We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Reliable, good value”
Review of The Karvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Karvin Hotel
Ranked #76 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean & Reliable, good value”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is in the mid-range when it comes to price but you get a good bit for what you pay for. The room is clean and the water is hot. (Sometimes a rare thing) The staff is excellent and all very knowledgeable with English. This will come in handy if you do not know Arabic. The restaurants are top notch. The location is not in the heart of Cairo, but it is in a great quiet neighborhood in one of the suburbs very close to the airport. A short taxi ride (by Cairo’s Standards) and you are downtown.

Bottom line: it is not the biggest or fanciest but its clean and reliable. I lived in Cairo for several years and this was always my go too hotel when business clients, friend or family would come to visit.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a group the suite here are an amazing value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandJAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
12
22
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alexandria
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

very good service also great comfort and simple also caring thank you

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marwa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuhan, China
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I would strongly recommend this hotel in Cairo : clean, safe, friendly and very well managed!!
It is one the few hotels I really felt like home..
Excellent value for money!
Felix Aranda

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARANDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gouna, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The handsomely and conveniently located Karvin Hotel, set in a quiet residential area 30 minutwes from the airport, is our stomping ground whenever visiting Cairo for business or pleasure.

The friendly staff and caring management radiate proverbial hospitality with a personal service touch; locals and Indians flock to the hotel’s Masala restaurant to enjoy its exquisite Indian cuisine. The open bar roof terrace is a pleasant spot to round off any day.

If there’s room for improvement it would have to be the capuccino really. During our stays we encountered one bizarre incident only; woken up at 3am by the reception to confirm our 8am morning call…

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

althrogh the cost of a room in the hotel was quite exspensive the memroies was something i would never had expected from a three star hotel i came to egypt with my famly and expected to stay in an average 3 star but after my first day at the hotel i felt like the karvin hotel was a home away from home, the manger greted me and made sure i was comftrble with the hotel the staf were freindly and the roof top was amazing the hotel was surely worth the cost

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I visited Cairo on dec , I was in karvin hotel , I found it very nice place , you will take the five star service in four stars hotel , also the place is very quite ,the people are very nice and the price is fine.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I CAN STAND MANY ISSUES WHEN TRAVELLING BUT NOT TO HAVE COCKROACHES ON MY NIGHT SHELF STARING AT ME OR THE FACT THAT THEIR BED SHEET SMELL LIKE URINE. YES, URINE. the balconey door was left open as there was no lock and anything can crawl in, it was mentioned they have personalized safe inside eachroom, but there is none, and they make you sign a paper that they are not responsible if something valuable is missing, why is this hotel a 3 star?? i would never know.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hafsa777734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.0 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#107 of 138 in Cairo
37 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tolip EL Narges
Tolip EL Narges
#45 of 138 in Cairo
11 reviews
6.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#87 of 138 in Cairo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#49 of 138 in Cairo
47 reviews
2.4 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#78 of 138 in Cairo
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Karvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Karvin Hotel

Property: The Karvin Hotel
Address: 11, Mohamed Ebeid Street, off Nozha Street | El Sabaa Emarat Square, Heliopolis, Cairo 11341, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Karvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karvin Hotel is "A Home Away From Home...."Conveniently located in an exclusive area of Heliopolis, Cairo. It is close to tourist destinations, Cairo International airport, the conference center and Cairo exhibition center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Karvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karvin Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing