We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Quiet Location!”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Value and Quiet Location!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Given the press that Cairo receives internationally, it is nice to know that if you should find yourself in that city, there is a haven of peace and safety where you can turn. And it is affordable! Hebba runs an amazing hotel in Zamalek, which is a neighborhood that is itself an oasis of relative calm. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds. Some have views of the nearby apartment buildings, but there never was a noise issue from them. The breakfast was good, and the food-serving facilities were clean. Wi-fi worked well. We also had the management help book us a driver to take us out to the various pyramid sites and this was a good decision that helped keep us within our budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    148
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
239
83
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A cosy hotel in zamelek, nothing fancy but decent. Nice terraces on both sides of the floor. There are big differences in the quality of the rooms, some are renovated and nice, others are older and less nice. Owner of the hotel is very welcoming, but tends to interfere in her guests personal matters a bit too much!. Popular under Germans.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kri_Kri_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is my 4th time staying here in the last 2 years.

There is nothing not to recommend about it.

The service could not be better, it is close to loads of restaurants and bars (even a super cheap and delicious koshary joint around the corner) the wi-fi Internet is good and free.

The rooms are all recently redecorated.

They are awesome, time and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in the executive corner room of with a view of the city in mid-November for three nights. The price was excellent when compared with other hotels in Cairo. It offers free wi-fi and free morning breakfast that more than met our needs. Hotel Longchamps is located in a safe area and is centrally located. It has a lot of charm and the staff, especially Letizia Riccardi, was both friendly and accommodating. Our departure flight to Paris was early and with the curfew in affect we could not use our previously planned transportation in the morning. They made all of the arrangements for pickup and transportation to the airport. They even offered to provide us with a boxed breakfast meal instead of eating airplane food. The hotel had many sitting areas that looked very nice, but unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyansFather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My son and I stayed here on three separate occasions while we visited Egypt. It is a lovely hotel in a nice, quiet, safe area of Cairo on an island in the embassy district.
All our rooms were quite different but all were very comfortable with modern facilities. Enjoyed having tea/coffee facilities. There are quiet areas in all the different parts, some inside and at least one balcony area which was lovely too.
The breakfasts were wonderful. The diningroom is absolutely gorgeous and there was so much choice in the mornings. I can only eat brown bread and they had wonderful bread, probably because the owner has a German background. There was plenty of fresh fruit, hot food, cereals and yoghurts as well as fuul if you wanted the local dishes and other things.
Leticia was really helpful and friendly when I was booking and also when we added days later on. Everyone was very friendly while we were there and nothing was too much trouble. We felt as though we were leaving friends by the time we left. We were also able to store our luggage there when we went off on a shorter tour which was really helpful. They also organize pick-ups and drop-offs at the airport and the drivers they used were really good and punctual which was really appreciated with the early morning arrivals and departures.
|There was also a set dinner menu but we did not use it as we ate at different places in the local district but the menu looked pretty good.
The internet access was excellent and free and this was not always the case in our travels in Egypt.
Would definitely recommend staying here while you're in Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We found this hotel to be very nice, the rooms were clean and well done. It was a 3/4* quality. the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. the staff was so incredibly helpful in writing down locations for us, helping us find taxis and making dinner reservations. The location was central enough, but in a neighborhood that felt safe. I would definitely stay here again if coming back to Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really laid back with decent rooms and a wonderful location in Zamalek.

The owner (a not so nice lady) has a serious attitude issue. One request she doesn't like and you'll wonder how anyone allows her to interface with a guest. Terrible arrogance.

Can't say the same about the staff though. They are all very helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#42 of 138 in Cairo
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#51 of 138 in Cairo
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.0 mi away
Talisman Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing