We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome view of Nile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Ranked #6 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Castle Rock, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome view of Nile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent one night December 19,2013. It was a very comfortable night with my Fiancé. The restaurant was great with great service. The view from our room was breath taking. Would have gave it an excellent rating except they wanted over $20 for a day of internet in the room. The pool on the top is awesome, but it was too cold for us, as the weather was unusually cold this season. The is no warmer jacuzzi there or we would have braved the pool. There is a pretty fancy looking spa, but we never tried it. They have dinner cruises near by. This would be a great hotel to be near the cruises without too much traffic problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Ms. Jody,

Thank you for taking the time from your schedule to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Nile City. We were privileged to have you and your fiancee with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

We greatly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    292
    87
    54
    62
See reviews for
285
426
150
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This review is dated, however, we enjoyed our stay so much, I am compelled to share the details.

We stayed at this hotel via a package booked through Your Egypt Tours. As this is Egypt, we did not expect obscene luxury, but that is what this hotel provided! It was quite a shock to stay at this beautiful place after schlepping around in the dirty desert all day long.

Good – Amazing amenities (loofah, bath salts), Turndown service, Great minibar, Amazing spread at breakfast buffet (local & American food), Alcoholic beverages at bar, Connected to mall (haggling occurs at the mall too), Thorough security check of vehicles upon arrival, All English speaking staff, Phenomenal rooftop pool, Spa/Gym, Attentive service (waiter, bell staff, etc).

Bad – Imbedded smoke smell (within some room furniture & breakfast area furniture), Extreme fluctuating water pressure in shower (but this is a high-rise in the middle of the Sahara), Intermittently clogged shower drain, Iron exploded film (while ironing white pants), Hangers stained clothes (again, white), Bank could not provide coin change (coins are a necessity in Egypt), extremely loud nightclub nearby (take earplugs).

I would highly recommend staying here if you want a change from the streets of Egypt. I am sure there are better hotels, but this one is more than adequate. There were huge vases of roses in the lobby and a view of the Nile from the breakfast area and rooftop pool, not to mention amazingly comfortable beds and pillows. I felt relatively safe here as well. There is a metal detector and bag screen when you enter the hotel, but these are everywhere throughout Egypt and a bit of a joke. There were a few Western visitors, but not many, so that actually added to my sense of security for whatever reason. The staff are all very professional and there to serve. It really is 5-star for Egypt! Enjoyable visit!

Room Tip: High floor, away from nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COhotelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from the Jewel on the Nile!

We were privileged to have you with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We thank you for your kind feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated them.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back soon to the Land of the Pharaohs and the Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont-Tremblant
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Perhaps...as security is tight, and tourists just not around!

Must do is; Saquarra Pyramids (4th & 5th Dynasty) No tourists = what a delight to wonder through these 5000 year old remains! But the highlight is to go to the Egyptian museum, pay the extra to see Royal Mummies...It's a bit spooky, but a must-see...We actually walked from the musuem back to hotel (a 25 minute walk, frenzy and chaotic, but that's how they live everyday right? might as well blend into their lives a little...people said we were daring...as Tharir square had manifs every night...we did pass through the square..every day...and it seemed quiete, only on CNN we saw those teargass...meaning; just don't wander around after 8pm, where it usually spars...

The Hotel itslef is well maintained, the rooftop terrasse is awesome, great views 360 of Cairo, we could even see the Giza Pyramids when it's not too smoggy...

Food was the best in Cairo, period...The Lybian outside set-up bar with own private TV's & couches is great for just a drink or full dinner...They bring you Shisha upon request..

Jazz bar can be fun on Friday evenings, you can smoke....so everybody does...

Rooms are quite big, beds are ok, ask for a view, as you won't necessarely get one...

Ask not to be on the bar side (They're is a loud outside bar on 5-6th floor that go boom boom boom every Fri-Sat...so be aware, you will ear it loud & clear...) ask to be on opposite side of building, upper floors...

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are a possibility...make sure they unlock it, if u don't ask, you'll have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredlebrasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City.

We were privileged to have you with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated them.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Egypt and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fairmont Nile City for 4 nights, and found it excellent. Our standard room was spacious and well appointed with plenty of free drinking water provided. Bathroom was beautiful with rain shower & separate bathtub. Service was faultless, and we found the front desk staff friendly and efficient, and they weren't constantly expecting tips (as most service employees in Egypt seem to).

I could only fault 2 areas. Firstly there is no free Wifi at all in the hotel, and their charges for it are ridiculous. I think they wanted LE50 (over $7) for 30 minutes, which is crazy especially if you just want to check your email occasionally. We eventually found free wifi at one of the restaurants in the attached shopping mall, though you were expected to buy a drink to use it. 2 drinks there cost less than what the Fairmont wanted for 30 mins of wifi usage, and you could sit there as long as you liked. (There is also a Starbucks in the mall, but their wifi was never working!)

The other issue we had was the location of the hotel. The position overlooking the Nile was lovely, but it is some way north of the downtown area, and there were no outside shops or restaurants in walking distance, other than in the attached shopping mall. The surrounding area outside the hotel & mall grounds is also pretty grotty - you wouldn't really want to walk around in any case. Also there is no metro station station in walking distance. This means that you are forced to use a taxi to get just about anywhere, and if you know Cairo's traffic, that can mean a very slow trip. (Warning: Don't take the Cairo metro in rush hour - it is packed, uncomfortable and scary)

Other than these 2 issues, I can recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Mr. Michael,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City.

We were privileged to have you with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We thank you for your generous feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. Your kind comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated them.

We greatly value your support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a great hotel, with excellent service.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff very helpful.
Breakfast buffet is amazing, internet is fast and reliable.
Honestly cannot fault this hotel, will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from the Jewel on the Nile!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us. Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team as it is a tremendous source of motivation.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Land of the Pharaohs and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I spent one night in Fairmont Nile city celebrating a special occassion. I don't know where to start but let's try. Starting with the room its super clean, spacious, with coffee and tea making facilities, v nice bathrooms with speakers inside and a bath tub from which you can watch tv in the room as one of the bathrooms walls is glass. Moreover I was booked in a city view room but the reception staff were nice enough to upgrade me to a side Nile view which was great. The room design is really unique and elegant.
The breakfast which was included in my room rate was so elegant an pd delicious with a wide selection of fresh juice and amazing orange juice. The bakery session was so special v fresh cakes and Danish. The restaurant got a great Nile view that is capable of energising you for the rest of the day.
We tried Bab el nil restaurant for dinner a very nice setting and friendly staff (I will review this separately). The hotel is connected to the the Nile city mall with an 8 screens cinema and a variety of restaurant, a pharmacy and a very good hairdresser. Overall stay was great will sure try to repeat it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your generous feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. Your kind comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which have greatly motivated them.

We greatly value your support and look forward to welcome you back soon at Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent service. All you could need of a 5 star hotel. Helpful and attentive staff, excellent rooms. Unable to find a fault. Great selection of tasty food for breakfast. Great views from rooftop bar/pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yara E, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mr. Adam,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your generous comments with the hotel team as it is a tremendous source of motivation for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Property: Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing