We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel if your journey brings you to Nasr City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Ranked #2 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
507 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Great hotel if your journey brings you to Nasr City”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Cairo is one of these cities where location counts a lot. The IC Citystars is close to the airport (about 10 minutes with no traffic) but far from downtown (about 20 km that means between 30 and 60 minutes drive depending on the traffic). If your journey is bringing you on this part of the city, then the IC Citystars is the right choice.

Smooth checking in and nice upgrade to a suite provided I accepted to be in the "other building". No issue. The hotel is actually occupying one side of the Citystars mall (largest one in Egypt). It is made of two towers separated by the large swimming pool area that includes restaurants' terraces. Each of the towers area have however their own entry and a reception desk. The "other" building is actually made of only suites.

Room was therefore quite nice: a living room with a small open kitchen (including a Nespresso machine - very important :-)), a bedroom with a balcony and a small bathroom. Clean, large, nice. Free wifi was also provided.

Many restaurants are available, all good (I tried the Japanese and the Lebanese ones). Breakfast buffet was very nice (one in each tower).

Large and nice swimming pool area. Great health-club.

During the week-ends, many Cairo people are coming during the day to enjoy the swimming pool and in the evening to enjoy the nice area and the good music.

Staff was also great.

All together, a great experience I can only recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Swissdiver,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing these extremely motivational comments to the entire team. I am very happy that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one. It has always been our aim. I have shared your comments with the team members and we are all looking forward welcoming you back to the InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Kind Regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Director Of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    329
    77
    32
    26
See reviews for
219
173
94
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

It was my Wedding Anniversary, where i decided to spend that night at the Intercontinental City stars and i do a reservation for a double room.
When checking in, they surprised me that they upgrade my double room to a suite for free !!!!!
The stuff was helpful, only in 2 minutes i was check in, less than 5 minutes my luggage was up to my suite, the housemen is always there and the insist helper was always ready to answer any questions and was very helpful.
The suite was fantastic, Comfortable & Charming, what ever you need is there, well furnished, up to date technology, nice Kitchener, full bathroom supplies & amenities.
The pool was so nice, clean and quiet. Water was worm and we enjoy our swimming with my little daughter who is 2 years old and what is important is the presence of guards for a swimming pool who follow young children while they are playing and swimming in the pool.
In general, it was really a fantastic day and stay for me, my wife and
my little daughter. Thanks Intercontinental and we will come again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear mmz04,

Congratulations and all the best on your 1st anniversary. We are really delighted to be your destination during a special event as such.

Kindly note that I have shared all your below comments with all the team who were very happy that they made your stay a memorable one.

Looking Forward welcoming you back at your second home in Cairo.

Kindest Regards,


Ahmed Azmy
Director Of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Life style is the best gym in Cairo. it make good the people that they work there especially Karim the Duty Manager and Mona from the Reception they are the most helpful and doing they work very professional.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedMansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
Dear Mr. tgoeldenitz,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. I have shared your comments with Karim and Mona who were very appreciative.
I am looking forward meeting you in person soon. I would recommend you as well to try and enjoy our wide variety of dinning option as well as accommodation.
As a LifeStyles Health Club and Spa member we have tailored you special promotions and packages. Please feel free to contact me personally or Rabih El Maleh our Club manager for any further details.

Kindest Regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

hallo every body, i actually wanna say it is a nice hotel, i used to go to many hotels, here in cairo, but that one is the best,, really a lot of services, and a lot of restaurants, and nice bar, and every time they made promotions, as long as they try to keep their record,
the stuff here is very friendly as my experience with hilton ramsis and some other hotels,, helton ramsis and other hotels were going to judge u from your appearance, and treat u like a donkey holds money and wanna have all these money from u,, but here in the intercontinental, they treat u gently and what ever u want, u will find the good price and the good food and suitable for all the travelers, and also the locals,
esplanade restaurant and bellini bar "especially Thursday, friday, and saterday = amazing band,, u will love them as they are friendly and charming" ,,and the fyrouz," where it takes u to the myth of the arabian nights with the belly dancer and delicious arabic food" , are the best places there,, and the gym is nice,, except that they have some issues in the hydro pool,, it is a nice one, but there is an issue in the water jets and the air system in it, and also the electronic equipments there need some fixing, and i heard they are going to replace them, and i hope they have done it already, what else, yeah.
they are having salsa and oriental dance classes there and plates and power plate machine,, and i would like to let them make more classes for dance,
and for some fun, they are having at 10 am a aerobic class in the pool, and that needs a lot of effort, not for some one lazy like me :)..
over all it is a great opportunity to stay in that hotel and even to have a day use of their facilities, and i hope they can introduce that in the future, and u will never forget your stay in it at all,

Room Tip: take the swimming pool view, in the towers,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundas_egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Mr. Dundas_Egypt,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am very delighted to receive your review as it is very motivational to the team who is working hard on tailoring a unique guest experience for every individual guest.
In regards to your comments about the hydro pool, kindly be informed that it will not go unnoticed and we are currently working on rectifying all the mentioned comments to provide our guests with the best Health Club and SPA in town.
I am happy that you got the opportunity to try most of our facilities and restaurants. Next time you visit us, I would recommend that you try Shogun our Japanese restaurant. At Shogun Japanese restaurant you can enjoy our Sushi, Teppanyaki, Sashimi, and much more, you can be seated on one of our Japanese live-cooking tables, or at the Sushi Bar.
Looking forward welcoming you back at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Kindest Regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

This was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in - ever. Just perfect for access to the airport (by taxi - 10 minutes at 06.00 hrs but up to 20 minutes later in the day). Access to the downtown areas is much more difficult from this hotel - you would be better advised to stay in a hotel in central Cairo for access to Tahrir square and the pyramids - the Cairo traffic is truly horrendous.

The staff at this intercontinental were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too difficult. The accomodation was clean, spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent in the two restaurants we sampled. Breakfast buffet was very good too.

Very good pool amenities with easy access to the City Stars mall (with 640 shops) from inside the hotel. Shop until you drop !!

We had no complaints and would happily stay here again. Well done Intercontinental City Stars.

Room Tip: Use this hotel for access to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Mr. MarkSouth,

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate very much your comments. Next time you visit us, please contact the concierge for any tours or sightseeing and he will be able to arrange for transportation and tours in off peak timings as well as some directional recommendation to save you the hassle of Cairo’s traffic and match your agenda.
Looking forward welcoming you back at intercontinental Cairo Citystars.

Kindest Regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Being an expat based in Cairo, a superlative service was provided for myself, my family and my expatriate staff during the height of the unrest during the Revolution.

To be able to move from our Maadi homes into secure, serviced suites at the Intercontinental at almost no notice was a blessing. With the looting of most of the malls and hotels around Cairo (and our neighbourhood) being common place during the evening curfew, the fact that the Intercontinental Hotel and adjoining Citystars Mall was untouched is testimony to both management of facility security – and moreover – the bravery and commitment of the staff.

As always the service, food / beverage and hotel facilities were excellent, despite being delivered in what must have been extremely tough times for the staff, who had to leave their families to attend their posts at the hotel. Again, this was a real display of commitment and something to be proud of.

What does deserve special mention is the IT facilities at the hotel. During times in information “black-out” where the Internet was disabled throughout Egypt and mobile phone services often blocked, the fact that I had full high speed (satellite?) internet access from the hotel during the period of the Revolution allowed me continual communication with our HQ in Paris, key stakeholders & other business units, as well as family and friend back in Australia and around the globe.

Having been in Egypt for 3.5 years now, we regard the Intercontinental Citystars Hotel as possibly the best hotel in Cairo, and with its ideal location, we hope to use it more for both corporate visits and local functions. Likewise it's a great base for any tourist who wants to explore Cairo whilst having a world-class retreat (& shopping mall) to retire to at th end of the day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono_Sharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Jono_Cairo,
Thank you very much for your comments. The entire team of the Intercontinental Cairo Citystars believe that your comments is the best reward for our continuous hard work to provide our guests with a distinguished Guest Experience at all the times. Indeed, safety and security for our guests and team is our prime concern and comes on the top of our priorities.
Your comments were shared with all the service teams in the hotel, which for sure will drive them for even further dedication. The IT team is already celebrating.
Once again, your comments are highly appreciated.
Looking forward welcoming you back with the family or for business at your second home in safe Cairo and Egypt.

Kind Regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I am a regular guest in this hotel. Last time I was there was just when all the demonstrations started in Cairo. I have already given my comments earlier about the fact that the Interconti City Stars is outstanding in service with what I think is amongst the most friendly staff you have ever seen in a hotel. You do get the idea they enjoy servicing you.

This time our trip was interrupted by the civil unrest and we had to change our plans. Not only that we were not charged for the change of plans (in spite of having used an advanced purchasing rate when booking), we experienced a unique service beyond what you can expect a hotel to do.

First of all while it was not safe to go around in the city at this time, the hotel remained a totally safe place - and the only place that had an internet connection even when all internet in Egypt was cut off by the government. The hotel TV worked still as an internet connection and we were able to do flight bookings on the internet while every other line was cut.

Next was that we had to fly out at night, but the curfew prevented travel at night. The hotel took it upon them to find a driver at 2AM in the morning (when drivers could not be called in as they also could not travel during the curfew), and got us out to the airport in the middle of the night well and safely.

The manager was available personally late at night to arrange this.

I have seen a variety of good hotels, but this one is my favorite.

Room Tip: The loyalty program (Ambassador) helps a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgoeldenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
Dear Mr. tgoeldenitz,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments and sharing it with us and other guests.
We are really very pleased and delighted that you have chosen us as your home in Cairo. I am happy to receive your comments that I have already shared with the team.
Looking forward welcoming you back as I was pleased to book your transportation last time you stayed at InterContinental Cairo Citystars upon your departure.

Kindest Regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
7.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
7.0 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Citystars Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Property: InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Citystars Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Cairo Citystars is part of the Middle East s largest retail and entertainment complex, giving you direct access to 550 stores and an indoor theme park. The hotel is ideally located seven minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo.Named Cairo s best business hotel by Business Traveller Magazine, it is also close to free time destinations such as the Egyptian Museum, Sakkara and the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Citystars Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing