We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in Osiris, near Tahrir Square (have no fears about Egypt travel!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Baku
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Osiris, near Tahrir Square (have no fears about Egypt travel!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I went to Cairo in late December 2011. We stayed at the Osiris Hotel which is a short walk from Tahrir Square. The entire time we felt safe. Yes there are protests occasionally occurring Fridays after mid day prayer, but we were there earlier in the week and were able to wander around Tahrir, access the Egyptian museum, etc. with no worries. The hotel was great. Very pleasant, with great views of Cairo (nice to be high up and not hear the traffic). Staff were all friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay at Osiris again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    120
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
164
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here as a couple in November 2011, luckily flying out the day the recent riots turned ugly. The hotel was initially hard to find, luckily the driver had eagle eyes and deposited us in front of a rather grimy looking office block with a sign for the hotel on the inside of the entrance. Going up to the top floor in the small rickety lift you step out into the clean but simple tiled floor hotel. The rooms are clean, no frills, bathrooms small, no shower screen so floor gets wet but like others have mentioned this is common around this part of the world. Bed was firm but adequate, breakfast adequate, not exciting but for the price it was ok.
The French owner is helpful, she warned us to stay away from the square as a result of advance warning of the demonstration so we thought it was a good day to take a day trip to Alexandria. We chose to organize our own sightseeing, preferring to do things independently, and we found this was a much cheaper option than the ones offered by the hotel. Wifi was available though hit and miss, with you needing to sit in a corner near the officecat times to get it to work. The owner was helpful with a map and with telling us about some local eateries. The hotel was in a good location just to wander around, list of non touristy pockets and streets to enjoy soaking up everyday Egyptian life.
One downside was the smell of smoke throughout the hotel, not bad in the rooms luckily, but in the lobby it was pretty strong as a result of the owners and some guests smoking there, not great for the non smokers.

Room Tip: You don't really need a balcony - it's quite noisy and polluted out there and we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Osiris is not a large hotel - no more than a dozen rooms on the top floor of an office building. (If it wasn't for a photo of the entrance here on TripAdvisor we'd never have found it.)

The rooms are clean, of a reasonable size and the whole atmosphere is peaceful and quite soothing - especially after a day's walking around central Cairo.

We had a balcony room, which in hindsight, wasn't really necessary - we didn't use the balcony at all. Breakfast each morning was a simple but filling affair - toast, fruit, yoghurt, eggs and tea or coffee. Certainly enough to get you through to lunch time.

The free Wi-Fi was also a bonus, as it allowed us to keep in touch with family and keep an eye on the news reports a to what was happening around Egypt at the time.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street - the traffic noise never stops and the 4am call to prayer from all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for a few days at the start and end of our Egypt trip. The Hotel is on the top floor and has some interesting views of Cairo from the roof top terrace. The hotel, while certainly not flash is nice and clean and overall a very pleasant place to stay, the staff are friendly and helpful. The ride to the 12th floor is somewhat of an experience in the elevator, you never quite know if you will make it or not.

The tours the hotel organised on our behalf were great, the driver and guide were excellent and we enjoyed the trips we did, probably a little over priced so you could do better if you haggled or shopped around, as was their airport shuttle service. Expect to be shuttled into various shops to buy various wares while on the tour, but there is no compulsion to buy.

Things to watch out for – the overpriced Nile cruise, which is a tourist trap, meal wasn’t anything special and Raed, our ‘guide’ stayed with us the whole evening including eating with us, a little odd, and despite our attempts to escape we were tracked down! In fact apart from collecting some sort of cut in our payment I’m not sure why he was even needed.

The hotel is walking distance to the square and museum, which is great, has wifi although coverage could be better. Breakfast is served on a nice balcony overlooking the city. A clean and pleasant oasis in a chaotic and noisy city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NzSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is at the top of a somewhat dilapidated building near Tahrir Square. I thankfully flew out just before the riots started early in 2011 (but to be honest, I never saw any signs of them coming).
The views from the rooftop terrace are great and it's nice to have breakfast there. The hotel offers basic, brightly painted rooms with ensuite bathrooms. There are no luxuries, but it's clean and the price is good.
Trips outside Cairo can be arranged by the owners. I would particularly recommend a private tour to the lesser-known pyramids, which compared to those in Giza are far less touristy. I left early in the morning, arrived at a pyramid, walked around it and found myself all alone, the desert on one side and the pyramid on the other. It was a magical experience. If you take the tour, agree on the price before you make the booking.
The location means that the Egyptian Museum is at walking distance and, if you don't mind a longer walk, so are a number of Islamic sights. There are a number of affordable restaurants in the area.
All in all, a good midrange option.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The "hotel" is on the top floor of a 12-story office building. That allowed us to get nice views of the city, and to be high above the street noise, without staying in a big hotel.

Our room was clean and reasonably nice. As others have mentioned, the bathroom floor gets wet when the shower is used (which is common in many parts of the world), but the hotel provides a squeegee on a stick to clear the water off the bathroom floor, and the floor dries quickly in the desert conditions.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi. There were two wireless access points, but one was broken at the time we were there. I figured out that I could get a strong Wi-Fi signal by going to the far end of the breakfast area, near the working access point.

Breakfast was good. It included crepes, yogurt, and coffee or tea.

The manager was very helpful. She recommended nearby restaurants, and arranged airport transportation and a tour of the pyramids with a guide named Hamada, who was good.

The hotel is a short walk from Tahrir Square. That is good in that it is right in the middle of the city - the Egyptian Museum is on Tahrir Square. And of course Tahrir Square now has historical significance. When we went in June 2011, we were worried because of the violence that had recently occurred in Tahrir Square, but we were lucky to be there at a time when Cairo was peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I'll put my hand up early and admit Osiris was my first experience in Egypt after exiting the taxi from the airport. We got fleeced here. We paid USD75/night and really its probably worth nearer USD40-50 max.... and then paid EGP430 each for a guided day trip across Giza, Saqqara and Dashur as arranged by Nabil (owner). No hard feelings, that's Egypt, but go in with your eyes open and never accept the first price. Rooms are clean and air-conditioned, but no frills. Breakfasts are simple but quite good. A highlight is the roof top area which has great views of cairo. Incidentally, I note other comments regarding availability of cold beer. This ended abruptly and without explanation (and no, we weren't loud or disruptive ). I'm sure there's worse out there but better options also. P.S. The lift is not for the faint-hearted or claustrophobic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#50 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing