We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Ranked #95 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Ok so this is a 3 star hotel I was told but seriously, I have been to better 3 star hotels.I would rate this more like 1.5-2 stars.

If you want peace and quiet, this is not it! We were in room 301, a 2- bedroom apartment but we were facing the main road and this was downtown Cairo. The incessant honking of the cars were enough to drive one crazy and in the end , just to get some sleep, I had to put on ear -plugs!

The rooms were dark and reeked of cigarette smoke mixed with a musty smell.The tables and the windows were very dusty. It was December, so it was a bit chilly at night but the heater was not working.The bathroom was easily flooded after turning on the showers for 2 minutes, which spilled over to the rest of the bathroom making it rather unpleasant to visit the toilet. When we complained, nobody came to the room- we were just ignored.

The elevators were old and rickety and took ages to come up or down and we found it quicker taking the stairs.Breakfast was also terrible with horrendous service and stale cold food and absolutely poor choice.

The tour agent put it succinctly when I complained to her about the poor standards of the hotel- This is Egypt and a 4 star hotel is probably more accurately described
as 3 stars whereas expect 2 stars if it is accredited 3 stars!

Room Tip: If you have a car at your disposal, there is really no need to stay in downtown Cairo where everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oal151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have been back and fourth to cairo for a few years now and the ONLY place I wil stay is Cairo Khan! Ok so not all the staff speak english but they understand enough english that everything is fine. The staff are nice and protective and make sure that you are happy and comfortable. The building is old so not everything is prestine but come on its CAIRO EGYPT the most historical site in history! Do we seriously need a hair dryer when your just mear miles from GIZA! Yes the rooms are a bit smoky but they dont have a smoking policy... im telling you its a "lil" home away from home... The staff are now my friends! Its WORTH IT !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I've stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. While its nothing special, it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and have private bathrooms.

The Pros:
Good food
Good location to see the sites in Cairo
Friendly service
Clean and large rooms with AC that works
Walking distance to stores, restaurants, and coffee shops

Cons:
Cairo traffic can make it hard for some to sleep (same at all 3 star hotels)
Dated furniture, but its still serviceable and the beds are comfortable
No hairdryers

Cairo is not known for having a wide selection of good quality 3 star hotels. Most are horrible. The Cairo Khan is one of my favorite if you are traveling on a budget and still want a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NileValleyTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Good for a couple of days stay not more. Make sure to learn some egyptian words cos you won't understand what some of the staff will say in English.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John71155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The Cairo Khan is in a great location in the city, which makes it a good value for the price. The rooms are nothing special--spacious but that's about it. Since you are in the heart of the city, honking car horns will keep you up at night, but that's part of the Cairo 'charm.' Other than the car horns, there's no reason why you can't have a clean, comfortable stay at the Cairo Khan. If you are a traveler who can get by without frills, then I recommend this as an acceptable place to stay. The breakfast was a nice plus--again, nothing fancy, but good nevertheless. This felt like a very safe, walkable part of the city, even at night.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We had serious reservations about this place after reading the mixed reviews but our friends were keen on the location so we thought we'd give it a go.

We were there on 2 occasions during March 20 10 and between our rooms and our friends we saw 3 different rooms on the same floor (rooms 410,411, 412). I've given the place a 2 rating overall, but the 3 rooms were quite different in size and fitness for habitation (but all the same price) and would have rated a 3, a 2 and a 1 if rated separately. As others have noted, traffic noise is a problem - this was the case for all 3 rooms here.

Each room had a small foyer - larger in the 2 larger rooms.
Room 410 was the smallest and in the worst shape, about 25 sq m for the main room and had the smallest (about 9 sq m) bathroom - the plumbing behind the handbasin constantly leaked (quite badly) and water flowed uninterrupted across the bathroom floor to a drain. We requested it to be fixed and were assured it had been, but of course it wasn't. About half the power points were U/S. Fridge was in the room and shared a common power point with the TV - no double adaptor, so make your choice. Room was configured as twin beds

Room 411, a corner room, was huge, probably 40+ sq m plus a big (long) 12 sq m bathroom. Everything seemed to work. There was extra furniture in this room - a 2 seater lounge. Room was configured as twin beds.

Room 412 was still a good size - about 35 sq m for the main room and 10 sq m bathroom and all the plumbing worked but half the powerpoints were U/S. Room was configured as a double.

For all, the shower was in the long wall of the bath, a common feature in Egypt. There was a (chained) plug for the bathtubs, but none for the handbasins.

The general state of cleaning for the rooms was quite poor. Toilets are given a quick scrub and they have a vacuum cleaner and mop but t he only cleaning product I saw on the trolley was glass cleaning spray. Tile floors are given a quick mop with a wet cloth but it must have been years since floor tiles were cleaned properly (either scrubbed or using some cleaning product) - the built up grime made it hard to see there was pink in the original floor tile colour in light coloured Room 412. Sticky stains on the carpet (jam?) looked like they'd been there for a long time. Similarly, a rub over the glass table surfaces with a hand towel came away very grubby indeed.

Breakfast in the restaurant was poor - the Malaysian tour groups were in early and nothing was topped up or replaced. If you hunted around you could find the replacement juice (hidden away from the buffet end, just outside the kitchen) - otherwise go without. Tables were only slowly reset after use - everyone seemed to get the hang of scrounging tables for unused cutlery. Teaspoons were magically produced form waiters pockets only on request. Tablecovers were dusted off but certainly weren't changed regularly - we got the same table 1 & 1/2 days apart and the egg stains were still there. Dinner menu was limited - food quality was "OK" for dinner but waiter service was generally poor. 1st floor cafe - used by a few locals but they play the TV very loud (Egyptian soap opera) in the day and were not prepared to turn it down even though it was only staff watching - we left.
On the positives (only a few):
good location,
Free and fast WiFi in the lobby
Friendly English speaking reception staff

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

In s'pore i was told that this is a 3star hotel. i wasnt expecting much facilities. upon reaching there, i was stunned. its like im in the 70s! the lobby is dim. the rooms are simple with old furnitures.

gd for a few days stay. its still unbearable for me coz the traffic noise ( esp the horns of the vehicles) are irritating. u will not get peace till late night.

breakfast are the same for every day. 1st come 1st serve. u come late for breakfast, u might end up with only a bread or two. orange juice is definitely finished by then. i think this pl caters to the businessmen coz i see lots of them. less of tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeAye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
5.6 mi away
Royal Marshal Hotel
Royal Marshal Hotel
#114 of 138 in Cairo
21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#86 of 138 in Cairo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#75 of 138 in Cairo
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#100 of 138 in Cairo
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#103 of 138 in Cairo
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Khan Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Khan Suites Hotel

Address: 12 Sitta-W Ashrin Yulyu, Cairo 1244, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £55 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairo Khan Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Khan Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Khan Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing