We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Havana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Havana Hotel
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
piemonte
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Good position to travel all over the city; recently refurbished rooms-bathrooms, which have enough space; rooms are pretty clean. Very nice, friendly people at the reception; continental breakfast is on the average (but food quality could be better; not a large choice). Not tested the self-service menu at 35 E.L. 24-hour gard at the entrance. Ask to be lodged in the rear rooms to avoid the noise from the street. Valuable hotel, with a good relationship price-quality, a real 3 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    77
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
52
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Clean hotel, good service, good breakfast including cook to order omelets. The towels are air dried so they seem thin and scratchy. Room was clean and good sized. The beds are very firm, some would say hard, but were comfortable to me.

Worked with Osama (the manager) via email to make reservations for several rooms. Response was prompt with no issues. It seemed weird to make reservations without any payment or formal confirmation other than a brief email but everything worked out fine.

I've read other complaints about road noise but we found it to be fine with a room close to the street. At $80 USD with three beds including breakfast, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodguy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bavaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Too expensive for quality, position and roomservice. No nightlife and no reasonable restaurants nearby, only by taxi you can go anywhere.
Take care, there is no refilling of toilet-paper, and the free airport transfer is only from the airport, not back again. Construction and traffic make the nights loud and dusty.
Stuff seems not to be qualified, breakfast is o.k. but always the same.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

If you are a budget traveler, then I highly recommend this hotel. You’ll get an adequate room at a good price. The service is absolutely amazing. We had some really unusual requests and every time, the hotel staff came through. This hotel has the most courteous, solicitous and industrious bellman I have ever seen. Their level of service beats any 5 star in town.

Having said that; the rooms will not please the discriminating traveler. The linens and towels are thin, old and have some stains.

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our work days. The first room I had had was very unpleasant. The room faced the street and was very loud and smelled of cigarettes from the chairs below the window. While I did not plan to return to the hotel, my colleagues were all staying there.

When I returned, I had a much nicer room. It was a little larger, quieter and did not smell like smoke. The better room coupled with the GREAT service, allows me to recommend this hotel. There is a great little restaurent nearby called GAD. It is within walking distance and you can eat the food there or take it with you. YUMMY! There is also a bakery a few doors down from the hotel. Another stop on the YUMMY trail! Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveTrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The hotel sent their van to pick us up at the airport. Arriving at night, and not having to negotiate a taxi fare without knowing the rules was a godsend. Saving the taxi fare is a significant cost savings. Staff was very helpfull. Several banks with ATMs within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I travelled with my 4 adult children--we took 2 rooms; a triple and double. The rooms were nicely sized and comfortable--though mattresses were on the hard side and some harder than others. Bathrooms were clean; water pressure and hot water were ample. Hallways were brightly lit and spotless. Rooms were quiet. The neighborhood is convenient to the Giza pyramids, and 30 minutes to central Cairo by taxi. Very pleasant area--couple of nice restaurants within 2 blocks--also a western style supermarket on the same block Service was welcoming and friendly and always helpful. The front desk went above and beyond the call when my sons were running late for their return flight to the U.S. The desk clerk noted their cab driver's cell numbe and phoned him after the cab left the hotel to give him updated information about the correct terminal to go to. Also, I had forgotten some garments in one of the room closets when we left for a couple of days to travel outside Cairo. The hotel staff bagged the clothes and returned them to me when we returned for the second part of our stay . Breakfast was o.k.--consistent if unexciting--plenty of food. This place is a find. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2009

This Hotel was better than expected! It was very clean and the location is in the heart of Cairo. Very Recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#75 of 137 in Cairo
72 reviews
2.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#51 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
378 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
5.7 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#57 of 137 in Cairo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Hotel

Property: Havana Hotel
Address: 26 Syria St | Mohandseen, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo Egypt, 30 min to the pyramids. 25 air conditioned rooms with power shower in private bathroom. Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours, laundry, free wireless internet and conference room. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing