We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cairo Hotel”
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cairo Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed at the Osiris Hotel with two of my brothers last week and it's a great spot to stay in Cairo. We stayed in another hotel on the first part of our trip and Hotel Osiris was a far better option. It's clean, cozy, has a fabulous staff, they serve French crepes for breakfast, free wi-fi in the lobby and it has an amazing terrace to see Cairo and relax. It's also in a very central location yet quiet enough at night (if you turn on the AC) to help escape from the endless honking of Cairo's streets. We were able to easily find it from the nearest metro stop but if you're in a taxi, tell them the cross streets (Nubar and Mohmammed Mahmoud) to find it since it's at the top of a commercial building and can be hard to spot.
If I return to Cairo, this will be my first choice of hotels!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    121
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
166
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My husband and I, along with my twin sister her husband and two of my cousins stayed at the hotel Osiris in October 2009. Immediatley we knew we had picked the right place. The hotel itself does not seem to be in a touristy area of Cairo....what I mean by that is there are locals hanging out everywhere outside the hotel, eating and smoking and enjoying themselves. It was great to be able to interact with them instead of the hordes or tourists in other areas. It gave us a sense of what real Cairo is like and what it would be like to live there. The lobby, rooftop terrace and the 5 bed family room we stayed in was full of character. The hotel was decorated well and kept very clean. We couldn't have asked for a better view of Cairo from the rooftop terrance, being able to watch the sunset was amazing. Staff was very helpful, we truly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the Osiris to anyone who is looking for an amazing experience but doesn't need a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We're just back from a fortnight travelling round Egypt/Sinai with our 2 kids (aged 10 and 12), and started our trip in Cairo at the Hotel Osiris, and we couldn't have found a better location.
We don't tend to stay in big, impersonal hotels, so Hotel Osiris was a good choice.
Be prepared when you first pull up in front of the hotel, as the first 11 floors are taken over by offices, doctors etc, and it's a very rickety lift (with some missing panels!) that takes you up to the 12th floor. Also be prepared for the lift to occasionally not work - and therefore climb the stairs - and for having to wait your turn for the lift - there are lots of people trying to get to all the other floors!
The rooms were fine, the breakfast was good, the roof terrace a welcome calm, and the owners were very helpful, but it's the location that makes this place special.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2008 before travelling south to see the rest of Egypt. The location is great and the staff are so friendly. Its only a short taxi ride to the pyramids, Khan el-Khalili markets and Egyptian museum.

The hotel was extremely clean & it was perfect for a budget holiday. You can't ask for more for the price you are paying. I recommend this hotel if you are in Egypt for sight seeing and only use the room for sleep.

Will defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengibabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Greater London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I very much enjoyed my recent 4 night stay at the Osiris. The owners make their guests feel very welcome and all the staff are friendly and helpful.
The location is superb - just 5 or 10 minutes walk to Midan Tahrir which is the Trafalgar Square or Times Square of Cairo and where you can find the Egyptian Museum and lots of good eating places etc. The metro is also there.
The hotel is comfortable and clean and is on the 12th floor of a commercial building. The common rooms and the roof terrace are very relaxing. The hotel does not have all the facilities of a 5-star hotel but I can honestly say I would prefer to stay at the Osiris if I come back to Cairo.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Our family of 4 (including our two grown kids, ages 23 and 27) stayed in the Osiris for 3 nights and we would certainly stay there again, without question. The Osiris is on the 12th floor of an office building (with several elevators) that's located only a few short blocks from Midan Tahrir, the Nile riverfront, and the Egyptian Museum -- an incredibly convenient location! Like all of downtown Cairo, the area around the hotel was chaotic and the streets were quite dirty (there must be a shortage of street sweepers in Egypt!) but very safe. Even late at night we had no concerns whatsoever about crime or our personal safety. We had the Atlantis family room, with 5 good beds. It was extremely spacious and very clean and well-kept. Our only complaint (and it is a very minor one) was the pre-5am blastingly loud call to prayer from a nearby mosque -- which lasted for about a half hour. Better windows would have been welcome to reduce that noise. The hot water heater in the private bathroom initially wasn't working, but Nabil (the hotel owner) repaired it right away when we told him about it. The hotel breakfast (included in the rate), served in a room with large windows overlooking the city, was not the usual cold buffet but instead was individually-cooked and fabulous -- eggs, crepes, fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, fresh orange juice, etc. The lobby was decorated very nicely in Arabic and Egyptian style, and we enjoyed going up one flight of steps to the rooftop terrace for both daytime and nighttime views over Cairo. Normally the hotel has an internet room with free computer use, but it was temporarily closed during our visit due to lobby renovations. Nabil and Mohammed (one of the hotel's staff) provided great service in all aspects and were very attentive and helpful with advice and directions. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport, and they provided a driver to take us on an all-day trip to the pyramids at Giza, Saqqara, and Dahshur, at a very reasonable cost. The driver, Riyadh, was great--he was funny, spoke good English, and looked out for our interests at each pyramid site, giving us excellent advice on what to do and avoid. All in all, our stay at the Osiris was wonderful and affordable (we paid 70 Euros/night for the 5-bed room) and we would recommend it to anyone who doesn't insist on 5-star accommodations in Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is a clean, decent little hotel. But I will say that it is not worth the money. For $70 US per night you should get a hotel with more amenities. I won't go into the pros and cons because other travelers have covered them adequately (except for the no shower curtain--very annoying!). From what I can tell from previous posts, this hotel used to be cheaper and increased their price. If it was less expensive then I would recommend it. There is nothing especially wrong with it...just my friend and I have traveled all over the world and usually for that price you have better amenities and class of hotel.

I will, however, comment on the tour they sold us...we would definitely recommend booking a tour to get to some of the far off places like Saqqara and Dashour (which are worth it). You could probably arrange to Giza on your own for cheaper. However, the tour guide they set you up with is not the best. He is friendly enough but gave minimal information and seemed annoyed when we asked too many questions about the history/sites. He just shows you the highlights of each site, and we had read up on them and had to insist on seeing some things we wanted to see. He relented and let us see the museum on-site at Saqqara (which is included in your ticket) for a short visit...but was more than happy to let us spend an hour in the 'carpet school' where we were pressured to buy a rug. We had specifically asked not to go to any shopping sites--definitely recommend doing this if you don't want to spend your whole day being pressured to buy something. He still convinced us to go to one at the end because we had free time after our tour. If they spent more time at the sites then you wouldn't have free time at the end. Bottom line- book a tour if you want to see other places besides Giza but be wary or forewarned of what you will get.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLATiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelosiris, owner at Osiris Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2010
Hello everybody

I am really sorry to read that these guests were not happy with their stay

a double room is 53usd and a triple is 68usd, the rooms are very basic but we never lie about anything, what we describe on our website and through the mails we exchange prior to booking is what you get so there are no surprises. so you can make an informed decision and see if the price suits you before booking. If not then dont book with us

there are a lot of cheaper accomodations in cairo but usually dirty, noisy...

what really surprises me is the comment about the guide, we have 2 excellent guide in english and in french, unfortunately this month our guide was ill so we booked a new one. We asked people when they returned how they enjoyed their day and if they were happy with the service, as we never had any complaints we didnt realise there was a problem.
It is a shame people who are not happy dont speak up and let us know because we would have been more than happy to buy the carpet back from you and sent it back as we do not agree with guides taking our guests to shops.
we even pay them double the going rate to make sure they dont do that.
as the guests didnt speak up at the time there is nothing we can do now but apologize.
I am sorry it happened, we will of course make sure this guide doesnt work for us anymore
I REALLY REALLY want to stress that we are very accomodating, if anything is not as you like you need to let us know (while you are at the hotel, not after you ve left) and we will do our best to make things better

nadine
please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#40 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing