We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was basic, clean with an average breakfast”
Review of Havana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Havana Hotel
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I travelled to Egypt from 15th to 26th September 2010 with my family.

The hotel was clean with basic amenities in place....don't expect anything fancy here. The linen and towels were changed daily. We had some issues with the cleaning of the washrooms but that was sorted to our satisfaction.

We got our tours done from here...

One big TIP here - During the tours, the guide might insist on eating in a place that serves buffet........these buffet lunches charge a lot and don't mean much....so you can stick to Mac Donald's and KFC.....they are safe, both money and hygiene wise.

You can buy water and drinks, some dry snacks to store in the room from Metro departmental store which is two minutes walk on the left as you leave the hotel.

I must mention that Mr. Mohammad Fathy, the manager in Havana Hotel was a great help....very enterprising!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RekhaSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

The Hotel was very nice and cozy. The people there very friendly and helpful and they speak English !!

Room always clean. Toilet facilities good. Hot water round the clock. A/C available.

I really enjoyed my stay there. If ever I go to Cairo...I will definitely stay there.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essackjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My company sent me to Tel Aviv on business, and I felt if I was here in the Middle East anyway, I had to visit Egypt. As a woman alone, I was concerned as to how I would fare. Through Trip Advisor (and recognizing the name of a guide already known to a friend) I picked the Havana Hotel. It is on the Giza side of the Nile, so across the river from the downtown core, but as cabs are inexpensive, that doesn't matter so much. It is unlikely that as newcomers you would be doing much wandering on the streets alone anyway.

The hotel facilites themselves are just adequate, but okay.. Make sure to ask for a room in the back, as otherwise you hear all the noise from the traffic. Breakfast is passable (though how I wish hotels, etc. would stop serving Instant Coffee everywhere!), but a TV is always on there with loud music/commercials playing, so one does not tend to linger. Don't bother eating dinner there - go to one of the larger hotels for that.

What was truly outstanding for me - as a single woman - were the people the hotel use for transportation and for tours. The hotels driver pick you up from the airport for free, just call to make the arrangement. Bassem was my driver and while I was here I saw quite a bit of him: he was very reliable AND a good source of information about Cairo and Egypt. The hotel also offers a number of packages - in retrospect, I'd avoid the Light Show at the Pyramids, and the dinner cruise, but the tour of the Pyramids and Saqqara, as lead by Michel, was excellent. Michel was also a font of information about all things Egyptian.

If you ARE a woman travelling alone, keep in mind that walking on the street by yourself is problematic. Very few Egyptian women seem to be on the street, it is almost all men, and even if you are 'modestly attired', you will stand out as a non-Egyptian. This is why I was so pleased with the quality of people provided by the Havana.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stayed at the Havana for four nights with family. Location was excellent with safe streets and local shops, ATMs and good restaurants within easy walking. Quieter and cheaper than downtown Cairo. Rooms clean if basic but everything essential is provided (en suite, TV, free WiFi). Oddly, spoons at breakfast seem to be at a premium - but provided if you ask! Good range of tours arranged (very good guide plus driver) and although more expensive than doing it yourself it was well worth the extra for the convenience and protection from the inevitable Egyptian scams! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

It was rated 3 stars when we were choosing hotels, but it's definitely worth more than it looks.

Location: Next to a HSBC ATM and a supermarket - which is essential to get cheap water and snacks in Cairo; 5mins walk from an excellent Egyptian restaurant " Abu Alma ElSoury" and some western fastfood shops.

Staff: friendly and helpful. The advice about places to go, taxi fares etc are very genuine. They are always ready to meet your need - our flight to Aswan was very late at night, far passed the checkout time and we had nowhere to go. The receptionist kindly allowed us to stay in a free room FREE OF CHARGE so that we could rest :)

The Hotel: rooms were not as luxury and new as other 5stars, but they are clean and tidy. We felt safe and comfortable staying in this hotel. Free internet access was an ace.

Food: breakfast on Sunday wasn't great, but freshly cooked eggs on other days was appreciable.

Tours: there are pyramids tour and old Cairo tour available at reasonable prices. Tour guides were friendly, spoke fluent English, and to high standard. They were happy to tailor the tours to our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of a 12 day tour of Egypt. We were very pleased with this hotel. First of all, it is in a great location. We felt very safe walking around the streets on our own and shopping. There are a lot of stores and restaurants in the general area and there's even a supermarket within a 1 minute walk.
The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful. We found the breakfast buffet to be standard for Egypt (toast, omelets, cereal, tea/coffee) and since we are not picky eaters we were satisfied!
Our room was no frills but very comfortable and we were able to get a very restful nights sleep. What we loved most about this hotel was it's great location! We recommend it to anyone travelling on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfieTravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed at the Havana Hotel for one week and chose their Cairo, Luxor, Giza tour package. It was affordable and fun! The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious and it is in a great location. The hotel staff is amazing! They go out of their way to make sure every guest is happy and comfortable. If you choose one of the tour packages, be sure to request Michael as your driver and Mikel as your tour guide! These two made the trip especially memorable! The only thing I must warn about is the train ride to Luxor...let's just say it is an experience you won't forget : ) *I would definitely stay at this hotel again*

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#76 of 143 in Cairo
75 reviews
0 mi away
Arabia Hotel
Arabia Hotel
#61 of 143 in Cairo
21 reviews
0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#68 of 143 in Cairo
44 reviews
0 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#60 of 143 in Cairo
9 reviews
0 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#109 of 143 in Cairo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Hotel

Address: 26 Syria St | Mohandseen, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £26 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo Egypt, 30 min to the pyramids. 25 air conditioned rooms with power shower in private bathroom. Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours, laundry, free wireless internet and conference room. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Havana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing