We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as good as it could be.”
Review of Havana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Havana Hotel
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Havana could be something rather special but sadly it falls short on several fronts and consequently is a rather ordinary hotel. At around £50 a night, it represents pretty poor value. At the £30-35 mark, one could forgive some of its shortcomings but at £50+, it needs to do better. My room was quite noisy - not only from the street but from the neighbouring room which was joined by a badly-sealed interconnecting door. The breakfast was grim: some rather stale-tasting, bread, cake and mini-croissants, some limp-looking salad items and a measly selection of yoghurts. There were three tureens of hot food - but all congealed and unappetizing. There were always several staff hanging around the dining area but not actually doing anything useful; e,g. checking your room number rather than offering a refill of coffee. Breakfast could be dramatically improved at a stroke and for very little extra cost. And it would make a great difference to the way guests felt. The location isn't particularly convenient for the main sights of Cairo and everywhere you want to go is a taxi ride away which means haggling over the fare and then braving the madness of Cairo's drivers. Good points: the hotel provided a free transfer from the airport to the hotel - and that was very efficient and made a good first impression. (For the return transfer we were charged 100 Egyptian pounds (about £12.) The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the young man who greeted us on the first night and couldn't have been more smiley and welcoming. He also spoke excellent English. In fact the Egyptian owner and his English wife could pick up a tip or two from this member of staff. They came across as rather aloof with little interest in their guests which doesn't create a great impression. And for this guest it means, I wouldn't recommend the hotel. I'm sure for the same money, one could find better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

We only had an overnight stay here but it was a great experience.
The staff in the hotel were excellent and very helpful.
The room was simple but clean.
It was located conveniently in a middle class neighborhood with shops, restaurants and supermarket super close to the hotel. However, it was away from touristy attractions, and it would require car or taxi ride to the Nile.
The hotel also provided free transfer from airport to hotel, an arrangement would be needed via e-mail. The only downside was that it was very difficult to get an answer to confirm the transfer before arrival even with multiple attempts to communicate via e-mail. We eventually called long distance to the hotel to make sure that transfer would be provided.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weectravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Fair location in relation to getting to major tourist sites. Hotel is located in a very busy/noisy part of Cairo. It took us over 1 hour to get to hotel from airport, traffic. Ok hotel for short stay, was suitable for us, 3 nights stay, got to see all major sites, booked toured guides for all excursions, fair prices, booked with 'Select Egypt', whlist in Cairo, via internet, good reliable service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Wonderful little Hotel on a budget - Great organised private tours through the Hotel reception - very helpful staff - rooms are spotlessly clean, overall a 10/10 - highly recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin20Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Havana Hotel is a very comfortable and clean hotel. Though they do not have swimming pool ,their fascilities are quite good. their location is also very nice. surrounded by many shops,malls,pharmacies and reastaurants. one problem which can be faced by aged ppl is,they do not have elevator. Their staffs are very friendly and helpful. the reception boys are particularly very good. their package deals are also great, but their luxor agent was not as satisfying as they are.. check out the 'la paire' pastry shop and 'chopstick' chinese reastaurant just opposite to the hotel. the guide they arranged for us was really good !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

It's a very comfortable hotel to stay. The staff are extremely helpful & will do everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The location is also excellent. If I go to Cairo again, I'll certainly stay in Havana hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The hotel itself was fine. Staff very friendly and room was ok for Cairo standards. Free wifi, tv and good fridge in room, air con and thats about it. I just found it too far away from the city. I needed to catch cabs everywhere, which started to add up in cost after a few days. I suppose the area, Mohandiseen, is quieter than the city, but my room was on the street so it was a little noisy. The hotel is fine (although I wouldn't recommend the restaurant attached), my main problem was having to catch cabs everywhere. Oh, and the hotel only provided me with a really crappy map, so bring your own if you can, or buy one from someplace.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki-cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#100 of 138 in Cairo
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#74 of 138 in Cairo
75 reviews
0 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#56 of 138 in Cairo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Caesar's Palace Hotel
Caesar's Palace Hotel
#82 of 138 in Cairo
9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
1.2 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#103 of 138 in Cairo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Hotel

Address: 26 Syria St | Mohandseen, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £35 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo Egypt, 30 min to the pyramids. 25 air conditioned rooms with power shower in private bathroom. Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours, laundry, free wireless internet and conference room. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing