We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful budget accommodation.”
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful budget accommodation.”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This hotel was perfect for us. It was clean & in the centre of Cairo. The owners were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble for them. Suggested some very nice restaurants that were a short taxi ride away. The private tour that was organised for us was fantastic & well organised & was quite cheap by Australian standards. Thankyou thankyou lovely Osiris PS We even got Mr Grumpy (the doorman downstairs) to give us a smile but we did have to work at it

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    121
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
166
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed here with a friend, and since it was a slow time of year, we had a huge room to ourselves. :) The staff are nice and helpful. The can recommend a good tour guide too, also very reasonable. The location is close to the Cairo Museum, you can see it and the Nile from the window... the view is fantastic. The area is safe, we never felt in danger. There is a beer shop not a few minutes walk away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a simple place for not too much money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legoleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

we stayed at the osiris in july o9; We had 2 rooms ,both were spotless
and comfortable; the staff are very friendly and helpful and could not do enoughto please . we arranged some trips through the hotel, they were of excellent value,the guides arranged the trips to suit our needs and times. ; do not be put off at first sight or location; THE OWNER CHANGED MONEY FOR US AT THE TOP RATES AND ALSO SENT SOMEONE OUT TO PICK UP ANYTHING WE NEEDED FIRSTCLASS;

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theplumberScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at this quaint hotel earlier this month. Hotel Osiris provided a lot more than we expected.

The rooms (inside room, no view) are quiet, clean, basic, and reasonably maintained....perfect for a city in which you'll only use your room for sleeping. They do have a "no foods/sweet drinks policy in the room" (to avoid ants), but they have a nice rooftop terrace and a lounge area where you can enjoy your food/drinks. The complimentary breakfast was quite good (coffee, juice, toast, yogurt, egg or crepe), served from the restaurant, which has an amazing view of the city (note that Cairo is known for having a lot of pollution, which you'll see from this amazing view). All the staff were very helpful and polite.

Finding the hotel can be a little tricky, but is quite simple if you look for the street-level "City Mall" signs. The hotel does have a sign outside it's building, but that's about 12 stories high and a bit difficult to see when driving around in a taxi. The simplest/cheapest/most comfortable way to get to/from the airport is to arrange the transfers through the hotel ($14 USD each way for two pax, 30 min - 1 hour depending on traffic). The hotel only uses transfer companies/taxis/limos that are decent quality (some hotels use the falling apart black/white taxis for the same price).

The hotel is well located, a 5 min walk to Tahir Square (a well known landmark to use, especially when taking taxis or asking for directions, metro). The Egyptian Museum is only a 15 min walk. The Nile's about a 10 min walk. Some of the restaurants noted in Lonely Planet (Pottery Cafe, Toboula) and fast food (McDonalds, KFC) are within 5-15 min walk of this hotel.

We booked a tour to the Pyramids (Giza, Dashur, Saqqara) through the hotel owner, Nabil. We did do some price comparisions and found that this tour was good value compared to others. For two of us, we had a clean, comfortable van all to ourselves, with an excellent English-speaking guide and driver. For those who like (or don't like) shopping for crafts, there were three short stops to see how local crafts are made (and sold) at the perfume factory, papyrus factory, and carpet "school".

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel if you're looking for an excellent value for hotel, transfer, and tours, all without any hassle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USALove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I thoroughly read the reviews on tripadvisor before I chose this hotel. During my stay at this hotel, I would laugh at some of the critiques I remembered. First, a reviewer had complained about the taxi ride arranged by the hotel. Yes, he drove fast and changed lanes without signaling and honked his horn, but so did every other Egyptian on the road. I've lived in other countries where the driving is just as insane so I did not mind. Really, telling a taxi driver how to drive in Egypt is like telling an Egyptian how to cook Egyptian food!! Second complaint that stood out to me was the elevator. Yes, it is old and a bit of a frightening ride the first time, but it worked and got us to and from the hotel. Third, I don't know why anyone would complain about the breakfast. Their breakfast was the best one I had in a B&B in Egypt. It is more than adequate; just do not expect the mammoth American portions. Fourth, I thought the hotel staff and owners were all friendly. Fifth, yes I agree that their tours were overpriced, but that is expected when you booking through any hotel. We booked the Pyramid tour and actually had the guide and driver to ourselves the whole day since no one else booked the tour. Our guide was so knowledgeable, probably one of the best guides I've ever had.
Now the positive points I agree with is that this hotel is very clean. I returned to this hotel the end of my trip, and I was so looking forward to their rooms with clean floors and spotless bathrooms! Also, all the reviewers have it right regarding the location - it is an AWESOME location. Walking distance to Egyptian museum and lots of restaurants, western or true Egyptian. Just follow an Egyptian when crossing the streets! Be adventurous and try the different koshary restaurants.
Now some of the criticism I do agree with is the noise in the hotel. I had trouble sleeping one night because I could hear everything - guests coming in, a kid running around, the kid getting yelled at, etc. Then one morning, I was woken up by guests closing (more like slamming) doors, talking VERY loudly in the hall, and kids screaming. It is frustrating because the street noise does not keep you up, but the noise in the hall does.
The last small negative point about this hotel is that a shower curtain probably could help the water from accumulating so much on the floor, but that is what the squigee is for.
Thus, I recommend this hotel as long as you bring ear plugs for rested sleep!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelosiris, Nadine, owner at Osiris Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Hello

thank you for the review
I just wanted to stress that tours are always private, so the price you pay is only for you, you never share with anyone else. That is why some people find it cheaper somewhere else, some companies have more competitive rates because there will be 20 people sharing the cost of a bus and guide!
also as i answered before we chose quality transporation and guides who, because they get a higher wage with us than with some tour companies wont feel the need to bring you to all the shops on the way to the pyramids!!!

yes it is true we dont have a shower curtain... we find them unhiegienic...

I am so sorry this reviewer was disturbed by the noise, most of the time the hotel is very quiet as it is mainly visited by people coming here to work or people sensitive to others, but sometimes it does happen that your neighbours wont be so sensitive in which case you can hear the doors or their voices and we are truly sorry about that.

thank you for all the feedbacks, it really helps us with improving our services

nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Osiris Hotel for three nights in early October.
We had contacted the hotel via e-mail prior to departure, so the price and and transfer from the airport were pre-arranged. E-mail communication worked well. The hotel doesnt accept credit cards - it's all EUR cash, so we didnt have to pay in advance.
The hotel was very central for our needs - near to a metro station as well as the museum. There are also plenty of restaurants in the area, both western and local. The hotel is clean, quiet and well run.
Our room had its own shower and aircon.
Apparently there is free wi-fi, but we did not have a laptop with us to use it.
A basic breakfast of toast, yoghurt, crepes, cheese, coffee and juice is served on the balcony. There is a rooftop terrace with good views and you can buy beer.
Nabil organised a guided tour of the pyramids for us - GBP100 for the day (two of us) including lunch and admission to three sites. We didnt check the price, but it seems reasonable for what we got and the guide was pretty good.
Our only gripe is the final bill for laundry, drinks and taxi didnt seem to add up. I recommend the PAYG option for these things, all priced in EGP.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Our first arrival in Egypt, and we stayed at Hotel Osiris for four nights. We had previously arranged for an airport pickup (US$15) through the hotel as we arrived right before midnight. It was convenient and welcoming to see a sign with our name on it as we exited baggage claim.

Upon arriving to the hotel, you do enter an office building where the hotel is located on the 11th floor. There are two small elevators that reach the 11th floor and we found these types of elevators to be typical in Egypt. We had a double en suite with A/C (US$53/night), and was asked beforehand to pay with US dollars. Everything was confirmed via email before our arrival.

Breakfast is included and taken in the open air dining area. It included an omelette (which is a beaten egg that's fried and again, typical in Egypt) or a crepe (depending on the day); fresh fruit salad, yogurt, jam, butter, soft cheese wedge, bread rolls and/or pita bread, and tea or coffee. This is where you might meet Fernando, the owner's (Nabil) son-in-law. He's a MMA fighter from Mexico, so if you want to practice your Spanish or talk about some martial arts, maybe you can steal him from his reading.

We were pretty jetlagged and ended up sleeping most of the day, which attests to comfortable beds. Nabil mentioned that his wife, Josiane (who speaks mostly French), had wanted to clean our room but told her we had been in there all day so it's
better not to have bothered us. (We appreciated that.) Our room was quite clean, and they made up our room everyday and provided new towels too. They also provided a large soap bar that smelled just delicious. Rooms have a small closet, small sitting chairs and small table, and bedside tables. The shower had hot water, although no shower curtain (again, typical).

They do provide a squeegee to keep the floor clean, which can be a pain if you're not used to doing that. (Yes, if they managed to bring in some shower curtains, the bathrooms would stay a lot drier.) The A/C worked quite well, and there was good lighting in the room.

The common areas are also kept quite clean as we witnessed the staff cleaning the areas and dusting.
Yes, they do ask that you do not bring food or beverages into your room (again, as seen in other hotels in Egypt) because of the insect situation. The one time we mentioned bringing bread into our room, Nabil tied it up for us in a plastic bag and it was no big deal. They also have a covered and open area rooftop terrace where you can hang out and provides views of the city.

We also met Nadine, Nabil's daughter, and her young daughter as well.

Free WiFi is available, but only when their internet room is open. Our room was right across from there, so we had a strong signal the whole time.

They can arrange just about any kind of tour you ask, even out of Cairo to Aswan, etc. Sure, there's an upcharge to it. You can definitely find it cheaper if you book everything yourself, but if you want the convenience, it's there. We did hire one of their private drivers (Gamel) for the day to the Pyramids of Giza, Saqqara, and Dashur (100 LE/pp), not including entrance fees. (A 'policeman' tried to escort us around Saqqara and asked for baksheesh afterwards. He was so insulted with the 2 LE we tried to give him that he waved us off. Gamel was pleased that we got away with not paying the 'policeman'.) We had Gamel from about 8:30 am to 5:30 pm, and he also took us on errands - ISIC office, train station for tickets, ATM machine, etc. He even bought US fresh fruit juice! He also offered to get dates for us (complimentary) since we were driving through date fields. (We're not the biggest fans of dates, so we declined.) He helped us arrange a camel/horse ride around the pyramids (160 LE/pp for 2 hours), although they wanted to charge us more and I think you may be able to get cheaper on your own. (Be sure to tip your guide and the boys that walk the animals.) Gamel was sure to ask if there was any other place we wanted to go, get something to eat, etc. before our day ended. (We probably could have kept him out longer, but we were exhausted. We also were there during Ramadan, so sites closed earlier and everyone was fasting, inclding our driver.) We also arranged a ride to the Giza train station, which you can probably get cheaper on your own, or you can take public transport. He got us there SUPER fast though!

They charge 5 LE for a large (1.5 liter) bottle of water, although you can shop around on the streets and get it for 2 LE.

Luggage storage is available, which is really convenient if you're traveling onward and plan on returning in a few days. We were taking the overnight train to Aswan, so we stored our luggage for the day. They also let us use the showers before our train trip, which we really appreciated (and provided towels too). We bought our train tickets at the Giza station, which is where the train actually leaves from. And you can pay in either US dollars OR Egyptian pounds, which apparently isn't the case at the other station. No credit cards are accepted though.

They are located in a great location, easy walking distance to the Egyptian Museum, Sadat Metro station, restaurants, and various specialty stores. It's off the main street, so there's some traffic but it's not ridiculous. There is a 24 hour security person who sits downstairs.

I wouldn't call this place a hostel, but rather a bed and breakfast or a boutique hotel. Nabil personally designed this hotel and the set up is quite perfect for accommodating singles or couples. (Not sure if they have triples available.) You could say he has quite the life managing this hotel with his staff, which for the most part are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldtrvlr8374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 137 in Cairo
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
233 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing