We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dingy hotel”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Carlton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #95 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dingy hotel”
Reviewed 4 February 2008

I just came back from Egypt, where I also stayed three nights at Hotel Carlton in Cairo, which was a huge disappointment.
The hotel is cheap and its location is really good - but these are the only advantages. The rooms are dingy and the bathrooms are undiscribable.
On the whole the staff was not very friendly and could not be helpful when we had questions concerning Cairo (this was also due to the fact that they hardly spoke any other language than Arabian).

My conclusion is: Hotel Carlton is unbeatable cheap, but next time I rather spend a couple of Dollars more for a clean room and friendly as well as helpful staff.

  • Liked — It was cheap and the location is good
  • Disliked — The rooms and bathrooms were dirty
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
7
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2008

If you're not looking for a luxury but just comfortable stay, this place is really great! It's in the centre, it's got a local market just around the corner, fast (Egyptian) food and coffee shops. I love those sandwiches filled with salad, cheese and eggs just around the corner!

The rooms - for Cairo - are spacious, nicely furnished and clean! Never have seen less cockroaches in Cairo ...... They could do some refurbishing in the bathrooms.

The staff is really helpful and very friendly but never intrusing!

Excellent!!!

  • Liked — best price/performance ratio in Cairo
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank uhlenhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at a cost of about £16 per double room, per night.
We saw Cairo on our own rather than as part of a tour and this hotel provided a great base to do so.
This hotel was recommended to us from a friend who had stayed there. I made the booking by phoning the hotel from London.
We were picked up from the airport as arranged in a private car. The ride was interesting as it was our 1st experience of Cairo traffic and the lack of road rules.
On check in it was insisted that we hand in our passports as part of the registration process. Reluctanly we agreed but we did see them again without problem.
The room was a good size and and equipped with all the standard fare. The TV even had some English speaking channels
The airconditioning was not the best but at such a cheap rate you cannot expect too much perhaps.
The room was well cleaned though the bathroom and toilet were of quite a poor standard.
There is some noise from the nearby Mosque at the wee hours of the morning but nothing earplugs cannot fix and this is part of the cultural experience anyway huh.
The staff were friendly and made us feel welcome whilst enjoying dinner and beers on the roof top terrace.
The room rate included breakfast and either lunch or dinner (your choice).
This hotel is within walking distance to the Egyptian Museum and very close to a Metro station too. It is located in the downtown area and is well serviced for food and shopping etc.
For basic accomodation at a very cheap rate I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank Grux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2006

If you want a taste of a Cairo long since drowned by the constant squeal of car horns and 5-star monstrosities that line the Nile, stay at the Carlton.

The tranquil lobby and small oak-panelled bar and restaurant areas still shows signs of the 1930's style that would have once made this hotel possibly one of the best in Cairo. Unfortunately those days are long gone and so too are the guests to fill the slightly tired guest rooms.

Marble staircases and trellis door lifts lead ultimately to a roof terrace for a birds eye view of the mayhem below. The whole place oozes history and without guests this grand old girl will close her doors forever.

Rooms are from as little as £15 a night

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MattLeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
5.8 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#58 of 137 in Cairo
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 21-26th of July Street | Down town, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing