We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Proper Backpacker in the Heart of Cairo”
Review of Dahab Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dahab Hostel
Ranked #1 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Proper Backpacker in the Heart of Cairo”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

A rare find in Egypt - a proper backpacker hostel. In my opinion the best budget place in the whole of Egypt. Basic accommodation (what do you want on a budget?) but clean and really nice staff who are very helpful. Word of warning - don't rock up and expect to get a bed, book in advance. Nothing worse than getting off an overnight coach and getting told: "Sorry, we're full," and finding yourself wandering around Cairo with all your kit on your back. The courtyard around which the rooms are set are great for meeting other travellers and shooting the breeze.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    108
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
43
148
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manaus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Hello!! Me and my boyfriend came all the way from Brazil to stay at Dahab Hostel,i booked 3 nights and the first night the drive from the hostel went pick us up at the airport was very professional and helpfull,for the transfer we paid about $12 or so...hostel $21 for a private room with A/C.Arriving there at 02:00am Armehd was the guy from the desk helped us out do the checking and offered us a tour to the pirameds,immediatelly we book the full day tour with the hostel cause,found safe since we read very bad reviews about TOUTS and etc....anyway,we want say thank you for the whole team from DAHAD HOSTEL.


The Brazilian couple Manuela and Leonardo.

Room Tip: Avoid the room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManausManualencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights when I came to Cairo this summer. The staff on reception were very friendly although not at all keen to speak arabic with me (I'm an arabic student). The room was very small but very clean and so quiet considering it is a 2 minute walk from Tahrir square. The terrace is a very nice place to meet people and hang out so it didn't matter that the room was small as you probably won't spend much time in there. The bathrooms were very clean and there was no queue. The wifi wasn't working when I came but I was assured that this was a temporary problem. There are lots of cats on the terrace but no cockroaches!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed in Dahab Hostel because i travelled alone. And because i think a nice atmosphere is more important than luxury or airco. The six nights in Dahab were very nice, with a rooftop terrace where everyone meets and stays up for drinks & talks. Friends are easily made. Reception very friendly, speak perfectly English, and staff made simple breakfast with strong coffee to get you on the road exploring this beautiful city with all his history and small back streets. Only thing was my bed was a too small for me, but I'm Dutch and yes, a bit tall ;-)

Room Tip: just check them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed one night in this shabby hostel. It was the cheapest we could find, we were out of money and it was just for one night. If you are in the same situation, it's an option to stay here. Can you spend a little bit more, I would recommend to search for another place.
The terrace was nice, there are chairs, plants and plenty of cats. The shared bathroom wasn't clean, the toilets smelly. You have to bring you own toiletpaper. The room was just a bed and place for two backpacks, then it was full. Good thing is the location: near Groppi's (midan talaat harb).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank femstips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahab, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

i stayed at Dahab Hostel, and I must say that it is a nice backpacker hangout, probably the cheapest in Cairo, right in the centre of the town, located in a residential building on the rooftop. The advantage of it, is that you don't get to hear much of the car horns at night.
There is one thing i wasn't happy about : my booking was handle by the owner's son (Ahmed) and although i confirm three times my booking over the phone with him, he did not bother telling the staff at reception.
so when i arrive to check in, i wasn't even booked at this hotel. I booked an ensuite single room, but on arrival was left with a single and had to share the bathrrom. They eventually moved me to a ensuite room for the rest of my stay.
While booking make sure you speak to Mahmoud and Ahmed (there are two Ahmed ) : two receptionists working there, avoid booking anything with Ahmed (the son of the owner, he is a bit sloppy taking bookings)
Apart from Ahmed, overall my stay was really good, not the hilton, but for the price, i will say it is a bargain!!! highly recommendeded if you on a real tight budget!!
Nadia.
http://www.dahabhostel.com/Home.html

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianam1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My trip in Egypt was full of enthusiasm.
Staff are kind, humorous, and friendly.
Location is excellent. Close to Metro station, main streets, and Egyptian Museum.
Closest rotary (midaan) is easy to explain to taxi drivers.

Cleanliness is not perfect, but considering its low price, you have to bear it.

Above all, the best benefit of this hotel is staff. Every staff is kind, humorous and helpful.
They also arrange you tour package, train ticket, and taxi, if you ask. A tour package which they provided me was really fantastic.

I asked to a staff to arrange some tour (Aswan, Abu Simbel, Luxor, for 5 days, leaving the same day). He proposed me in a 2 hours with a well organized sheet of paper specified details. Price was reasonable. (everything (trains, accommodations, English tour guides, etc.) is included except foods and entrance fees)

Actually, the tour was fantastic far above expectations! Train seats were not bad, hotel accommodations in each city were great, English tour guides in each city were also helpful and had pride in guiding. (Marco: Luxor, Ahmed: Aswan) There were some selfish members in a tour but the tour guide was really diligent and polite and managed the tour members without any problems.
Of course they speak perfect English. Their English is not too fast and not too fluent for non-native speakers, so it is easy to follow what they say.

I really enjoyed my trip in Egypt.

(Japanese)
・バックパッカーや低予算者向けの宿。
・料理と清潔感については、改善の余地はあるが、この宿泊料金でそこまで求めるのは酷かと思う。
・ここの売りは、何と言っても、スタッフのクオリティの高さ。
親切、ユーモラスなのは当然として、ツアーアレンジ力(フレキシビリティ、レベル、早さ、丁寧さ、リーズナブルな価格など)がピカイチ。
エジプトでは、アラビア文字や数字ばかりが並ぶので、自分で電車あるいは飛行機を現地で手配するのは想像以上に難しい。そこで、宿の兄ちゃんに、色々と注文を付けたツアーパックをお願いしたが、短時間で用意してくれた。電車もゆったり座れるFirst classだったし、ルクソールやアスワンのホテルも立派なところであった。現地のツアーガイドさんもしっかりしており、非常に満足している。

・類似のツアー(アスワン、アブシンベル、ルクソール)を別のホテルで手配していたアジア系とツアー価格の話になったが、彼らは我々の2倍近い料金を支払っていた。そういう意味で、ここのスタッフは、海外旅行者に向けて、ふっかけるようなこともしていないのではないかと思う。
個人的に、モロッコの砂漠をはじめとしたこれまでの低予算ツアーの経験を踏まえ、今回のツアー価格を最初に提示を受けたときは、正直安いと思ったので、地方での宿泊や電車のクオリティが相当悪条件になるのではと懸念したが、実際はそうでもなかった。非常に満足している。

・暑さ対策が必要な夏場は分からないが、冬場に低予算旅行を満喫したい方には、お勧めできる宿である。

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoshi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahab Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Hostel

Property: Dahab Hostel
Address: 26 Mahmoud Bassiony | Talat Harb Sq., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab Hostel, Your Oasis in the City... It has been open since 1998. It has been registered in all the major guidebooks and has consistently received positive reviews. Dabab Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Cairo. It is just a 3-minute-walking distance to the Egyptian Museum in Tahrir Sq., and within easy reach to the main train and bus stations. Dabab Hostel has its own special charm. It is a collection of whitewashed huts on the rooftop attempting to recreate the feel of Sinai beach camp in an unremittingly urban Downtown Cairo. Once you get inside, you will definitely sense the totally laid-back, chilled out and cozy atmosphere. The outdoor garden area is just superb for lounging around and catching up with other travelers in the evening. The breeze is refreshing and the vibe is incontestable. It is an ideal place for artistic travellers as well. Enjoy the fantastic reggae music played, laying back in the sun, smoking Shisha 'Water pipe' on the rooftop at the Bedwin corner. Sit back & relax, plan your itineraries & catch up with your family & friends by logging onto our new optimized FREE WiFi Broadband Internet coverage for the entire hostel. Our rooms are equipped withprivate facilities and A/C. We have single, double and private dorms available and there are 39 rooms in total. Airport Pickup Service Once you have made your booking, you will be contacted by a staff member to organize it with you. At the airport, you will find our representative waiting for you holding a sign of your name and Dahab hostel, after you finish passport checking and custom clearance. Things to see in the local area Shopping Bazars. Khan El-Khalili Market. Al Azhar Mosque. Old Cairo /Islamic Cairo. Coptic Area. The Citadel. Cairo Tower. Cairo Opera House. In the evenings, the local area has a wide variety of restaurants and lively nightspots. Thank you for choosing Dahab Hostel ... See you soon in Cairo... ...::: NEW :::... Check out our new Deluxe rooms with private facilities and A/C ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing