We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PR training required for staff”
Review of Santana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santana Hotel
Ranked #97 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel provided good accommodation at a handy location; walking distance to metro station (El Doki) and some restaurants, convenience stores and coffee shops a plenty in the area. (If you get time, the KFC around the corner only employs the hearing impaired so help out this worthy cause). The staff here were average, upon arriving, one staff tried to push on us a tour (way overpriced), and upon departing, another insisted that we pay for Internet that we had not purchased, despite us telling him that we had not bought any. However great rooms, and best hot shower I had in Egypt!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Millott87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Santana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here as the starting hotel for our tour through Egypt. The hotel was clean and tidy, rooms were of a good size. We arrived very early in the morning and they were able to check us in early which was great. The breakfast was good, but I recommend getting threre early as they did run out of some things. Also, be warned that a large numbrr of tour groups seemed to stay here. This meant a busy lobby or breakfast area art some times of the day. Beds were comfy and shower was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Santana is as close to average as they can get. Spacious lobby with plenty of places to relax. Free wifi with a purchase from the coffee shop; connection was average speed and reliable, but was lobby-only. Rooms are faded but clean, ample hot water. Location is several blocks from the Nile but is a little hard to find on foot. Average Egyptian breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discoshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here in two different rooms and we loved it. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been one of the nicest we've had in egypt. The showers are nice and clean, blow dryer and the beds are soft! The location is great, lots of banks/ATMs, restaurants and stores all less then 10min walk. The only bad thing would be the hotel restaurant isn't the best!! Also getting to the hotel from the airport could be crazy depending on what time your flight gets in since traffic in Cairo is insane and 24hrs it seems like. Would stay here again though anytime and the hotel set us up with tours and a amazing driver.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good, but the top floors are always the best.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raspberryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here with a group on a pilgrimage that was meant to give us an experience that included cultural contact. Our room was nice, beds comfortable. The food was average. We did experience some noise from the street below during the night, but we are sound sleepers so it was not a big issue. The shops in the lobby were very interesting. I took several different perfume oils home as souvenirs. The location seemed to be pretty close to the points we visited like the Museum of Cairo and a restaurant on the Nile. A minibus drove our group from place to place. No westerner should ever plan to drive in Cairo. It is crazy! I mean REALLY insane. It was definately the most excitement I've ever experienced simply driving around town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here as part of G Adventures. It is in a nice location, within walking location to many services and restaurants. The room we stayed in were large and clean. Wifi was available for a fee, but the cafe next door has free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel looks like it was a fancy hotel. It has a spacious lobby, reception desk, staircase which give it a fancy look. Yet, it's missing character.
The rooms are also quite big, with comfortable beds for a perfect sleep. The bathrooms could use a renovation in certain rooms... check if you have hot water! In my first room, the bath tub could not be filled (leaking plug) and the window could not be closed.

The breakfast is a nice, regular buffet.

It's located 20 minutes on foot from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. All you need is within walking distance.

If you are looking for a short stay and a good bed, this could be the place you look for. I have no complaints about the attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Check the hot water.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.1 mi away
Arabia Hotel
Arabia Hotel
#52 of 139 in Cairo
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#74 of 139 in Cairo
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#56 of 139 in Cairo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#73 of 139 in Cairo
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#95 of 139 in Cairo
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Hotel

Address: 7 Ahmed El Melhy St. Dokki, Cairo, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £23 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Santana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing