We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$115
US$110
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$220
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Cairo(Cairo)
US$165
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
US$141
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$15
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
4
5
12
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
5
12
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2008

I just came back from Egypt, where I also stayed three nights at Hotel Carlton in Cairo, which was a huge disappointment.
The hotel is cheap and its location is really good - but these are the only advantages. The rooms are dingy and the bathrooms are undiscribable.
On the whole the staff was not very friendly and could not be helpful when we had questions concerning Cairo (this was also due to the fact that they hardly spoke any other language than Arabian).

My conclusion is: Hotel Carlton is unbeatable cheap, but next time I rather spend a couple of Dollars more for a clean room and friendly as well as helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

If you're not looking for a luxury but just comfortable stay, this place is really great! It's in the centre, it's got a local market just around the corner, fast (Egyptian) food and coffee shops. I love those sandwiches filled with salad, cheese and eggs just around the corner!

The rooms - for Cairo - are spacious, nicely furnished and clean! Never have seen less cockroaches in Cairo ...... They could do some refurbishing in the bathrooms.

The staff is really helpful and very friendly but never intrusing!

Excellent!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank uhlenhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at a cost of about £16 per double room, per night.
We saw Cairo on our own rather than as part of a tour and this hotel provided a great base to do so.
This hotel was recommended to us from a friend who had stayed there. I made the booking by phoning the hotel from London.
We were picked up from the airport as arranged in a private car. The ride was interesting as it was our 1st experience of Cairo traffic and the lack of road rules.
On check in it was insisted that we hand in our passports as part of the registration process. Reluctanly we agreed but we did see them again without problem.
The room was a good size and and equipped with all the standard fare. The TV even had some English speaking channels
The airconditioning was not the best but at such a cheap rate you cannot expect too much perhaps.
The room was well cleaned though the bathroom and toilet were of quite a poor standard.
There is some noise from the nearby Mosque at the wee hours of the morning but nothing earplugs cannot fix and this is part of the cultural experience anyway huh.
The staff were friendly and made us feel welcome whilst enjoying dinner and beers on the roof top terrace.
The room rate included breakfast and either lunch or dinner (your choice).
This hotel is within walking distance to the Egyptian Museum and very close to a Metro station too. It is located in the downtown area and is well serviced for food and shopping etc.
For basic accomodation at a very cheap rate I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2006
11  Thank Grux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2006

If you want a taste of a Cairo long since drowned by the constant squeal of car horns and 5-star monstrosities that line the Nile, stay at the Carlton.

The tranquil lobby and small oak-panelled bar and restaurant areas still shows signs of the 1930's style that would have once made this hotel possibly one of the best in Cairo. Unfortunately those days are long gone and so too are the guests to fill the slightly tired guest rooms.

Marble staircases and trellis door lifts lead ultimately to a roof terrace for a birds eye view of the mayhem below. The whole place oozes history and without guests this grand old girl will close her doors forever.

Rooms are from as little as £15 a night

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MattLeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews