We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN CAIRO”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #19 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN CAIRO”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My son and I stayed here on three separate occasions while we visited Egypt. It is a lovely hotel in a nice, quiet, safe area of Cairo on an island in the embassy district.
All our rooms were quite different but all were very comfortable with modern facilities. Enjoyed having tea/coffee facilities. There are quiet areas in all the different parts, some inside and at least one balcony area which was lovely too.
The breakfasts were wonderful. The diningroom is absolutely gorgeous and there was so much choice in the mornings. I can only eat brown bread and they had wonderful bread, probably because the owner has a German background. There was plenty of fresh fruit, hot food, cereals and yoghurts as well as fuul if you wanted the local dishes and other things.
Leticia was really helpful and friendly when I was booking and also when we added days later on. Everyone was very friendly while we were there and nothing was too much trouble. We felt as though we were leaving friends by the time we left. We were also able to store our luggage there when we went off on a shorter tour which was really helpful. They also organize pick-ups and drop-offs at the airport and the drivers they used were really good and punctual which was really appreciated with the early morning arrivals and departures.
|There was also a set dinner menu but we did not use it as we ate at different places in the local district but the menu looked pretty good.
The internet access was excellent and free and this was not always the case in our travels in Egypt.
Would definitely recommend staying here while you're in Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
238
83
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We found this hotel to be very nice, the rooms were clean and well done. It was a 3/4* quality. the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. the staff was so incredibly helpful in writing down locations for us, helping us find taxis and making dinner reservations. The location was central enough, but in a neighborhood that felt safe. I would definitely stay here again if coming back to Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really laid back with decent rooms and a wonderful location in Zamalek.

The owner (a not so nice lady) has a serious attitude issue. One request she doesn't like and you'll wonder how anyone allows her to interface with a guest. Terrible arrogance.

Can't say the same about the staff though. They are all very helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Fabulous stay - 10/10 Hotel Longchamps and so glad we chose to stay here.

Hotel is set in a quiet part of town with excellent rooms, very clean and tidy. Very full breakfast and all round great value. All the staff could not have helped more in making our stay a pleasant one and went over and above to help with safety and general advice.

Having stayed in hotels around the world, this is among the very best! Their attention to service and customer satisfaction is remarkable. If you are planning a trip to Cairo then chose to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert241056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A simple hotel, with very good service. Clean rooms and comfortable bed. The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood, being on an island. It has very quiet, quaint cobbled streets around.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellernot2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bon Aqua, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. The food was excellent. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Seeing the unrest now, I'm glad we went when we did. The city of Cairo does have an air quality issue, however. We coughed Egypt out of our lungs for two weeks after returning home.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Longchamps is is a lovely, intimate, boutiquey-type hotel with very friendly service. Ideally located in Zamalek, all major Cairo attractions are within easy reach.

Email correspondence with the Longchamps was friendly, informative and rapid. The only disappointment was not being able to stay here for our two nights in Cairo as they were fully booked the first night - but it was worth moving to, and we were able to drop our bags off first thing in the morning before heading out for a day of sightseeing. When we returned, the bags were in our room and check-in took only a few minutes.

We really enjoyed strolling around this lovely area, which was safe and clean, and it was a lovely escape from the hustle bustle of Cairo - even though it is very central. (While we didn't use their airport transfer service due to logistics, the prices they offer are lower than any others I saw.)

Highly recommended for those who, like me, eschew the larger chain hotels and prefer smaller places with more character. Given the choice, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cairo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubakjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#50 of 137 in Cairo
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talisman Hotel de Charme
7.7 mi away
Villa Belle Epoque
Villa Belle Epoque
#38 of 137 in Cairo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing