televisions and a mildly pricey internet cafe.
My experience of the hotel started with the effusively friendly greeting from the doorman Ahmed, who must be in his 70s, fully wrapped up in a herringbone woll overcoat topped with a peaked cap.
The rooms have very high ceilings and are clean, though the bathrooms are dilapidated. The bed linen and towels are washed and pressed and the wooden floors, marble top tables and so on are delightful. The plumbing is a bit dodgy - though the broken ball valve in the loo cistern was swiftly mended before I'd even had a chance to mention it to reception.
Breakfast is a hard boiled egg, cheese, bread, pastry, cereal, tea etc.
The elegant lounge and terrace has a relatively chap bar - LE15 for a large beer, LE14 for an arak.
The hotel's location is really handy for Cairo's main railway station - Ramses. I walked between the two dragging my suitcase in about 10 minutes.
Its also very suitable for all but the most adicted of impulsive shoppers since all the nearby stores seem to specialise in industrial air compressers, water pumps and fire retardant gauntlets.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and aged ambiance
  • Disliked — plumbing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tsingiwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

I stayed at the Victoria Hotel as part of tour with Intrepid Travel. I stayed there the night before our tour commenced in a single room, and I had a double room booked by our tour group on our last day in Cairo. The single room was small but adequate and the bathroom had hot water. There is no wireless internet conncectivity in the rooms, although the Victoria Hotel has three computers that one can use for about $3/half hour. Make sure that you log off before you leave! The computer room is off to the side of a nice outside patio area. The hotel is within walking distance to the Mubarak Metro stop, which you can take to Mar Girgis if you want to visit Coptic Cairo. The street outside the hotel is chaotic and you take your life into your own hands when crossing it. There is a nice "hole-in-the-wall" falafel place between the Metro and the hotel that was able to give me change for my LE 100 (four falafels cost about 4 LE). There are plenty of taxis outside the hotel that one can take to the airport, Khan al-Khalili souqs, or a local mosque. The decor is old but I found it charming. Overall, a convenient little hotel that is a good price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — outdated decor
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CCC_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

Stayed at the Victoria Hotel for a few nights, and had a good experience of the place. It's close to the Ramses train station which is handy, and there are several restaurants in the vicinity - and we found that we could easily walk down to downtown Cairo. That is - no need to stay at more expensive places on the Nile!

The room was fairly simple, but spacious and clean. The bed was hard as a rock, but no huge problem really. Nice tiled floor (no gross carpet!), TV, large wardrobe and a small bathroom. The toilet was a bit temperamental but again, it was clean - the shower was basic (bath tub), and worked ok (the hot water would not come on one of the days though...). No noise to complain about whatsoever at the hotel, which was great as well. You could, however, hear the calls to prayer at 5am from a couple of different mosques, but it wasn't overbearing - on the contrary, quite exciting and charming.

Nice lobby, outdoor space to sit and enjoy the evenings, and internet. The architecture of the hotel is a quite nice art nouveau style; really nice and different (in comparison to European hotel chains...). There's a shop near the door, which was hardly ever open, but they seemed to have a range of different souvenirs.

The breakfast was simple but ok - no complaints really. There was a mix of different stuff; croissants, breadrolls, pastries, cake, omelettes, cereal, etc + coffee / tea.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and were able to get us a good driver for the day to see the Pyramids of Giza, the Sphinx, Saqqara and Memphis (for E£ 150), which was good as it's hard to know what to go for when you have just arrived.

Overall, a good place to stay at - reasonable prices, good rooms and friendly staff. Simple, but hey, who hangs out in the hotel room all day when you're in Cairo?! Would definitely recommend the place.

  • Liked — The clean, good sized room; an oasis in the middle of the chaos
  • Disliked — The temperamental toilet / shower
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Slumberparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#93 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 66 Al Gumhuriyya, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing