We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place!”
Review of Havana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Havana Hotel
Ranked #49 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little place!”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We only had an overnight stay here but it was a great experience.
The staff in the hotel were excellent and very helpful.
The room was simple but clean.
It was located conveniently in a middle class neighborhood with shops, restaurants and supermarket super close to the hotel. However, it was away from touristy attractions, and it would require car or taxi ride to the Nile.
The hotel also provided free transfer from airport to hotel, an arrangement would be needed via e-mail. The only downside was that it was very difficult to get an answer to confirm the transfer before arrival even with multiple attempts to communicate via e-mail. We eventually called long distance to the hotel to make sure that transfer would be provided.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weectravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    77
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
52
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berks, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Fair location in relation to getting to major tourist sites. Hotel is located in a very busy/noisy part of Cairo. It took us over 1 hour to get to hotel from airport, traffic. Ok hotel for short stay, was suitable for us, 3 nights stay, got to see all major sites, booked toured guides for all excursions, fair prices, booked with 'Select Egypt', whlist in Cairo, via internet, good reliable service.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Wonderful little Hotel on a budget - Great organised private tours through the Hotel reception - very helpful staff - rooms are spotlessly clean, overall a 10/10 - highly recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin20Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Havana Hotel is a very comfortable and clean hotel. Though they do not have swimming pool ,their fascilities are quite good. their location is also very nice. surrounded by many shops,malls,pharmacies and reastaurants. one problem which can be faced by aged ppl is,they do not have elevator. Their staffs are very friendly and helpful. the reception boys are particularly very good. their package deals are also great, but their luxor agent was not as satisfying as they are.. check out the 'la paire' pastry shop and 'chopstick' chinese reastaurant just opposite to the hotel. the guide they arranged for us was really good !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2009

It's a very comfortable hotel to stay. The staff are extremely helpful & will do everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The location is also excellent. If I go to Cairo again, I'll certainly stay in Havana hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The hotel itself was fine. Staff very friendly and room was ok for Cairo standards. Free wifi, tv and good fridge in room, air con and thats about it. I just found it too far away from the city. I needed to catch cabs everywhere, which started to add up in cost after a few days. I suppose the area, Mohandiseen, is quieter than the city, but my room was on the street so it was a little noisy. The hotel is fine (although I wouldn't recommend the restaurant attached), my main problem was having to catch cabs everywhere. Oh, and the hotel only provided me with a really crappy map, so bring your own if you can, or buy one from someplace.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki-cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Good little hotel. The room was ok for the price. Really close to Giza but far from else where. No night life in the area. The staff and management were very helpful. If the room was better I would stay here the next time. Main gripe is with the towels. After a day battling with the sun and sand, I didn't want to fight the same battle with the towel while wiping my body and face. The towels were thin and course. Never got a chance to test out that famous Egyptian Cotton.

Recommend for budget traveler looking for a place to crash for a long day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elnooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#70 of 138 in Cairo
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#71 of 138 in Cairo
162 reviews
2.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 138 in Cairo
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#46 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Hotel

Property: Havana Hotel
Address: 26 Syria St | Mohandseen, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo Egypt, 30 min to the pyramids. 25 air conditioned rooms with power shower in private bathroom. Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours, laundry, free wireless internet and conference room. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing