We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its really nice”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights with business. I have stayed in a number of places in Cairo and this is by far my favourite to date.
The room was great and even better was the outside bar.

I would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Liked — the bar/restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lorili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    344
    80
    33
    28
See reviews for
236
178
100
647
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We were at a business conference there. Nice hotel, attached to hugh and pricey shopping mall. Rooms are top. Lounges, spacious, nice and large pool and spa area. Staff is friendly.

  • Liked — Spacious and Classy
  • Disliked — Not in the city center
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onBusiness015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This hotel is beautiful, fun and WOW! My three daughters loved it! The staff was pleasant, but a bit short. After 12 days in the Middle East, I was used to being treated this way. The security is extremely high and sets a tone to the staff. However, the check in was slow but polite and upgraded us to a four bedroom suite. After sharing two bedrooms on a Nile Cruise, it was welcome for our family.

The pool is wonderful and one of the best I've ever seen. Hard to describe, but very Egyptian and interesting.

The breakfast cart/room service was gorgeous and delicious. We had been having mediocre food on the Nile cruise, glad to have delicious again! The service was fabulous-- doormen, bellman, room service. My husband went into the mall with our teenager, who LOVED the shops and selection. A great location if shopping is the goal.

CLOSE to the airport --very key for an early flight. One of the best hotels I've stayed in ever -and would recommend and go back time and again!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaFlyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor I was extremelty concerned, however none of the negative things that others have complained of occurred during our trip.

We booked 5 nights at the InterCon Citystars, with a further 2 later in a 2 bedroom residence suite which was huge. In fact, they gave us a 3 bedroom suite with 3 bathrooms. We had wanted club access but the residence suites are in a separate building across the pool from the hotel. The kitchen meant that we could get food from Citystars next door or the eateries across from the hotel. I recommend Ashrawi that make Falafel and Shawerma!

I strongly recommend the meet and assist at Cairo airport as you are whisked through by someone meeting you at the gate that your aircraft arrives on, and they take your passport to immigration meaning that you don't have to queue. Check in took place in the Mercedes E Class meaning that we could go straight to the room.

The reports of checking in taking over an hour I can't fathom as the reception and concierge serve guests instantly.

The hotel boasts everything you would expect from an InterCon, and is one of the best hotels I have seen in Cairo, and I have traveled extensively.

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — Heliopolis isn't in Cairo, however is only a 20 min cab ride.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip to Cairo.
The hotel managed to loose my reservation but they had a room available (strangely enough they picked me up from the airport - how can they loose my room reservation but have a pick-up service...). The first room a had was facing the street - a bad choice. The Egyptian driving style consists of honking almost 50% of the time - even with the windows closed you can hear the traffic very clear. I've asked for a new room and was "upgraded" to a suite in the back of the hotel, close to the pool. The room was slightly larger than the previous one, but much more quite. (some noise from the live band who was playing every night). The traffic on Cairo is unique, so it took me quite some time to reach "The Smart Village" for my meetings - something you need to consider when booking a hotel in Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pemaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Reception Very Poor, slow, rude and very unresponsive.
Location is great for a brief visit to Cairo if you want to do some shopping next door at City Stars and you will need to mall map that's available in your room.
Room smelt like industrial disinfectant, but at least it was clean.
The restaurants were good, the breakfast is average but fine, plenty of choice.
BUT
Additional costs are incredible. Also beware you will get quoted in currencies other than the Egyptian Pound (a favourite in Egypt is to quote a price and then when you go to pay you discover they suddenly say the price is in Euro ie 8 times what you thought it was).
Also beware the hotel will charge your credit card in whatever currency they chose at whatever exchange rate they chose and won't tell you beforehand, I suggest you make sure you know what they are doing before you hand over your credit card. (this isn't easy)
Having had difficulties getting transport to Alexandria I asked if they had an arrangement with a car service they quoted an extortionate price equivalent to 250 USD (many others do the same thing with nice cars at no more than 90USD) Our driver was strange, spoke minimal English, kept speeding even when asked to stop (the noise from the speeding alarm was driving us nutts) and was very unhappy that he didn't get a additional tip on the extortionate price that included the driver and a service charge.
All in all I will probably have to stay in this hotel again due to location to work, but I will have my wits about me much much more.

  • Liked — Loacation
  • Disliked — Rude Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2xNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Stayed here while in Cairo on business and was definitely a quiet haven even during Ramadan. I stayed in the poolside complex which i preferred (a colleague had a room in the main warren of the hotel) as i was very close to the pool and close to the gym. tip of the day..if you get back in time the sun still shines on the pool until about 345pm.
Ate most nights in the shopping mall attached which is huge..got frequently lost but nice to get out of the hotel and is significantly cheaper although the hotel restaurants are excellent value as well but you obviously pay for a top class meal.
Very happy with my stay and the Balinese massage (80min) was well worth it..yeeouch!

  • Liked — pool and spa
  • Disliked — the steps i had to walk up to get in the building..14 maybe?
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank celticmallorcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
7.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.1 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Citystars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Citystars

Property: InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#3 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Citystars 5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Cairo's Best Business Hotel, InterContinental Cairo Citystars offers luxury amid lush gardens in the buzzing hub of Citystars Heliopolis, next to Stars Centre Mall. Whether you are in Cairo for business or leisure, the hotel puts everything at your fingertips, from steak to sushi, from spa treatments to squash, and from complimentary Wi-Fi to cocktails on the air-conditioned poolside terrace. Eleven restaurants and bars are available in the hotel including Shogun Japanese restaurant, Al Khal Egyptian restaurant, Maestro Italian restaurant and Fayruz Lebanese restaurant. For a tour of nearby Cairo Citadel and Giza Pyramids, our Concierge will gladly help ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Citystars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing