We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic haven in the midst of the madness of Cairo.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic haven in the midst of the madness of Cairo.”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We recently stayed at the Fairmont Nile City twice during a 10 day trip to Egypt and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I travelled to Egypt with my mum and sister and the stays in Cairo formed either end of the trip which also visted Luxor (see separate review of the Hilton Luxor - another fantastic hotel).

This was the first holiday in nearly a year so I wanted to ensure the hotels we stayed in were luxurious without being over-priced or too old fashioned. During the first stay at the FNC, we booked into a room on the Fairmont Gold level and I highly recommend this purely for the fact that you have access to pretty much unlimited food and drink in the lounge all day and also free WIFI (although you can get this throughout the hotel if you are a member of the Fairmont President's Club which I am), but more than any of those items, the service you receive from the staff in the lounge is fantastic. They really do go the extra mile to help you with anything you need. I debated between this hotel and the Conrad Cairo for ages before I booked but I know I picked the best one for the price we paid.

One thing to be aware of though, is that some of the non Nile view rooms do overlook a nightclub which is VERY noisy on Friday nights. As we had booked a standard Fairmont Gold room we did not have a Nile view when we arrived. However, luckily for us, we arrived at the hotel at around 2am on Saturday morning when the nightclub was in full swing and when the Fairmont Gold staff member showed us to the room, we immediately heard the extremely noisy music (I couldn't understand why the rooms were not sound proofed). The staff member just shrugged it off and apologised that the room overlooked the club and left us in the room. However, the Gold manager popped into our room about 10 minutes later and asked if everything was fine with the room at which point I took the opportunity to point out that it wasn't as it was nearly 2.30am, we were exhausted from our flight and wanted to go to sleep but obviously there was the slight inconvenience of a pounding nightclub below!. However, to give them credit, the manager said "you are 100% right and this is not acceptable" and immediately moved us to a nile view gold room across the hall for the much needed peace and quiet and they did not charge us any extra for this either which was very good of them.

We stayed at the FNC again for the last two nights of our trip and this time we did not book the gold floor but just a standard room and the room was exactly the same size as the room we had previously on the gold floor but there were certain amenities missing such as the Nespresso machine, larger Miller Harris products etc. but overall, this was also a good stay. However, I did notice the difference between the service you receive on the gold floor which is just exemplary and the staff cannot do enough for you to that received on the normal floors.

My overall thoughts are that if you want a gorgeous, modern but luxurious hotel near the centre of Cairo, definitely stay here but do book a room on the Gold floor if you can, as the extra price more than makes up for the enhanced service you receive (as well as the unlimited food and drink if you are into eating!).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    306
    90
    54
    64
See reviews for
302
449
155
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Beautiful hotel that ticks all the boxes. Gorgeous rooms with the most fabulous bathrooms!!Fluffy robes and deluxe toiletries. This really is true 5 star quality. Lovely breakfast - definitely try the fresh strawberry juice!!! My only criticism would be the minimum charge for using internet is a bit steep if you only want 5 minutes...but wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samar a, Digital Marketing Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We were privileged and delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated us all.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to accompanying you soon at Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

After a lot of research of hotels in Cairo before my trip, I decided on the Fairmont hotel Nile City. Since the hotel is new to Cairo, even my friend that lives here wasn't familiar with it. I am so glad I chose to stay at the Fairmont! This review might sound a bit too good to be true, but I have never been so impressed by a hotel and its staff before. Here are some highlights of the stay:

-The hotel is very clean, brand new, great style and hip.
-Security was very complete entering by car or foot.
-We were upgraded to the Fairmont Gold level and were escorted to the executive floor to check-in.
-The staff at the hotel and more specifically the staff at Fairmont Gold have been exceptional!!! (Noteably Abdul and Sharif) Always ready to help arrange a taxi or car, complimentary breakfast (best comp breakfast I have ever had), snacks & deserts in the late afternoon and evening.
-The lounge for the Fairmont Gold floor had a great view of the Nile and Cairo,, great place to relax and free WiFi/computers to use.
-The pool on the roof was amazing as well. Great views and a full bar/restaurant.
-The one down side is the location of the hotel. It isn't far away from the action of downtown Cairo and the taxi rides are so cheap so it is worth it. I have also discovered that you won't be able to walk to many sites in Cairo since they are so far apart, so even if you are at the grand hyatt (went there for dinner and it looked like a hotel from the 70's) or the Four Seasons, you'll be grabbing taxis anyway.
-The room was great as well. Bathroom was amazing (bathtub, shower, amenities)... Beds were great as well.

Overall, very pleased with my week at the Fairmont, and the kindness of the staff was the most memorable part of the stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne_wz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samar a, Digital Marketing Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We were privileged and delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated us all.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to accompanying you soon at Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maglód
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Our tour company beauty of Egypt selected us that hotel when we asked for ultra luxury hotel close to city center,It is very good hotel ,modern,has wide choice of breakfasts, clean and very convenient for the center of the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samar a, Digital Marketing Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We were privileged and delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated us all.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to accompanying you soon at Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were impressed with the service. Every member of the Fairmont team were lovely, warm and welcoming to our family. Travelling with a 2 year old and a 6 month old brings its own challenges, but alot of that was removed by staying at the Fairmont Nile City. We used the Fairmont Gold Lounge which was brilliant. It gave our 2 year old some extra 'leg room' to walk around on the split levels, plus we were able to get her favourite program up on youtube on the computers! A saving grace for 10 minutes. The Fairmont Gold team were fantastic with the kids, often taking them from us so we could enjoy a glass of wine or a meal. On numerous occasions staff demonstrated their willingness to 'go beyond the call of duty' which was by far the best service we have experienced at any hotel in the world. There were so many personal touches including milk and personalised chocolates/biscuits for the kids by room service. Plus the shower head was fantastic! On a negative note the pool was closed when we were there, but I'm sure when it will be finished it will a lovely area to sit out and look out over the hustle and bustle of Cairo.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samar a, Digital Marketing Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We were privileged and delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated us all.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to accompanying you soon at Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Traveled here on a cruise shore excursion. The hotel was tremendous.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samar a, Digital Marketing Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We were privileged and delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated us all.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to accompanying you soon at Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This hotel was amazing from day one mainly because of the service we received. The concierge - Mohamed and Hassan were first class and very patient and always willing to help.

The hotel is still not complete but travelling with a 5 year old and 1 year old was very easy due to the hotel team being so helpful. We have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels, but this ome stands out for service. We visited the 5 star conrad next door and the service was noticeably poorer.

Ultimately what makes a great holiday are the people, and the Fairmont Nile City, from our experience delivered on this on all counts. Cairo is mad crazy and polluted city (which is pretty exciting too) but the Fairmont made life a lot more fun and easier.

Only suggestions for improvement would be:

1. warmer pool - will be great i am sure when the spa and gym opens properly
2. the tours are certainly pricey - we organised our own for much lower prices- but i am sure the fairmont's would be pretty good and luxurious if we had used them

in summary the team made our children very welcome in a very business like hotel.

stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samar a, Digital Marketing Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We were privileged and delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated us all.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to accompanying you soon at Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,554 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Property: Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#6 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing