We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, but not without bugs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talisman Hotel de Charme

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Talisman Hotel de Charme
Ranked #56 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming, but not without bugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My room was nice, clean, and as a matter of fact, the one pictured above (blue rimmed headboard, sienna walls). It's clean, quiet, conveniently located and all that. The building the hotel is in (it occupies the entire 5th floor) is a dump. Don't let that bother you. Things work in the room - the AC, the TV, the bathroom - but are just a tad run down. And there's slopping things that they could fix, like the smeared paint job on the bathroom walls (see photo)
Probably the worst thing about this place is the breakfast, which is just awful. Skip it (I'm sure that's what they want you to do anyway). The cheese is old, the bread is white, the pastries taste cheap & old, the coffee is instant, the yogurt is room-temperature and the eggs, which you should be able to order as you like, tend to come however they feel like giving them to you. Two days in a row, I tried to get fried eggs. The first day, I got scrambled eggs. The second day I got fried eggs, but suspended in oil. Like oil above, oil below, oil everywhere. Just looking at them made me sick, so I went with the sad hard-boiled eggs and the tired-looking plate of sliced tomatoes & cucumbers. You're better off eating at any other hole in the wall in Cairo, or, better yet, going to one of the cafes on the Nile.
Also, don't expect the front desk to give you walking directions anywhere. The guy I dealt with kept telling me to get into a white cab. Which, okay, fine, I might do, but with traffic what it is in Cairo, you can spend all day in a cab trying to get to a place you could walk to in an hour.
Over all, a pleasant experience, and I'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank availablename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    80
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
95
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Way too expensive for a hotel like this. Charge $120 for a double room! U can get a 4 star hotel for this price! Located on the six floor of an old building, stair very dirty. Rooms r ok, with Egyptian style, but very small, and the view of the window is nothing to see.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccham37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

the best traveling is time-traveling, and enter the charming past at this hotel.
But also enter the smoking past, where the elegant sitting rooms smell like ash-trays after years of second-hand smoke. Having non-smoking rooms in a smoking hotel is like having a peeing section in a public pool, not a great idea.
Egyptians have less sense of smell left, but foreigners beware. The rooms are great. A bit of French helps as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaketravelsabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonuk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed twice at the beginning and end of our 2 week trip in Egypt. Our first experience was generally fine a nice room with balcony, adequate breakfast but getting coffee from a single coffee making machine was extremely slow and frustrating. On our return we got put in a room near reception (noisy), over looking a rubbish dump, could do with upgrading. The tiolet didn't work and even after reporting nothing got done, on our first visit we had sporadic water supply for a shower.
Finally we ordered a taxi from the hotel to the airport, total mistake, double the price and the taxi never showed, waited over an hour and hotel staff didn't seem interested. Eventually due to the heavy traffic we missed out flight.

Room Tip: away from reception room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Talisman Hotel is the perfect place to stay in the heart of Cairo if you are looking for a friendly boutique hotel that is well-run and has easy access to the Egyptian Museum at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

excellent hotel in the busiest part of the city, but quiet and very comfortable with excellent staff and service. You will never find it unless you know where to look- there isnt even a sign outside, and the entrance isnt very typical, but well worth the effort. ten minutes walk from tahrir Square and the Museum, five minutes from the metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller123159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevuewa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

The location of this hotel is its biggest liability. Its in a hectic, noisy, somewhat scruffy part of downtown Cairo. Some of the sites are within walking distance (if you like long walks) but there are few restaurants in the area, so you will spend considerable time every evening driving through traffic to find a decent place for dinner. Our room was large,but the bathroom was tiny. The whole shabby chic Arabian nights theme is starting to err on the side of just shabby. The hotel is on the fifth floor of an old buidling and while the elevator is vintage and charming I kept praying it had been inspected sometime in the last decade. I would recommend staying closer to the Nile or in Zamalek rather than in this area of town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Belle Epoque
Villa Belle Epoque
#38 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gabriel Hotel
The Gabriel Hotel
#44 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Hotel de charme
Le Riad Hotel de charme
#46 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#40 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talisman Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talisman Hotel de Charme

Property: Talisman Hotel de Charme
Address: 39 Talat Harb Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Talisman Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Talisman Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing