We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nine nights without complaint”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My wife and I stayed 9 nights at Longchamps during Mar/Apr 09 during our 30 days in Egypt. For me food is important, so Longchamps satisfied that requirement with a nice buffet breakfast each morning. Heba, the owner and her able assistant Andrea were perfect hosts, providing very clean, comfortable rooms and advice. They run an efficient, honest no nonsense hotel, more making it seem more European than Egyptian. I couldn't help but sense that there was a heavy female influence in the decor, which gives Longchamps a soft comfortable feel. Even though it's located on the 6th floor of building on a tree lined street in Zamalek, an upscale neighborhood on an island of the same name in the middle of the Nile, there are at least two plant crowded patio balconies along with plants and flowers scattered throughout. Location wise, Zamalek is aways from the action downtown, but there's an upside to that, no touts as you walk out onto the street. Travel tip: walk out to the street, go left and a block before the Flamenco Hotel on the right is a Metro Supermarket (downstairs in the basement). It's good for hot food take out. You can put together a decent lunch or dinner for less than 20 LE.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

We showed up at Hotel Longchamps with no reservations so we were lucky we got a room. Four rooms actually, since inorder to accommodate us, we had to move 4 of the 5 nights we were there (our fault for not calling ahead, not theirs) so we got to sampe several of their rooms. All the rooms were clean and well maintained. Only one had some shower fixture trouble, but we were told they would be renovating it in the coming months. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful in putting us up and setting us up with drivers and directions. There are plenty of common spaces to relax in there and a restaurant that has good food, if a bit expensive. The free breakfast was good. There is free internet also. Heba, the owner/manager was very personable and accessible to talk to. The rooms were quiet and the bathrooms clean. It's a bit out of the way from the attractions, such as the old city and museum, but that's good if you like it quiet and don't mind a little walk in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebruddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My partner and l stayed here for 5 nights on a city break. When we go for a beach holiday we always go for 4/5 star but when we go to a city we look for good value because we aim to spend as little time as possible in the hotel. In that regard we were delighted with our choice of The Longchamps.
We had gone to join friends who were going on a Nile cruise and were starting their vacation with a few days in Cairo. They were staying in The Marriott as part of their organised tour and we joined them there on several occasions. There is no doubt it is a superior hotel in terms of facilities, luxury, pool etc etc, but honestly the hotel could have been anywhere, it looked just like any other Marriott. It had lots of restaurants but they were hardly a slice of Old Cairo. The hotel is designed for people who want to see the mains sites at arms length, travelling from site to site in air-conditioned comfort, and then returning to the familiar for their evening meal. What we did appreciate was the view from our friends' 16th floor balconey which overlooked the Nile, a great place for a nightcap.
Given the massive difference in price there is no question that we would recommend the Longchamps for the intrepid traveller.
Our view of the hotel is similar to other reviewers. The initial impression as you enter the dingy ground floor and get in the rickety lift is one of apprehension, but this is the consequence of being in a shared tenancy building, you only control your own space. When you emerge on the fifth floor you breathe a sigh of relief at the oasis of calm and friendliness that greats you.
The place is a little tired but is very clean, the staff are extremely helpful, and breakfast is adequate (cereal, yoghurt, meat, cheese, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes, toast, fruit juice, coffee/tea every day)
A big plus is the taxi service they provide to and from the airport at £75Egyptian and the day rate they offer for going to Saqarra and Giza at £150E - book in advance with them.
All other travel can be done by going on to the street and getting one of the well-worn black and white taxis that are everywhere at all times of day and night. The hotel will tell you what price you should be charged for different places and we managed to achieve this without too much trouble. For multi-site excursions just take individual taxis, its very easy.
We were recommended great restaurants by the hotel. We went with our friends to Abou el Said on 26th July Street and it had had great Egyptian food, lively atmosphere, unique decor, and was full of local people depite being less than 5 minutes walk from the Marriott. You do need to book early. It is a great find because it lies behind a great wooden door with only a small plaque on the wall outside to tell you it is there.
Nearby Abou el Said is another great restaurant we went to called La Bodega. This a more elegant experience and has an eclectic mix of European, Chinese and Middle Eastern themes.
On our final night we were recommended by a local to go to "The best fish restaurant in Cairo". It was called Kadoura on 26th July Street. We were the only non-local people in a restaurant spanning three floors. On the ground floor they have a huge display of fresh fish wonderfully presented on a wall of ice, plus large glass tanks containg all manner of shellfish. You choose what fish you want and how you want it cooked. We tried lots of different things and it was all delicious and good value. This restaurant does not serve alcohol.
As well as the obvious sites our favourite day out was a visit to the Islamic Cairo area where few westerners go. The one mile walk between Bab Zuweila gate and the Northern walls along Sharia Al-Muizz Li-Dinn Allah reveals a miriad of architectural treasures, hundreds or even thousands of years old. There are countless side streets selling all manner of things. Of course people will try and sell you things, but my partner and l never felt threatened or unsafe once. People were very charming, especially if you could use a few words of Arabic. The medieval bazaar of Khan al-Khalili is just one highlight along the route. You are welcome to go in the mosques just remember to dress appropriately. We loved the old Islamic merchant houses of Beit as-Suhaymi built in 1648 and 1796. They are wonderfully preserved and give a real insight to life at that time with their separate male and female areas.
We also enjoyed visiting the Coptic Cairo area with its very ancient Christian churches and its 8th century synagogue. The highlight there was the Coptic Museum which, with the exception of the Tutankhamun collection, we enjoyed more than the Egyptian museum.
Our final recommendation would be to go and see one of the oldest and largest mosques in Egypt, the Mosque of Ibn Tulun, but most especially the Gayer-Anderson museum that is attached. It is composed of a 16th and 17th century pair of houses joined together and wonderfully restored by an Englishman in the 1930's and it contains a treasure trove of surprises. We loved it!
Travelling around Cairo is often a frenetic experience, but we have tried to highlight some quiet areas to take a time-out to recover, and staying at The Longchamps would come in to that category. So save some money by avoiding the large-chain hotels and use the savings to throw yourself into the real Egypt. experience. We are glad we did, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PharmaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

you kind of get a sketchy feeling walking into the hotel, it being on the 5th floor of a business complex away from main downtown cairo, and when you get into that rickety elevator you're not sure what you've gotten yourself into. but as soon as i got off the elevator, the lady at the front desk greeted me by name, let me check in early, and i even got an upgrade to the room i reserved. all this was done with a great attitude and smile, wonderful to see after a long flight, and after you've already been harassed by taxi drivers and touts on the rest of your journey in. rooms are clean, with a nice balcony, and the free wi-fi is always a great asset for a hotel. only thing that is a shame is that the taxi driver had no idea where it was, and it's not near the metro. but it's easy to hail a cab in front of the hotel, even at 5am when i needed to get to the airport. oh, and they gave me a nice breakfast box since i missed breakfast on the day i left. not a five star hotel, but in my mind, the perfect place to stay. would recommend to anyone. =)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dethman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed at the Longchamps based solely on TripAdvisor reviews, and we're glad we did. I understand why folks have given the hotel a 5-rating; it's the kind of place that you want to root for. The staff is second to none. You will feel welcome, safe, and at peace in a city that's most likely far, far different than your own.

I struggled with the 4-rating, but found it a good compromise. By conventional Western standards, Longchamps is a 3-star hotel in a 2-star property. On the other hand, Cairo is an unconventional place for most tourists. The hotel has the feel of someone's old, well cared after home. You're not even there until you've walked through a dirty building lobby and ascended five floors in a tiny, early-to-mid-20th century elevator. Backtracking slightly on the above 'safe' comment, I held my breath a couple times during jumpy elevator episodes. Once you reach the 5th floor, there is a beautiful silence you will have not experienced all day.

For the most part, previous reviews put my expectations in check. However, I was disappointed with the shower, as the temperature yoyo'd from hot to cold every ten seconds or so. Adjusting the control only accentuated the disliked extreme, and the tiny space made it impossible to simply move out of the way. So needless to say, showers were quick. We heard another guest complain about this upon his check-out.

The daily breakfast was excellent. Served from 7-10am, it's more than enough to make you feel ready to face the day. There were numerous internet routers throughout the hotel, providing a decent wifi signal. If you can get a room with a balcony, do it. It was a good place to enjoy a cup of coffee and listen to the students at the school across the street as they socialized respectfully outside. We also put out shoes to dry after the sands of Giza and Saqqara were washed off.

The quirkiness came with the elevators, the confusing maze of rooms and stairways, and their policy of leaving your room key at the front desk when you leave the hotel for any length of time. The keys are attached to tennis ball sized wooden knobs. You wouldn't want to carry that all day anyways.

Use their airport car service. It's an unbeatable value at 75 EGP for what will be a 45-60 minute drive. If the driver asks you to sit up front and pretend to be his friend, don't worry. The airport police like to check licenses and refuse to return them until bribes are paid. We also used their driver for 8 hours to Giza, Saqqara and Memphis at a cost of only 150 EGP. I disliked the pushy perfume salesman he took us to in order to arrange a camel ride. You're best off going directly into the Pyramids complex and arranging a short camel ride with one of the touts. The largest concentration seemed to be at the base of the Khafre Pyramid. For longer rides, stick with a horse.

Honestly, we have no desire to ever return to Cairo, but if we did, we'd again stay at Longchamps.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyleSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

The Hotel Longchamps is an unexpected refuge in a loud, dusty city. The staff was superb in every aspect- even opening up the kitchen to cook us a late dinner! (The food then and at the breakfast buffet was very good.) Our room was very large with a small balcony, and the bathroom (all in marble) was huge. Everything was immaculate, and we were thrilled with our stay there. From the time I made the reservation until we checked out, everything went smoothly.
In retrospect, I would request a room in the back. Although the hotel is located on a relatively quiet street, you could still hear some street noise. (Not enough to keep me awake after a busy day though!) Also, watch out for the water temperature in the shower- ours would waiver from extremely hot to warm. Other than that small detail, the Hotel Longchamps was perfect and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeyfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Staying here for four weeks, this year and two weeks last year I feel I had an opportunity of a lifetime. All of the positives mentioned in other reviews are absolutely correct. I was also able to observe another phenomenon of this expertly-run hotel - that of the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of Hebba and her staff - from Andrea and Yasser in reception, to the friendly, efficient waiters and cleaning staff and night staff. After staying once in a five star Cairene hotel for five nights, the comparison was striking - at Longchamps staff don't have forced smiles on their faces - they are genuine and interested in their visitors. What a fabulous place - thank you Hebba and staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulfillingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 141 in Cairo
605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Riad Hotel de charme
Le Riad Hotel de charme
#49 of 141 in Cairo
68 reviews
2 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 141 in Cairo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#41 of 141 in Cairo
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#43 of 141 in Cairo
350 reviews
0 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#59 of 141 in Cairo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £56 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing