We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for an extended stay”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #21 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Bronxville, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great place for an extended stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We spent 4 weeks at the Longchamps, and it was like staying with family. From Heba the owner, to Yassir the desk clerk and Ali the breakfast room manager, we found everyone welcoming and lovely. The Longchamps is more like a very nice B&B than a hotel, in my opinion, and although it is always very highly rated on Trip Advisor (with good reason), it will not satisfy those looking for a large and fancy hotel. Some people appear to be put off by the lobby and the ancient elevator, but once upstairs at the Longchamps, you are in a different world. We also appreciated the terrace where we sat out for gin and tonic on more than one occasion.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SquashMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
238
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Hotel Longchamps is located in a nice area in Zamalek. It is conveniently located near restaurants, grocery stores, shops and laundromats. Our guide found it difficult to find.The hotel room was clean, and the showers were hot. The breakfast was good they provided various breads, cheeses, sliced meat, fruit and hot drinks.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I stayed at Hotel Long Champs from Sept 2-5 and it was a wonderful stay. I stayed in a standard room- very beautiful. Satellite Tv with some English channels that were great, AC was lovely, comfortable bed, great bathroom. The water pressure is great! Also, very affortable.

The presentation, quality and taste of the breakfast was amazing! Very stylish and beautiful. I loved the yogurt and chocolate crossaints! They also had pancakes, eggs and lots of other stuff.

Its close by some supermarkets and shops that sell American products as well, Hardees, Pizza Hut.

Great stay and wonderful staff. Thanks Hebba and staff!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed here for a 4 night break because of the reviews on tripadvisor, we had arranged a pick up from the airport which was great and the driver was there waiting for us when we arrived. The Hotel is on the small Island in the Nile, and is on the top floor of a converted block. It is not much to look at from the outside, but once you have taken the Lift, (see other reviews for this) the hotel is a clean quite oasis in the hustle of Cairo. We had booked an executive room which either we didn't get our wasn't quite up to the hype we had read about in previous reviews, but was large clean and had a outside terrace (sadly the only views were the walls of the surrounding tightly networked buildings). Which was nice until we realised that we shared this terrace with the room next door which was a shock when we opened the door one day to find a couple sitting out there, in only their underwear, although in their defence, they did not expect us to walk out on them either. The breakfast is very good by Egyptian standards, and catered to all. We ate one night in the hotel, opting for the Hotel Special 3 Course Set Dinner, which was a disappointment as it was supposed to be a 3 course meal, but only one course came with a plate of what we thought was a dip, although not even bread was supplied for this, so we left it alone. What food was served was good but service slow and the dinning room very dark. Hebba had a party that night at her home so we think this was the problem with dinner service on this evening.

Although the comments above sound negative, over all the Hotel was a great find, the Reception staff were helpful, very friendly, welcoming , and on the ball. Hebba is an attentive hostess and is frequently seen chatting with guests to ensure that they are satisfied with their stay, if you do not meet her in person during your stay, I would be surprised. Her attentiveness gives you the impression you were staying with a relative in their own home.
The hotel has some wonderful balcony's to sit and chill after the hassle of Cairo. And for the price it exceeds all expectations. Hebba doesn't allow you to tip the staff which is great but service as said can be slow. The area around the hotel is safe and quiet, with a supermarket at the end of the road that the staff sent us too. There are plenty of restaurants and a Starbucks just around the corner which is great for a late night coffee, we took a stroll in the early hours to get iced coffee from Starbucks and felt very safe. The area holds a lot of Foreign Embassy's so is clean and upmarket.

If going back to Cairo I would definitely stay here again, for all its faults it is obvious that everything that you have an issue with is addressed and is improved on.
Hebba asked us questions about what we thought could be improved to enhance our stay, including everything from which brands of toiletries to have in the bathrooms to the flowers on the table. Obviously this type of attention to detail is something she prides herself upon.

If available they can book a taxi to take you on day trips at a set price which is very worth while.

It does deserve to be number 2 in this listing as it is a private hotel, trying to be the best it can, and it shows throughout.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRYNSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed in Longchamps for 3 nights after staying in two other Cairo Hotels; we had to leave (we were booked on a tour, which stayed at the Marriott) - we have far preferred to remain at Longchamps than go to the Marriott. The staff are helpful but unobtrusive; tipping is not allowed; the proprietress, Hedda, runs the hotel very efficiently. There is a balcony at the front and an open-air terrace at the back - both on the fifth floor. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel and a free computer to use near the terrace.
The rooms vary - we stayed in two of them and they were both fine. The breakfast provided was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bensonsanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Wonderful hotel with a great breakfast. I loved the communal areas. They were very homely and spacious and there were various books which you could pick up and read. At night it was even prettier since candles were lit in the halls and it was really nice to relax on the balconies in the evening when it was cooler out. They even had free internet which we could use on their comp or on our own which was nice since I hadn't had free internet or even internet in the other hotels I stayed at.
Our only complaint was that their restaurant was not serving dinner when we were there. It was only a problem since my boyfriend, unfortunately, was sick with a fever and ear ache while we stayed there and we had to venture out to get food. It's not a problem since there are many nice restaurants in Zamelek but my b/f really didn't feel like leaving the hotel at night.
I have to address some issues which the poster below me said because I think she has forgotten that she left US soil, is in a third world country, and the hotel has only 3 stars not 5. In many countries crepes are called pancakes and actually the American pancakes are unheard of in most other places, plus I think crepes are far better than American pancakes.
About the elevator, the floors are supposed to fall a few inches. It’s the weighing system of old elevators and since it knows people are inside you have to close the door. When there is no one inside than it’ll go without the doors being closed. It’s a safety feature not something that’s broken.
Around the corner there is the tiniest store that’s the size of a cupboard which has a really nice salesman which will sell you big bottles of water for about 2 pounds (the cheapest water we found in all of Egypt) so we had no water complaints.
I do agree about the shower, it could have better pressure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

This is the only place we stayed in Cairo, but I doubt you would get more value at the major hotels. Longchamps has 30 rooms, so it did not seem as personal for us as many reviews stated.
Arrange a driver through the hotel ahead of time for day trips as they will probably all be booked when you arrive.
The breakfast is quite good, but if you take a breakfast box to go (available if you leave before breakfast begins) don't expect much.
Room #15, a standard room, seemed bigger and better than the more expensive Executive room we were shown.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#52 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing