We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The Osiris Hotel is all that it claims, clean, comfortable, in a great location with a friendly and helpful advise always available.
Our tours arranged by the hotel were excellent, they puchased our overnight train tickets to Luxor for us and got us to the station on time through the chaotic traffic.
Good restaurants and a Costa coffee shop were within walking distance as was the Egyptian museum.
To top it off there was always cold beer in the fridge!
What more could you want!

Room Tip: Ring up the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenJ482015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    121
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
166
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We chose this hotel for it's central location and it's top pick rating in Lonely Planet. The rating was not justified, but the location was definitely worthwhile. We were able to walk to Museum, Tahrir square, Cairo tower and enjoyed cruising the downtown area. We had a great view of Cairo from our balcony and the breakfast terrace was also a good place to absorb the sights and sounds of Cairo. Breakfast was spartan and the shower very cramped. We had no hot water when we first checked in but this was soon sorted out for us. Room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath_and_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

After spending a day in the hassle of Cairo, Osiris is a great boutique hotel where you can unwind and relax! Offering quiet, clean and good rooms, beautiful views and great service a recommendation is made for those looking for a smaller hotel in which personal service is of greater importance than the larger hotels with different concepts.
We stayed in a balcony room overlooking dusty Cairo. No better place to start the day than here. Continental breakfast is simple but good. Help in terms of tours is provided by very friendly and knowing staff members.

Room Tip: Balcony room, bit more expensive, worth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwv028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My sister and I have just returned from staying at the Hotel Osiris. It was great value for money, breakfast was great, it was very clean and the rooftop terrace was amazing. The location was also perfect close to the museum. My sister and I were a little scared about travelling by ourselves and booked everything on-line direct with the owners Josainne and Nobil. Nabil really looked after us and was very attentive to all guest even helping them with forwarding journeys ie., making phone calls and assisting train trips. Nothing was to much trouble for Josainne and Nobil he was available at all times. We arranged transfers to and from hotel and all our trips through Nobil and they were very reasonable. He always had a cold beer on hand for us when we returned from tours and was always available for a chat about anything and everything about Eypypt. Any travellers leaving via terminal 1, there is an amazing lounge upstairs once you go through customs with loads of free fresh food and drinks.Nobil also recommended us to the most amazing restaurants. Its not advertised so make sure you ask for it. Thank you Nobil and Josainne, you made our trip a most memorable one. Will definately stay there again and recommong anyone to stay there. Tracey & Carole Australia

Room Tip: we had a double with balcony and ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper04255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Osiris. Nabile and Josiane are delightful hosts, full of good humor and hospitality. Objective review below!

The Good - the location is perfect for exploring the city (a few minutes from the Egyptian Museum and Talat Harb, 30 minutes from Khan el Khalili and Zamalek), the rooftop terrace is a splendid place to relax, the homemade breakfast, free wifi, spacious room (#124, I think), clean clean clean, provided an absolutely outstanding guide and driver for a day tour

The Bad - the elevators are abyssmal, we got stuck in them twice and spent most of our time climbing up and down 11 flights of stairs rather than risk it again, the mattresses are pretty uncomfortable, the towels are starched into cardboard, there is no access to a computer as advertised (the free wifi works in the common areas and is great!)

Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

After reading through so many horror stories about Egypt, I am glad I chose Osiris because the staffs are friendly & most of all, the room is clean! (Probably because they dont allow you to eat in the room) Nabil is always at the lobby if you need any help & Josiane is a great cook, & don't forget to write down Maya's (Nadine's daughter) name in your own language if you come from a country with exotic language.

On the downside the tour that I booked with them to the Pyramids was not good; The guide is so lazy he jumped right back into the van after explaining everything to me using his own drawings & refuse to explain while we tour the sights together. (I expect more when I pay for a private guide) but I totally understand this is not Osiris's fault.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed in the Osiris Hotel on the recommendation of a friend and was so delighted. If you put aside the liftless elevator door and the somewhat daunting building facade, you emerge onto the 12th floor into an oasis of tranquility in the midst of Cairo's mayhem.

The rooms are simple and immaculate, some with bathrooms, some shared (but usually only between 2 rooms). Gorgeous, large patios overlook the bustle of the city and you can get an even better panoramic view from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast is simple yet delicious and filling. Dinner used to be served in the evenings but I think due to the drop in tourism recently, its not always guaranteed so its worth checking in the morning. If its not being served, Nabil will happily recommend nearby local eateries.

The hotel is literally a stone's throw from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. The hotel can also organise an EXCELLENT day-long tour of the pyramids. For $100 (at time of booking) per person, you get your own guide and driver in a minibus with aircon and you visit Giza/Sphinx, Saqqura and Dashur. Lunch is included (except drinks) and it was wonderful. Nabil can also organise airport pickups and dropoffs.

Overall I would highly, highly recommend this hotel for staying in Cairo.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#50 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 138 in Cairo
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 138 in Cairo
233 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing