We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean hotel but single rooms not so good”
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“great location, clean hotel but single rooms not so good”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Fantastic location on top floor of building, well above hustle and bustle of streets below.
10 mins walk to egyptian museum and subway.
Reasonable breakfast with good views from breakfast terrace. Top floor terrace also good for lounging, reading.
No internet facilities, but internet place located nearby with fast connection.
Only bugbear: I booked a single room with ensuite well in advance for 5 nights. Spotlessly clean but very small room, hard mattress (the supercomfy ones mentioned in the lonely planet guides must be elsewhere...), windows opened up onto building well with air conditioning units switching on and off all night, head end of bed adjacent to shared shower /toilet facilities which could be a bit noisy at times. I did ask to change after the first night, but unfortunately there were no other rooms available.
In retrospect if travelling alone again I would consider staying there again, but booking a double -they seemed pretty spacious and quieter. Otherwise a good intro to Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelosiris, owner at Osiris Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2010
Thank you for posting your review

i totally agree with you, our single room with private bathroom (we only have 1) is small (1 single bed, a bedside table, a place for clothes and a private bathroom)
that is why when someone ask for a single room and it is available i always write "small single room" and i offer to check out the photos on our website. I do tell that there is no view from that room so there are no surprises when people arrive
this room is more geared towards single people on a budget (25 euros per night)
we usually get students or people without a big budget but who do wish to be in a clean place to book that room so if you wish for more space do ask for a double room

As for the remark on the mattress, we bought the best quality mattresses there is, we actually have the exact same mattresses as the 5 star movenpick hotel. their firmess is a proof of quality as we consider that having a good night sleep when booking a hotel is of utmost importance. Soft mattresses are usually worn out and oldish and not good for your back!

I am not sure why the guest wrote there is no internet facility in the hotel, we do have an internet room with 2 computers for guests (7 EGP an hour) and we have free WIFI for those bringing their own laptop

Thank you again for the post as i know it helps other travellers to make an informed decision

nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    121
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
166
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Hotel management was very accomodating. We had train tickets waiting for us in the lobby and they paid for them before we even checked in! Tour arrangements or taxi services were simple to arrange. Hotel rooms were clean and spacious. The common areas made for pleasant gathering spaces especially the roof top terrace. Breakfast in the morning offered bread, fruit, yogurt and fresh squeezed juices. Hotel is in easy walking distance of Egyptian Antiquities Musuem. The elevator ride to the hotel (hotel is on 12th floor) could cause concern since it is rather old and rustic but arriving at the hotel will change your view.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

The hotel is very clean and the room are very nice. The breakfast is good and the position is ok. Wi-fi is free of charge in all building and it works very well. Only one bad things: the lift is very noise, and it's bad during the night..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

After looking at different hotels on the internet and after spending many hours browsing hotels in Cairo I came across the Hotel Osiris. The hotel owners were great about helping me out via emails and after much deliberating over where to stay I opted for this Hotel. My friend and I stayed with the Hotel for 2 nights, whilst there, the staff, owners were absolutely great and very helpful, gave us great tips on what to do, booked our taxi to the Pyramids for a day, picked us up from the airport , train trips to Luxor. The rooms were great, clean, bright and enough room for the two of us, but have to say that when you stay with them go for a room with a balcony, we had one for the 2 nights and was wonderful to come out in the morning and see Cairo in its glory. The Breakfast was just the thing for starting our day out. I am returning to Egypt again but solo this time, got in touch with the owners and they were again so helpful, reserved me a room with a balcony again. The location is just perfect, walking distance to the Egyptian Museum and the Nile.

I can't say anything bad about the hotel, it was just what I wanted.

If you are ever going to stay anywhere in Cairo this is the place and the rates are more than reasonable. I loved the hotel and would think of no where else to stay.

Go for it you won't be sorry.

LYN and PAULA - Australia

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vineyardhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Spain
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2010

In the midst of bustling, busy, dusty, chaotic, wonderful Cairo is the Osiris--a respite from all of the car horns and activity. The rooftop lounging area (and the few balcony rooms) has panoramic views of the city which are lovely at night.

The rooms were spotless, the beds comfy and the hotel remarkably quiet for such a loud city. The breakfasts (included in the room rate) were simple, delicious and adequate and the evening meals reasonably priced and really really good.

The hosts were very helpful and accomodating and provided us with all of the useful information we needed. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank Nomadsinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Pros
- big, clean room including nice balcony
- great rooftop terrace
- crepes for breakfast
- good location in walking distance of the Egyptian museum
- free wireless internet

Cons
- Hotel is very noisy (both traffic outside & other guests inside)
- Rooms have no doorhandles and can only be opened/locked with the one key, so you can't leave the room without either leaving the door open or locking the second person in
- owner (Nabil) tried to pressure-sell us completely overpriced (double fare) taxi-rides (by saying that normal taxi driver wouldn't find the right airport terminal, etc.)
- some basic services not available (e.g. no blow-dryer even when asking at the reception)
- room had shower but no sink, shower curtain was too short so room was flooded with every shower
- sketchy elevator (no safety doors)
- breakfast only until 9:30 am

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooJetSetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelosiris, owner at Osiris Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Thank you very much for your contribution as it helps future travellers to get a good idea of your place

you are right breakfast is from 6.30 am to 9.30 am as we then need time to clean the common areas so guests can use it

it is true there is no door handle the door is closed with the key

rooms that have shared toilets and private shower do not have sink inside the room however you know that before booking as i describe all the rooms and you can see photos on our website so i dont quite understand why someone would complain about something they knew about and agreed with before coming....

we are not in europe nor in the western world, you cannot come to a country because it is different and exotic and want everything to be the same as europe... yes the elevators do not have the same standard, ours is actually much better than most, i have 3 children and have no fear of letting them ride it by themselves, it is safe.

we actually do have a hair dryer that we give to guests when they ask, you do have to ask management not the staff who for most of them do not speak english, that is why nabil, josiane, nadine or fer are at your disposal when you need something

I agree that if the people in the rooms next to you are not considerate enough it can be noisy, however most people who come here are considerate and do respect other guests
as for the noise from the street... we are one of the tallest buiding around and the hotel is on the last floor so if you hear it on the 12th floor you will hear it from anywhere else in cairo!!!! the hotel is actually quite sheltered from the traffic noises however you are in Cairo, about 20 million people, one of the largest city in the world, please dont expect to hear birds singing and the wind in the trees... it will not happen!!!! you do have to be realistic

Nabil does not try to pressure you into anything, he knows for a fact that when you take a street cab especially going back to airport most of the time you will run into problems (final fare is not what had been decided or as there are 4 terminals and most street cabs dont know which terminal your flight leaves from they will leave you on the wrong end and then you have to run to find the right place....) as for the fare it is 80 EGP which is about the price most street cabs will ask for anyway

last thing, once again i feel that some people who are not entirely satisfied really came here "by mistake" i repeat it we are not a 5 start hotel, we dont pretend to be, we are very honest about our hotel and services, our rooms are basic but clean. In that case the people left earlier than the booking they had made so we were left with 2 nights cancelled at the very last minute (we did not charge them for it) to go to... a 5 star hotel!!!!

I feel that with all the reviews written and my answers travellers really have a good idea of our place by now, if you are into big chain hotels we are not it!!!
if you are looking for a family run hotel with personal attention from the owners, cozy feeling (some guests describe us as a bed and breakfast type accomodation) and clean place then we are the place for you!!!

nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themax1000000
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I am very glad I picked up Lonely Planet and that it recommended Hotel Osiris. It was an amazing value, and a perfect location. The building is right in downtown so everything is within walking distance, but just a little out of the way, so that the usual incessant car horns of the city were nearly drowned out.

The staff were very nice and helpful. The city of Cairo is fantastic in my opinion, but it can be exhausting and a little intimidating. They made me feel nice and relaxed when I was in the hotel. When my friends and I (four 20's males) arrived, we had done minimal planning. The owner Nabil was very happy to give us help and suggestions (even when there was nothing specifically in it for him), and we basically planned our trip by talking to him. It was also helpful to have a taxi arranged to pick me up from the airport when my flight got to Cairo at 2:30 AM.

I spent a bunch of time in the common rooms where there were usually other vacationers, as well as free wireless internet. The roof top porch is clean and comfortable and provides nice views of the city.

The rooms are nice and very clean, but I didnt spend time in there except to sleep, my general relaxing time was in the common rooms or on the roof.

It isnt the Hilton, but it doesnt pretend to be. It doesnt even want to be. It wants to be a really comfortable, friendly home in Cairo. If I end up in Cairo again, I will not even think of going to another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themax1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 138 in Cairo
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#39 of 138 in Cairo
65 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing