We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing budget hotel & Staff”
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Birmingham, UK
1 review
“Amazing budget hotel & Staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2008 before travelling south to see the rest of Egypt. The location is great and the staff are so friendly. Its only a short taxi ride to the pyramids, Khan el-Khalili markets and Egyptian museum.

The hotel was extremely clean & it was perfect for a budget holiday. You can't ask for more for the price you are paying. I recommend this hotel if you are in Egypt for sight seeing and only use the room for sleep.

Will defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengibabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    121
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
166
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, Greater London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I very much enjoyed my recent 4 night stay at the Osiris. The owners make their guests feel very welcome and all the staff are friendly and helpful.
The location is superb - just 5 or 10 minutes walk to Midan Tahrir which is the Trafalgar Square or Times Square of Cairo and where you can find the Egyptian Museum and lots of good eating places etc. The metro is also there.
The hotel is comfortable and clean and is on the 12th floor of a commercial building. The common rooms and the roof terrace are very relaxing. The hotel does not have all the facilities of a 5-star hotel but I can honestly say I would prefer to stay at the Osiris if I come back to Cairo.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Our family of 4 (including our two grown kids, ages 23 and 27) stayed in the Osiris for 3 nights and we would certainly stay there again, without question. The Osiris is on the 12th floor of an office building (with several elevators) that's located only a few short blocks from Midan Tahrir, the Nile riverfront, and the Egyptian Museum -- an incredibly convenient location! Like all of downtown Cairo, the area around the hotel was chaotic and the streets were quite dirty (there must be a shortage of street sweepers in Egypt!) but very safe. Even late at night we had no concerns whatsoever about crime or our personal safety. We had the Atlantis family room, with 5 good beds. It was extremely spacious and very clean and well-kept. Our only complaint (and it is a very minor one) was the pre-5am blastingly loud call to prayer from a nearby mosque -- which lasted for about a half hour. Better windows would have been welcome to reduce that noise. The hot water heater in the private bathroom initially wasn't working, but Nabil (the hotel owner) repaired it right away when we told him about it. The hotel breakfast (included in the rate), served in a room with large windows overlooking the city, was not the usual cold buffet but instead was individually-cooked and fabulous -- eggs, crepes, fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, fresh orange juice, etc. The lobby was decorated very nicely in Arabic and Egyptian style, and we enjoyed going up one flight of steps to the rooftop terrace for both daytime and nighttime views over Cairo. Normally the hotel has an internet room with free computer use, but it was temporarily closed during our visit due to lobby renovations. Nabil and Mohammed (one of the hotel's staff) provided great service in all aspects and were very attentive and helpful with advice and directions. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport, and they provided a driver to take us on an all-day trip to the pyramids at Giza, Saqqara, and Dahshur, at a very reasonable cost. The driver, Riyadh, was great--he was funny, spoke good English, and looked out for our interests at each pyramid site, giving us excellent advice on what to do and avoid. All in all, our stay at the Osiris was wonderful and affordable (we paid 70 Euros/night for the 5-bed room) and we would recommend it to anyone who doesn't insist on 5-star accommodations in Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is a clean, decent little hotel. But I will say that it is not worth the money. For $70 US per night you should get a hotel with more amenities. I won't go into the pros and cons because other travelers have covered them adequately (except for the no shower curtain--very annoying!). From what I can tell from previous posts, this hotel used to be cheaper and increased their price. If it was less expensive then I would recommend it. There is nothing especially wrong with it...just my friend and I have traveled all over the world and usually for that price you have better amenities and class of hotel.

I will, however, comment on the tour they sold us...we would definitely recommend booking a tour to get to some of the far off places like Saqqara and Dashour (which are worth it). You could probably arrange to Giza on your own for cheaper. However, the tour guide they set you up with is not the best. He is friendly enough but gave minimal information and seemed annoyed when we asked too many questions about the history/sites. He just shows you the highlights of each site, and we had read up on them and had to insist on seeing some things we wanted to see. He relented and let us see the museum on-site at Saqqara (which is included in your ticket) for a short visit...but was more than happy to let us spend an hour in the 'carpet school' where we were pressured to buy a rug. We had specifically asked not to go to any shopping sites--definitely recommend doing this if you don't want to spend your whole day being pressured to buy something. He still convinced us to go to one at the end because we had free time after our tour. If they spent more time at the sites then you wouldn't have free time at the end. Bottom line- book a tour if you want to see other places besides Giza but be wary or forewarned of what you will get.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLATiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelosiris, owner at Osiris Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2010
Hello everybody

I am really sorry to read that these guests were not happy with their stay

a double room is 53usd and a triple is 68usd, the rooms are very basic but we never lie about anything, what we describe on our website and through the mails we exchange prior to booking is what you get so there are no surprises. so you can make an informed decision and see if the price suits you before booking. If not then dont book with us

there are a lot of cheaper accomodations in cairo but usually dirty, noisy...

what really surprises me is the comment about the guide, we have 2 excellent guide in english and in french, unfortunately this month our guide was ill so we booked a new one. We asked people when they returned how they enjoyed their day and if they were happy with the service, as we never had any complaints we didnt realise there was a problem.
It is a shame people who are not happy dont speak up and let us know because we would have been more than happy to buy the carpet back from you and sent it back as we do not agree with guides taking our guests to shops.
we even pay them double the going rate to make sure they dont do that.
as the guests didnt speak up at the time there is nothing we can do now but apologize.
I am sorry it happened, we will of course make sure this guide doesnt work for us anymore
I REALLY REALLY want to stress that we are very accomodating, if anything is not as you like you need to let us know (while you are at the hotel, not after you ve left) and we will do our best to make things better

nadine
please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague,Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I can´t understand people who aren´t satisfied with this hotel. Everything was excellent (willingness of staff, room quality, cleanliness, nearness to the metro stop, etc.). Lobby was sometimes noizy during the night, but it´s normal in open space. Rooms correspond to the pictures on hotel´s web site. We spent time in double room (with really one large bed), every day were changed towels (every day perfectly clean), clean bed-clothes, no dust on the furniture, clean bathroom. We´re used to have (in Europe) a hangings in the shower bath against deluge in the bathroom, this bathroom lacked it. Source of electricity functioned in the room. Charging up mobile phones was available on reception. Value of breakfast was comparable with 4star hotel (toasts, bread, fruit, jogurt, jam, cheese, butter, pancake, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea). Once evening we applied to the diner (soup, vegetable with bread, chicken with rice) - excellent. Many 4 or 5 star hotels in Egypt should feel ashamed of accomodation quality. Lift wasn´t so horrible how we read in one review (reliable, looked like old but without problem). Taxi driver from hotel was waiting for us in the airport on time. I would like to say thanks all family and their staff. We spent nice time in Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed at Hotel Osiris for several nights and really enjoyed the hospitality provided by Josiane and Nabil. The hotel and rooms are very clean and functional. The balcony rooms are a good option. The hotel is very secure and safe. Great morning breakfasts out on the balcony overlooking the craziness of Cairo. Nabil is the man about town and he can organise absolutely anything for you and provides great honest advice on what to see and do. The tours from the hotel are great and the guides they use first rate. We organised several transport options through the hotel, including one which was actually several weeks after our stay and everything went like clock work. It was easily one of the best places we stayed during our time in Egypt and Jordan.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChamilaSena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Why stay anywhere else? - Of course if you are into five star resort type hotels with plush restaurants, swimming pools etc., then the Osiris probably isn't for you. On the other hand - you might want to try something different. So far as we were concerned the Osiris had everything we needed for a comfortable, friendly city centre hotel. Fropm the pre-arranged taxi at the airport on our arrival, to the taxi to the station on our departure - we could not fault the Osiris. We had an en-suite room with balcony - it was a good size and very clean and even though we slept for the first two nights with the balcony door open - we were not disturbed by any street noise. The breakfast, on the terrace, was substantial with plentiful coffee! The communal areas were comfortable especially the roof terrace with its excellent views over Cairo. We often enjoyed a beer here in the evening - and to sit there whilst the 'call to prayer' echoed over us and the surrounding, bustling city was an evocative memory that will stay with us for a long time. Apart from the physical attributes of the hotel probably the most important feature of it is the welcoming and friendly staff. We haven't felt this comfortable in a hotel for a long time. Nothing was too much trouble for them and once, at short notice, they willingly rustled up a meal for us. Within an hour of our arrival we had arranged with Nabil (the owner) a car and driver for the trips we wished to take during our stay. Nabil is a mine of information about Cairo and his advice, tips and recommendations were gratefully received. We should mention Akram our driver for two days who took us to Saqarra and Giza on one day, Port Said and Ismailia the next and the Sound and Light show one evening. Akram might have only been a driver but he turned out to be a guide as well. He was great company, funny as well as informative. Indeed, he epiotomised Egyptian hospitality to the visitor by lending us jackets and ties so that we could attend a performance of 'Spartacus' at the Cairo Opera House! Akram was a real star and a great advert for Egypt. Finally, this was our first trip to Cairo - a great city in every aspect and we fell completely in love with it. The warmth and hospitality of the Cairenes was overwhelming and needless to say, we shall return. Return both to Cairo and the Osiris.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parsifal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#44 of 138 in Cairo
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#39 of 138 in Cairo
65 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing