We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (176)
    Filter reviews
    176 results
    Traveller rating
    26
    79
    40
    18
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    26
    79
    40
    18
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscentral bankislamic art museumtv receptiondowntown cairoegyptnescaferamsesroomylaptop
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    74 - 79 of 176 reviews
    Reviewed 27 July 2009

    Very clean, good price, and good service. Within walking distance of train station and metro station. The bathroom in our room is past due for renovation, and we could not adjust the water to a suitable temperature for a shower. It was either freezing or scalding. The breakfast is very basic; bread, cheese, cereal. It seems they could at least offer some fresh fruit and juice. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night, and do not recommend eating there. The menu leaves much to be desired and the food was mediocre at best. No restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood either.

    • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mbzr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 June 2009

    The Victoria is a remarkably-preserved building, of a vintage with the more-famous Windsor, but a world ahead in quality. It's conveniently close to the Downtown and Islamic Cairo attractions, with a Metro stop a couple of blocks away, and it's also well located for the Ramses Train Station and the Cairo Gateway Bu Station.
    The lobby is a good indication of what to expect,with three or four people on the door ata all times, a pleasant reception area, and a really nice sitting area with tables, chairs and couches, and service available from the small and pleasant bar. The sitting room opens into an enclosed garden with seating, and a nice little internet room with four computers and high-speed access. The reception staff speaks fair to excellent English, and they are bright, helpful young people.
    The restaurant serves a good buffet breakfast, and if there are tour groups in, they serve a dinner buffet or set menu as well. The fa la carte menu is decent ,and it's well-served by seasoned waiters who fit the ambience, but it isn't a great place for dinner,
    The rooms are good-sized, with good beds and lots of closet space, and period furnishings. The broad staircases, crown moldings, high ceilings, and wood floors, and the long hallways with their paintings, all give the Victoria elegant atmosphere. The bathrooms are small and dated, but functional and clean.
    The neighborhood is not touristic in the least, as the Victoria is surrounded by blocks of small-equipment sellers and servicers. If you want to buy a drill, hydraulic jack, circular saw or planer, you're in luck, but otherwise, you'll need to walk or cab to less industrial shopping. That said, there's a pleasant square in front, a cineplex next door, and an ATM 100 meters away, and the doormen will have you in a cheap cap in seconds.
    The Windsor is often on offer for less than $50 a double, and for a clean (cleaning staff on every floor), quiet, comfortable, atmospheric, friendly base in a good location, it can't be beat.

    Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank Bima77
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2009

    The Victoria is in an excellent location ten minutes walk from the train station on a street that although busy wasn't really all that bad noise-wise. The rooms were big and airy, furniture was a bit past it's sell by date but was all beautifully cleaned. The beds were slightly on the worn side - a new mattress certainly wouldn't have gone amiss, but maybe some rooms had more comfortable mattresses than others. The bathroom was quite dated - but everything worked - plenty of hot water and towels and quite clean.

    The beer in the bar was very reasonably priced, the wake up call came on time and the breakfast box was ready and waiting at the expected time.

    All in all it was a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price in an excellent location.

    • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank EgyptianGoddess
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 April 2009

    given the high prices of accomodation in cairo, this hotel is a very good choice for someone who wants a clean, comfortable but simple room.
    the rooms were big and clean although the bathroom could be improved.
    interesting decor and good location near the subway and city center.
    being located in a main street, the room was a bit noisy during daytime.
    would go there again!

    • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank ruieines
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 April 2009

    Arrived at about 1 in morning as our flight was delayed by 3 hours. No problems - we were taken to our (very large) twin room which was clean & quiet . Beds were very comfortable and clean and we loved the shutters. Nice TV too so we could watch the news. Bathroom could do with updating but was clean and water fine which is ll we cared about.
    We had dinner in the restaurant both nights of our stay as my daughter (18) was fed up with being harassed!! All freshly cooked and no tummy problems.
    Breakfast was fine too although we stuck to bread and cakes and fruit as we didn't want to risk cold meats. we were happy with what we had - set us up nicely for the day.
    The hotel was in very easy reach of Ramses station and we walked back from the Cairo Tower. Also got underground to Giza (1 Egypt pound each) then the 'bus?!' (same price) to the pyramids and back - what an experience! Particularly liked the 'ladies only' carriages on tube - quick, clean and efficient for about 7p each- Why can't we have the same in England?
    Also used the internet there - no problem.
    All in all very pleased with the hotel and was very reasonable for the price.

    • Stayed: February 2009
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank fatzozo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews