We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”
Review of Havana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Havana Hotel
Ranked #50 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at Havana Hotel for 4 days and overall, I would recommend this hotel, although there are a few gotchas.

The hotel is tastily and efficiently designed to maximize the space of the rooms, the beds are firm, and the hotel is extremely clean. The service was great, as the staff is very accommodating. Hotel location is in a convenient & safe area of Mohandessein, where there are restaurants, markets, and shopping just minutes away. However, the hotel is not located on a 'busy' street, by Cairo standards. Wi-fi in the room was excellent!

As for the gotchas 1.) Most of the rooms face adjacent buildings or alleyways, which makes for an awful view. Cairo is a place with many old buildings and trash is about everywhere, so this is the view unless the drapes are shut. 2.) The lighting in the room is soft and dim. 3.) The hotel is 2 floors, 15 rooms each. There are no elevators in this hotel. 4.) They have free afternoon tea and cake from 7pm-8pm, and a pretty good breakfast although some items (including the cake) had a freezer burned taste. 5.) The doorbells are loud, so much so one would think it is their own bell ringing. I found myself checking the door the first few times, then learned to ignore the doorbells thereafter.

Factoring in the pros and cons, this hotel is worth considering for your trip, especially at this price range.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MindlessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

I will preface this review by saying this is Cairo, and when i rate this hotel highly, its for what it is, in the city it is!

Easily found by our driver, we were greeted, checked in promptly (at 6:30am!), and werent harrassed for tips. So we were very grateful to get into our room WAY before 12. Otherwise the room was clean, small but then again it was a king sized bed! The bathroom had a shower, no bath, but was clean and spacious considering some of the closet sized bathrooms ive seen before!

Tv and free fast wifi are available, and none of that new code for a new day nonsense. AC works very well, and there are extra blankets. Next door is a "no questions asked" money exchange, with good rates, and across the road is a pretty decent shwarma place. Also a pharmacy across the road. And always a handy securtiy guy outside! the breakfast was actually better than i thought, with omlettes, fruits, yoghurt, eggs, cheese, breads, and a couple other odd things i didnt try. From7-9am.

Honestly we only really slept and had breakfast here, but it was more than comfortable, and the staff were always helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This could easily be a 5-star review, were it for a major issue to me: the noise. Let's start from the beginnning. Havana Hotel it's overall a nice hotel and a smart choice if you are on a budget. The Hotel has a very friendly and polite staff. The rooms are spacious and, most of all, very clean (which is not so common for a country like Egypt). They also arrange a free pick-up at the airport (very useful when you arrive and don't know the city yet).

Considering the price you pay could be a big deal but all is screwed-up by the . First, the hotel is facing a quite crowded and trafficked Cairo Street and egyptians are certainly not the quietest drivers in the world (they honk all the time, day or night, everyday). So I asked for a room in the backyard, but the situation wasn't much better. The windows were not perfectly closed so you hear the traffic as well (and you have to add the Muezzin start praying with a PA at 6 in the morning).
The room doors, also, are old and they are not noise-reducing. Mine had a 2 centimeters gap with the corridor so the light came at night, very disturbing, and of course it was like sleeping in the corridor itself. Even if the guests in the other rooms are only talking you hear them perfectly.
There is also a free wi-fi which can be considered a "plus", if it only worked (I stayed 3 nights and wi-fi didn't work for 2 nights).

So, if you are the kind of people who don't care for noise and can sleep in every circumstance, Havana Hotel it's a great bargain. But, if you, like me, need quiet places to sleep, you'd better keep off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Havana Hotel before (him twice, me once) and loved it. So when we had to return to Cairo, we thought we'd stick with what we knew...

The staff were still friendly. The breakfast buffet was still filling and healthy. The room, however was just not completely cleaned. The sheets had been changed and bed made up but nothing else was done. We reported it to the front desk who sent someone up immediately to sort out the problem, but the pleasant feelings surrounding the Havana Hotel were destroyed.

It's still good value for money and maybe our experience was a rare occurrence, but I would probably try somewhere else if I had to return to Cairo.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaynieP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Very clean hotel and rooms. The staff are all super friendly and very helpful. The buffet breakfast is really good and there is a good choice of items. A great hotel would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheeselington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed at the hotel from 18 to 20 Sept and from 23 to 25 Sept They picked me up from the airport and arranged a taxi to the airport when I left having fixed the taxi fare. The breakfast and dinner are good although there is not a big range to choose from. The friendliness of the staff and their memory of you are unreal. One of my ports was lost at the airport on my first visit and when I came to reception i didn't have to ask, I was greeted with, "You luggage has arrived.". I would not stay any where else in Cairo.

Room Tip: First floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Clean good standard hotel. Small, friendly and professional run hotel.
Food good and can not fault the cleanliness of the hotel.
Reception very helpful.
Good location as seemed safe and clean area by Cairo standards.
Definitely recommend this to anyone...

Room Tip: There is not many windows in this hotel being Cairo so be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#101 of 139 in Cairo
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#73 of 139 in Cairo
75 reviews
0 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#56 of 139 in Cairo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Caesar's Palace Hotel
Caesar's Palace Hotel
#82 of 139 in Cairo
9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
1.2 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#106 of 139 in Cairo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Hotel

Address: 26 Syria St | Mohandseen, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £34 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo Egypt, 30 min to the pyramids. 25 air conditioned rooms with power shower in private bathroom. Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours, laundry, free wireless internet and conference room. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing