We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Longchamps for one night and could not have found a nicer hotel centrally located on Zamalek. It has charm, warmth and a friendly atmosphere. The staff are always smiling, helpful and welcoming. The room was newly refurbished and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable bed and the bathroom very stylish with all amenities in place. The breakfast was good and had a nice selection of cereals, bread, spreads, fresh fruit and cheeses. It's location is ideal for any trip within and out of Cairo.I would recomend Hotel Longchamps to anyone visiting Cairo, be it the first or one of many visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
238
83
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my second time staying at Hotel Longchamps and even though a few things weren't perfect, I was so glad I chose to stay here again. It really just feels like home, and Hebba is always there with a huge smile and overflowing energy to welcome you at the end of the hallway.

When I came back from a busy and stressful day in Cairo, there was a real flower arrangement in a vase on my desk, and the chair was pulled out slightly. The bed was turned down, my laundry was perfectly folded and placed at the end of the bed, and everything showed such care. That totally made my day.

The breakfast is generally a little stale and cold, but I love the classical music and the juices are really good. My room was a little stuffy, but it aired out quickly. There is no iron or hair dryer but oh well - maybe you can get them at the desk, I didn't bother asking. I was traveling with a lot of cash and even though there were signs advising against it, I just left it all in my suitcase when I went out because I trust Hebba and her staff completely.

I will definitely be back next time.

Room Tip: wi-fi can be spotty but i haven't figured out the secret of where it's best. if fast wi-fi i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Cairo is loud, busy and overwhelming. Hotel Longchamps in Zamalek is an unassuming quiet retreat. The accommodations were clean, the breakfast spread is surprisingly generous and delicious, and the staff is friendly, professional and welcoming. We were so thankful to find our choice of hotel relative to other options in Cairo!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Longchamps is perfect for people who aren't into big impersonal chain hotels but are looking for more of a homely yet comfortable option. The guesthouse is located in a backstreet of Zamalek - a charming little area to explore in its own right. Our room was spacious and light, with what appeared to be a recently refurbished bathroom, the bed was comfortable, there was a balcony and the room was quiet. Hebba, the owner was friendly and helpful and obviously goes to great lengths to ensure the place runs smoothly. The public sitting areas were lovely and the breakfast was good. All in all, Longchamps ticked a lot of boxes for us. The only thing I would say that could improve the place even more is that in parts it is a bit dark. The place could do with a little brightening up - nothing a coat of some brighter colored paints wouldn't fix - more in line with the colors in the dining area. Mango and Cherry was what came to my mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I were walk-ins and stayed at the Longchamps for two nights in April 2014. Ms. Bakry, the owner, is very welcoming and accommodating. We immediately fell for the place thanks to her hospitality and professionalism. She also speaks four languages fluently: Arabic, English, French and German. The staff are very helpful and very polite, and don't interfere with your business.

We stayed in Room 5. It's a standard room with a king bed, a private spotless bathroom with a shower, and has access to a beautiful terrace that's shared with another room. Other rooms have baths so you can ask if that's what you want. Having Al-Jazeera English among other channels was very helpful given that my husband is a photojournalist. The room also has a small fridge, an AC, an electronic safe, and amazing WiFi service. Our room was very quiet, the bed very comfortable, and we slept like babies when we drew the curtains.

Breakfast is served between 7 am and 10 am, and is pretty good. They serve eggs, the traditional fava beans (foul), sausages, butter, jams, honey, fruits, different kinds of bread.. etc. Many delicious fresh juices are also served.

All in all, we loved the place and would highly recommend it to anyone.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When we tried to book online, the hotel always came up as fully booked. When we asked the owner about it after we got there, she clarified that she's NOT on Booking.com or any other similar online booking service. So we highly encourage people to email or call the hotel to make sure there are available rooms. Trust me, it will be worth your while.

Love from Lebanon

Room Tip: Call or email the hotel to book a room as it's not on any online booking service. It's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naziha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I feel so lucky to have found this hotel on TA!
I stayed here with two friends the first weekend in March at the end of our trip around Egypt. It was a nice touch of luxury after staying in B&B's. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, with a good size bathroom and powerful shower. We stayed in executive rooms and surprisingly, the only thing missing were tissues. There was an extensive continental breakfast in a lovely dining room and I really couldn't fault the place at all. In fact, I wished I had booked a longer stay.

The hotel is so quiet that it was hard to believe we were in Cairo. The roads are tree lined and there are plenty of local restaurants.

The staff were very professional and we met the owner, Ms Bakkri, briefly before she left on a trip. We found her to be extremely pleasant and very concerned that everything was satisfactory. I think that past comments about her have clearly been misunderstandings. As a regular visitor to Germany, I believe that she is the typical German hostess, efficient, direct and concerned about the comfort of her guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Longchamps, while vacationing in Egypt, in February of 2014. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is extremely helpful and always willing to answer any questions. Hebba, the owner of the hotel, runs a very tight ship, and it shows... everything was immaculately clean, even the floors of the outdoor terraces. I highly recommend the Hotel Longchamps. The hotel is conveniently located near many shops and restaurants, all withing walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelwild327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing