We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated ancient mosques” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islamic Cairo

Islamic Cairo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.48*
and up
Private Islamic Cairo and Tannoura Sufi Dance Show In Wekalet el Ghouri
Ranked #11 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After the Muslims conquered Egypt in 641 AD, they built their city, Al-Fustat, on what is now the southern border of modern Cairo. Today, this section of the city contains many important sites including the Mosque of Sultan Hassan, Mosque of al-Azhar and the Khan al-Khalili market, which is considered the heart of this area.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Renovated ancient mosques”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Islamic Cairo and old Coptic Cairo balance each other. Islamic Cairo is larger and more impressive. I love to wander the streets that hold the mosques of the past. And they are still in use!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hanusa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    141
    30
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“1001 Nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Walking around Islamic Cairo at night is like going back in time walking around the set of 1001 nights. It's magical. So go at night, its perfectly safe and wonderful

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank billydog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A feel for old Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent half a day roaming the streets and alleys of Islamic Cairo, discovering the old culture and life. I started at the Khan-el-Khalili marketplace, which was surprisingly empty probably due to the midday heat and the general lack of tourists in Egypt. The market appeared to be geared towards tourists. I was later told there is a continuation of the market where locals go but it is very crowded. I would have gone if I had known earlier. I walked past these shops geared towards tourists, even though the shopkeepers kept calling out; I had learned to ignore and not show any interest. On the road with the mosques and madrasas, I saw some antique shops selling typewriters and early radios. There were also lots of hookah shops. There is a lot to see and experience in these old alleys, which gives a feel of the culture and life of this old city. Definitely not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dileep_agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Art historian's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cairo has an astonishing variety of Islamic art of all kinds, in particular its architecture. It would take months to see everything, but I would recommend for anyone not over-familiar with this field to start with the Mosque of Hassan, the Mosque of Ibn Tulun and the Mamluk tombs of the Northern Cemetery in particular. A really useful guide is Caroline Williams' book "Islamic Monuments in Cairo" with its helpful itineraries. Alas, the Museum of Islamic Art is closed for extensive repairs at present, but its loss is more than made up for by the wonders that fill the surrounding city. And if it's more books you are after, I recommend the Book Shop at the American University of Cairo, just off Tahrir Square.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DingiswayoStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The city of a thousand minarets, that is what Cairo is called, lots of old mosques dating from different islamic era!1

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jessykaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islamic Cairo also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Islamic Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing