We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotus Hotel
Ranked #57 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had a fabulous stay in this great little hotel. Set in a quiet side street very close to the cairo museum the tahrir square , it was a perfect base from which to explore the city. It was comfortable, clean and quiet and the staff couldn't have been more helpful,
they really treat you as guests ,especially the sttaf at night .
just the taxi driver to the airport trayed to charge extra money even i had paied at the hotel.
the water could have run stronger in the shower and some things didn't always work perfectly, but this is not a western style five star hotel (thanks allah). What it lacked in amenities it more than made up for in character,
Stayed jun 2013, travelled alone...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elhoussaine a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
13
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I know this hotel for years and years, and I expected that the management would improve the quality of the service....but still they stay at the same level (low). Just as an example: they do not provide hot water before 8:00 am and after 11:00 am. This si not very comfortable for the customers. The management is very sympathetic and the hotel is well located...but still no improvement.

Room Tip: The price is correct but with hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CP69005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Lotus is something of an institution in Cairo. Polished, first of all, it is most certainly not. It's very dark, strategically atmospheric, and crumbling in a rather decorous sort of a way. English is sporadically spoken, the decor is pure 1880-1950 and there's a good chance of spotting an impoverished archaeologist or two (probably me) when you are there. It is very near to Tahrir Square, the main museum and an area of nice shisha bars, shops and the like. The rooms are fairly clean (although a cockroach is not impossible...), with rather stark decor, rustic en suite bathrooms and ancient AC units that have to be handled with caution (and are very noisy - turn off when you go to sleep). It's a good base for Cairo exploration as long as you aren't too persnickety!

Room Tip: The hotel is a long way up so there are no problem with noise. You might want to choose a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LSO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very nice and romantic place situated in the heart of Cairo. the staff is really caring and ready to help you. Cheap fares. Thanks for the amazing experience! It will be my must to go place for the next trip to Cairo

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraForza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I made a reservation throw booking.com for the lotus hotel and it was very nice stay for me the hotel is very safe ,clean breakfast is good for me cheats was changed every day I will alwayes come back to the lotus for sure

Room Tip: the back side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maged a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I loved this hotel. It was what I would call shabby chic. Yes the hotel is a long way from its former Glory days of the 1940s but it is truly like walking into a history vault. I loved the original decor. My room was clean, and the old woman who worked there did my laundry and had it back the next day for around 20 pounds, that is around 4 dollars. A free breakfast was included and I loved the French coffee that I was served every morning. The waiter, an older gentleman was kind and very charming. The only people that got on my nerves is the people that run the front desk but that was only towards the end of my stay.

This hotel is great option for women traveling alone. It is very very safe and you will not be bothered or hit upon by the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michellemybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I read about the lotus in trip advisor and stayed there for 2 night the room was clean the sheets was changed every day the staff was very helpful they arranged a taxi to pick me up from the airport and a tour to Giza it went ok the breakfast is good the hotel is safe enough for me to stay .for sure I will come back to the lotus in my way back from Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
African House Hotel
African House Hotel
#59 of 137 in Cairo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 137 in Cairo
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 137 in Cairo
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Museum House Hotel
Museum House Hotel
#47 of 137 in Cairo
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel

Property: Lotus Hotel
Address: 12 Talat Harb, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Lotus Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing