We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true five star experience, convenient to airport, but the traffic in Cairo is so noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I think my headline said it all. The room was wonderful, the lobby was impressive and it was very convenient to the airport, which we liked since we were flying out the next morning and the traffic in Cairo is a bear!

Caution! Bring earplugs! There's nothing anyone can do about it, but Cairo drivers use their horns more than they use their brakes. It is customary to honk as you pass another car since they disregard lane markings and consistently squeeze five lanes of traffic into a three lane street.

Also, I'm a bit put off by the way that they charge for water with the meals.

However, since the hotel is connected to the FABULOUS CityStars mall with hundreds of shops and dozens of restaurants (Everything from McDonalds, Chili's and the Rain Forest Cafe to Lebonese and local ethnic restaurants) it's easy to avoid the over priced hotel restaurants if you choose to.

It's not an easy drive to downtown Cairo or Old Cairo, but if you're zipping in or out of the airport, it's a great location.

P,S. ; Free internet! Always a star booster in my book!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyVirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcaubo, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Citystars, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2010

Dear Cindy,

It is nice to see you comments abou our free wired and wireless internet in our public areas and rooms.
Your comments aremuch appreciated.

Pascal Caubo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

I had heard about this hotel and the level of service from a friend during a visit with his family to Egypt during the summer for the first time in this country , it has left a great impression with the international hotel in this country with a long history. I had the same impression after I stayed in this hotel in the beauty and magnificence which made me recomending it to every body who asked me about my experience in this place and the level of superior service, which in my opinion not less than any finest hotels in Europe

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Androw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcaubo, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Citystars, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2010

Dear Androw,

It is very nice to read you positive comments about our hotel. Hopefully we wil be able to welcome you back to Cairo sometime soon.

Pascal Caubo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

beautiful hotel, kind and attentive staff, beautiful room, fantastic accomodations and amenities

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank lovejoy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I have stayed at this hotel several times in 2009 and 2010; I always enjoyed the music shows in the main lobby; the breakfast buffet is good and pricy; close to the airport and the huge mall next door has all kinds of stores. You can only buy alcohol from the Duty Free store in the mall or use the hotel restaurants for drinking. The lebanese restaurant is really good however the rest of the hotel restaurants are not as good. Their italian restaurant is really bad and not worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSAUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I stayed at Citystars for two nights. The service was good. The room was good - although will be dated shortly. I can't really complain about anything but I felt everything was a little surreal. Maybe it was the lobby pianist playing in sight of the security dudes checking for bombs. Maybe it was the hushed silence at breakfast. Maybe it was the creepy walk to between the shopping centre and lobby. Something just wasn't right. Nice enough, but weird.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucasofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This hotel is amazing, great location, really polite staff. The Spa was amazing, as was the building itself. Only problem was it shear size made it a trip getting around. Really would recommend.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Mr_Kaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip and found it a really nice haven from the crazy streets of Cairo. The service was excellent - only minor exception was when I asked to borrow an adaptor for my laptop (European with 3 prongs, not 2 which is Cairo standard) and they gave me a US one three times. After 5 attempts over 1.5hrs, the last guy smartly asked to take my power cord and then finally came back with the right solution. Basically, they do take good care of you!

The location right next to the biggest shopping center in Egypt is fantastic if you need anything, although not close to the major tourist sites. Security is high but that made me feel safer.

I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TooNiceZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
7.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairo - Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Citystars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Citystars

Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#3 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £105 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Citystars 5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Cairo's Best Business Hotel, InterContinental Cairo Citystars offers luxury amid lush gardens in the buzzing hub of Citystars Heliopolis, next to Stars Centre Mall. Whether you are in Cairo for business or leisure, the hotel puts everything at your fingertips, from steak to sushi, from spa treatments to squash, and from complimentary Wi-Fi to cocktails on the air-conditioned poolside terrace. Eleven restaurants and bars are available in the hotel including Shogun Japanese restaurant, Al Khal Egyptian restaurant, Maestro Italian restaurant and Fayruz Lebanese restaurant. For a tour of nearby Cairo Citadel and Giza Pyramids, our Concierge will gladly help ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Citystars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing