We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont Nile City December 28-30, 2010 based on Trip Advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. From the moment we entered to the time we left, all our needs were met with the utmost care. Our accomodations were superb - I slept like a baby. I was pleasantly surprised that I was not disturbed by the traffic outside as our room was on the 7th floor and looked out onto the Nile River and the busy streets.

The hotel was connected to the Nile City tower which had additional restaurants, shopping and a Starbucks!!!!! When travel takes me back to Cairo, I will be staying at the Fairmont Nile City.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    304
    88
    54
    62
See reviews for
296
445
154
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Fairmont Nile is a new, modern hotel that has a lot going for it. We booked rooms there after reading Trip Advisor reviews and I am so glad we did. The Club Floor rooms were nicely done with large glass windows overlooking the Nile. The lounge was a wonderful place to have breakfast, afternoon tea and late night snacks. All the food was beautifully prepared and the concierge service was commendable. It is attached to a new mall which has movies, Starbucks, a good sushi restaurant, some fast food chains, a beauty salon and a pharmacy. Very convenient if you don't feel like fighting the insane traffic of Cairo. The rooftop pool is beautiful and they have a nice lunch selection that you can eat poolside. They also have 2 nice restaurants...Saigon Bleu and Napa Grill. We tried both and liked them. I highly recommend the Fairmont Nile City.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed for four nights from 28th December to 1st January. Boked a delux nile room which ws top of room selection with full nile view. Room was good quality with excellent bathroom and tb. Think we could have got an upgrade to this room because when I asked for an upgrade she said you have the top room and so there are only suites etc. so good bet would be to o for room below. Facilities are very good. Restaurants good. Service is excellent and staff exceptionally pleasant. Nothing is too much trouble. We didn't use any of the facilities other than the sun terrace on the roof top - not the pool. New hotel and some of the facilities are not avilable such as more restaurants and sky top bar. Views are excellent from the top. Negatives - only that there is no garden or outside restarurant which would be nice. Cairo - it's a dump but seeing Tutenkhmen and the mummies in the Egyptian museum was worth it. In order to get free internet access and free local phone calls you must join the Presidents Club (think that's the name, it's free) Do this before you go because it is only valid for your next trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed at the Fairmont Nile for our first night and last 3 nights in Cairo. The hotel, huge and somewhat imposing is absolutely beautiful and the service is fantastic. The rooms themselves are tasteful and of superb quality, particularly the bathrooms. House keeping was very good and a view of the Nile for our last three nights was excellent. There are a number of eateries/bars to choose from, all of which provide a great dining experience. We ate at the Napa Grill (modern mix of cuisine) and Saigon Blue (seafood galore), as well as having lunch in the Jazz bar and indulging in room service. The food prices were on a par with London prices, and alcohol in particular was extortionately priced. Expect to pay £40 for a bottle of mediocre wine and £7 for a double - probably better to remain teetotal during your time here - when in Rome so to speak! Add the cost of the ubiquitous baksheesh to everything and the pounds soon start clocking up - and no-one ever has any change! One afternoon at the rooftop bar, a member of staff asked if it was ok to keep a E£40 tip for two drinks that only came to E£110 - a bit cheeky! Internet access cost E£160 for 24hrs. A small criticism would be that some ( a tiny minority out of many) of the staff (predominantly male) do not acknowledge you if you are a female, or tend to talk almost exclusively to the male. Whilst I respect that this is a cultural issue, for an international hotel frequented by all nationalities and cultures, this seems rather antiquated and I do think that the hotel would benefit from having more female staff. However overall I would highly recommend the Fairmont Nile for an exclusive 5 star experience - a welcome relief from the smog and noise of Cairo streets!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I am barely going to mention how nice the physical aspect of this hotel is. The pools are immaculate. The rooms are great. The bathroom was unbelievable. Let me talk about the service.

Breakfast was sooooo good. The waiters were so kind. Each day they would go above and beyond and bring two huge bottled waters. Give advice about where to go, what to see, and how to get there. Each day they would go to the breakfast buffet and bring back unique Egyptian food dishes for us to try. They would go back into the kitchen and make us Mango shakes. Oh how I miss those mango shakes.

Our luggage was lost by the airport. We were visibly upset when arriving at the Fairmont. Neither of us had any extra clothes in our carry-ons. Upon arriving in our room, there was knock at door within 5 minutes. Without us even asking, the front desk had sent up two collared Fairmont polo shirts and two pair of navy blue dress pants. We didnt exactly make a fashion statement but were so thankful to have clean clothes the next day while exploring Cairo.

Lastly, I left a backpack with camera in the lobby before departing from the airport. We were so upset thinking that all of our pictures would be gone. Upon returning home, we had no idea that the backpack had been left in the lobby. The Fairmont assured us that they had found it and provided several options to return the bag to us.

Dont even think about staying anywhere else in Cairo. Enjoy. Great City.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bms3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

There is no better time to visit Cairo, Egypt than now. The weather is wonderful, flights are cheap, and the city is booming with tourism. Recently, we decided to take a family vacation to Cairo during the holiday season. While the airport is pretty easy to navigate through, we found the Fairmont Hotel travel desk to be helpful! There we booked a limo/car for 120 LE ($20/25 USD) to take us to the Fairmont. The price is pretty reasonable considering the distance and Egyptian traffic.

While the magnificent structure overlooking the Nile is breathtaking, I found the security on the property to be great! Before any driver enters the property their vehicle is searched and their information is taken. This is great for guest who are touring and will be leaving with a company that is not sponsored by Concierge.

By far, the hotel is immaculate and the service is amazing. However, the one drawback is that this property is not really family oriented with activities for young children. However, its sister property the Fairmont Heliopolis may suit one's needs better (plus it is closer to the airport). Sidenote: If you are not a member of the Fairmont's President's Club, be prepared to pay a tarriff to use the internet. Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This hotel is a little big and imposing, and it can be a little difficult to navigate your way around the communal areas. The rooms are beautiful and immaculately presented and cleaned. The bathrooms are amazing, I think the rain shower is quite possibly the best shower I have ever used! The staff are friendly and try to help however they can. The food is good, albeit maybe a little pricey. The bed is very comfortable!

The only downside is that the DVD players in the rooms are a little temperamental...but the staff are willing to help and replace it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiralP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
1,533 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Property: Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing