We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor I was extremelty concerned, however none of the negative things that others have complained of occurred during our trip.

We booked 5 nights at the InterCon Citystars, with a further 2 later in a 2 bedroom residence suite which was huge. In fact, they gave us a 3 bedroom suite with 3 bathrooms. We had wanted club access but the residence suites are in a separate building across the pool from the hotel. The kitchen meant that we could get food from Citystars next door or the eateries across from the hotel. I recommend Ashrawi that make Falafel and Shawerma!

I strongly recommend the meet and assist at Cairo airport as you are whisked through by someone meeting you at the gate that your aircraft arrives on, and they take your passport to immigration meaning that you don't have to queue. Check in took place in the Mercedes E Class meaning that we could go straight to the room.

The reports of checking in taking over an hour I can't fathom as the reception and concierge serve guests instantly.

The hotel boasts everything you would expect from an InterCon, and is one of the best hotels I have seen in Cairo, and I have traveled extensively.

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — Heliopolis isn't in Cairo, however is only a 20 min cab ride.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    317
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
203
164
90
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip to Cairo.
The hotel managed to loose my reservation but they had a room available (strangely enough they picked me up from the airport - how can they loose my room reservation but have a pick-up service...). The first room a had was facing the street - a bad choice. The Egyptian driving style consists of honking almost 50% of the time - even with the windows closed you can hear the traffic very clear. I've asked for a new room and was "upgraded" to a suite in the back of the hotel, close to the pool. The room was slightly larger than the previous one, but much more quite. (some noise from the live band who was playing every night). The traffic on Cairo is unique, so it took me quite some time to reach "The Smart Village" for my meetings - something you need to consider when booking a hotel in Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pemaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

Reception Very Poor, slow, rude and very unresponsive.
Location is great for a brief visit to Cairo if you want to do some shopping next door at City Stars and you will need to mall map that's available in your room.
Room smelt like industrial disinfectant, but at least it was clean.
The restaurants were good, the breakfast is average but fine, plenty of choice.
BUT
Additional costs are incredible. Also beware you will get quoted in currencies other than the Egyptian Pound (a favourite in Egypt is to quote a price and then when you go to pay you discover they suddenly say the price is in Euro ie 8 times what you thought it was).
Also beware the hotel will charge your credit card in whatever currency they chose at whatever exchange rate they chose and won't tell you beforehand, I suggest you make sure you know what they are doing before you hand over your credit card. (this isn't easy)
Having had difficulties getting transport to Alexandria I asked if they had an arrangement with a car service they quoted an extortionate price equivalent to 250 USD (many others do the same thing with nice cars at no more than 90USD) Our driver was strange, spoke minimal English, kept speeding even when asked to stop (the noise from the speeding alarm was driving us nutts) and was very unhappy that he didn't get a additional tip on the extortionate price that included the driver and a service charge.
All in all I will probably have to stay in this hotel again due to location to work, but I will have my wits about me much much more.

  • Liked — Loacation
  • Disliked — Rude Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2xNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Stayed here while in Cairo on business and was definitely a quiet haven even during Ramadan. I stayed in the poolside complex which i preferred (a colleague had a room in the main warren of the hotel) as i was very close to the pool and close to the gym. tip of the day..if you get back in time the sun still shines on the pool until about 345pm.
Ate most nights in the shopping mall attached which is huge..got frequently lost but nice to get out of the hotel and is significantly cheaper although the hotel restaurants are excellent value as well but you obviously pay for a top class meal.
Very happy with my stay and the Balinese massage (80min) was well worth it..yeeouch!

  • Liked — pool and spa
  • Disliked — the steps i had to walk up to get in the building..14 maybe?
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank celticmallorcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

We stayed in this hotel overnight on our way back home from Sharm El Sheikh. It is a wonderful hotel with a most impressive foyer. There are at least 5 restaurants to eat in. All looked lovely and had extensive menus. We chose the buffet as we had arrived late and it was super. A fabulous variety of foods from around the world, with a great desert buffet. Also a bottle of Egyptian wine was EGP160 against EGP260 anywhere else we tried in Egypt! There is a lovely garden courtyard with restaurants and low seating areas that plays music at night. The City Stars shopping mall can be accessed directly from the hotel foyer and is a fantastic shopping centre with many bargains. Well worth a visit. Or you can send your loved one shopping while you enjoy some of the hotels many amenities. This is a great hotel. However, a word of caution. We rather suspect that many people use this hotel for an overnight stay as it is near to the airport. Make sure you do not get a room in the courtyard wing as the music plays until 2.00am, which it did in our case and we had to be up for 4.00pm. We did draw the hotels notice to this and they did offer to change our room but it was already midnight at this stage and we saw little point. We would still recommend it.

  • Liked — Hotel Foyer and room
  • Disliked — Noise at night
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

My first trip to Cairo, in 2007, I stayed at the Citystars (Intercontinental). This hotel is quite a distance from most things but close to the airport.. There is however quite a lot to do at the hotel and the adjacent shopping mall. So great if you travel with children and wonderful for the large selection of restaurants.

I stayed at the Conrad Cairo my most recent trip (August 2008). The view of the nile was really great and the hotel is more in the centre of town and much more expensive. The facilities at the CityStars are much better.

All said, I would probably stay at the Citystars when next in Cairo, for the reasons stated above.

  • Liked — Faclities and adjacent mall
  • Disliked — far from town
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riyadh, saudi arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

this hotel is simply 1 of the best hotels in cairo ..
its a new hotel compared to all the other hotels in cairo ..
its in a huge complix called city stars .. with a huge mall called ( stars center ) it has many restaurants and caffes ( mcdonalds , kfc , fudruckers , chili's ........ starbucks , costa cafe ...... )
and big cinema theatres (( most of the movies are egyptian ))
the hotel is far from downtown cairo (about 30 - 40 mins by car), the nile (same thing here) , and from the pyramids ( 1 hour by car ) .. but close to the airport ..
i liked the hotel ..

  • Liked — the huge mall next to it and the pool
  • Disliked — far from downtown , the nile , and from the pyramids
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank omar_alsheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
7.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.0 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Citystars Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Property: InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Citystars Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Cairo Citystars is part of the Middle East s largest retail and entertainment complex, giving you direct access to 550 stores and an indoor theme park. The hotel is ideally located seven minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo.Named Cairo s best business hotel by Business Traveller Magazine, it is also close to free time destinations such as the Egyptian Museum, Sakkara and the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Southall Travel so you can book your InterContinental Citystars Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing