We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money and a taste of British colonial charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #86 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money and a taste of British colonial charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Disliked -
Rooms are obviously ageing somewhat, unsurprisingly. The shower-head is at a strange angle, so showering without flooding the toilet requires some manoeuvring.
The porter was really insistent on taking our luggage. For people not used to travelling in Egypt yet it could be a bit alarming and awkward when the porter waits for 'baksheesh'.
The breakfast was really terrible. Other than hard boiled eggs there was nothing substantial to eat and the staff always got overwhelmed so getting hot water for tea was not easy.

Liked -
A real historical atmosphere. It wouldn't have felt out of place if I run into Poirot in the lounge. Compared to other modern hotels (we also stayed at Radison Blue in Heliopolis for a few days), this hotel was a real bargain. Not only the accommodation is a real bargain, the food and drinks are very reasonably priced too. The fact that it's situated right in the heart of the city was also a huge plus. We were able to venture out by ourselves to local falafel shops (mouth-watering deliciousness at a mere 3 Egyptian pound (EP), compared to Radison Blue's ~220 EP for breakfast for two). We even walked to the Egyptian Museum and the newly opened Islamic Art Museum in Doha (beautiful and highly recommended). It was really interesting to observe the daily lives of local people as we walked off the beaten paths.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geek_in_heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    78
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
15
60
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We upgraded from Downtown to the Victoria after 3 sleepless nights in a grotty budget hotel. Overall we were glad to make the change - our room (406) was as quiet as Cairo can offer, with minimal traffic noise. The room was large and well kept though faded glory would be an apt description. The breakfast was excellent though and the staff friendly - the doormen, porters, cleaners and restaurant staff were especially welcoming.

However, at 58 euro per night it is blatantly over-priced. The bathrooms are tiny and sometime you have to ask for the hot water to be turned on. The reception staff are friendly but unhelpful - every time we asked a question, the answer was "no" and nobody ever went that extra mile to help. I echo another comment that it is unlikely the sheets were ever cleaned, simply straigthened and tucked back in.

The only reason I would recommend this place is beause it's in a superb location just down from the Midan Ramses and the rooms are relatively clean, comfortable and most importantly for us, quiet. However, be prepared for your wallet to be cleared!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamerguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

My partner and I stayed here at the start of our Egypt adventure and were happy we chose to stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt comfortable in the rooms provided. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeebieSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Initial impression was pleasantly surprised. Large room though the AC did not work and the hairdryer had a hole melted in it it got so hot - so not very safe. The shower curtain falling on head was a novel feature.Seemed clean enough. Closer inspection of the bedding, occasioned by the fact the sheets appeared to have paint on them, revealed foodstuff and other oddities, so I wonder, given this hotel appears to have a fast turn over of clientele stopping there prior to more extensive tours, whether a few short cuts are taken.

Food ok if you really not brave enough to venture outside.

Good location in sense central so easy access to the main sites. Would recommend more for someone who needs to use somewhere frequently so you get known and standards can be monitored. Ultimately for backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I found this hotel from the letters of George Bernard Shaw and it hasnt changed much since he went there. If you want the sterility of the sheraton then dont go to the Victoria, but if you like mirrors and mahogany, elegance and ormalou then this is the place. It is a few minutes walk from the station and about 20 minutes walk from the Egyptian museum, so is slightly out of the way. It is a few yards from a metro station, but will not suit those who feel they have to travel everywhere by taxi - I did half a mile in half an hour on the way to the airport!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M33Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We spent three nights at the Victoria before heading off to Luxor and all points south. All in all, it wasn't bad, but it's sad to see such a beautiful old establishment crumbling away. With a bit of inspired management and (sadly) buckets of cash, this could be a gem.

The plus points: the public rooms are cool, spacious, some are newly decorated and it was no hardship to while away a couple of hours there while waiting for our driver; our room was again spacious, simply but nicely furnished and very clean; breakfast was standard fare (pastries and rolls were fresh and good) but no worse than in many more expensive hotels; the bar served beer!
The negatives: the towels were ropey (no need to exfoliate before a visit, ladies...) and the water pressure/temperature erratic; uncomfortable, rock-like, pillows; very few decent places eat in the locality (we ended up one night in a food court beneath a shopping centre downtown!); unless you're very much into buying compressor pumps or auto spares there's little local shopping

Staff were fine and the doormen friendly and helpful. Note that if the hotel's proximity to Ramses Station for the tourist sleeper trains is a factor in your choice of this hotel, tourists are being boarded from Giza station at the moment, not Ramses. I don't know if this is temporary or not.

Top tip for somewhere peaceful in Cairo is El Azhar Park...built on a rubbish tip but providing a green oasis in this frenetic city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel was disgusting, please do not stay here. There were bed bugs in the beds! Disgusting. The towels were like brillo pads. The bathroom was also dirty. The people at the front desk barely spoke english and they were not helpful at all. The breakfast was digusting, and made everyone on our trip sick.

Literally the most disgusting hotel, it's worse than a motel. I would NEVER EVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waifers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#93 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#50 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 66 Al Gumhuriyya, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing